We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flush hotel but lacked something”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Valencia
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of my honeymoon. Hotel is beautiful and staff are friendly however the hotel lacked that special something for us

Location: this wasn't an issue for us. You can walk to the park or get a bus/taxi.

Facilities: there is a spa (availed of a massage which I enjoyed) and a gym. The staff here were very accommodating at a last minute booking.

I stayed in a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony. Room was really nice and spotless. Although be warned, the balcony decking gets very sloppy when wet. Perhaps management could consider fitting some non slip mats?

We ate in one of the restaurants. Food was only ok and service was slow despite it not being full.

That something it lacked was the whole lack of acknowledgement of the fact we were honeymooners. We paid for an upgrade, and we weren't given any special treatment that you might expect to get being honeymooners. This may sound cheeky maybe but if you have chosen a hotel to be part of your honeymoon it's a big decision and should be memorable.

Oh and you pay for wifi everywhere except the lobby and it's extortionate.

While I would stay there again I wouldn't be choosing the hotel for a romantic getaway.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ImprovisedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing The Westin Valencia for such a special occasion. We also would like to thanks your nice comments about our staff, location and our spa. We apologies for not being able to achieve your expectations in other matters.
We hope you would be able to welcome you again in the near future, we will make our best to make a memorable stay.
Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Valencia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Westin Valencia. We arrived by taxi, although it would be much cheaper to take the train and get off at the Alameda station and walk to the hotel (5 minutes) if you didn't have a lot of luggage. Our room faced the atrium and it was big enough to accomodate 2 adults with 2 large pieces of luggage. The bathroom was a bit small, but it did offer a separate bath tub, shower and toilet...although only 1 sink. The rooms seemed a little tired, but over all we enjoyed our stay here. The conceirge's and hotel staff were all very helpful with directions and reservations. The old town is about a 10-15 minute walk from this hotel. We did try breakfast here and it was 25 euros per person or you could order off the menu. It's not cheap, but it is convenient if you don't feel like walking into the old town for breakfast. We walked to the aquarium which took us >30 minutes and we took a taxi back to the hotel for about 6 euros which was worth it. Our big complaints would be that wifi is not free in the room, but is free in the lobby or bar. They charge 5 euros for 1 hour of wifi in your room. The other complaint is they do have events here at this hotel on the weekends. There was a party at one of the restaurants that was in the atrium and we could here the guests partying, talking, kids screaming up until midnight and there were still guests chatting outside in the atrium until 6am. We only had 1 night of uncomfortable sleep because of the party noise but the rest of the stay was very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for you time to write a review about The Westin Valencia. I would like to apologize regarding the noise of a private event during your stay, on the other hand thanks for your nice tips about our location and services.
Kind Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Was only here for a night stay and I love the grand entrance to the foyer, beautiful room, with substantial breakfast choices, in a nice setting. I would love to come back to explore more of this hotel´s facility when I have more time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubenmanolo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time to post a comment in Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel.
Looking forward to meet you during your next stay.
Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had three pleasant nights here, though I suspect the discounted rate made the experience more palatable. The room was a good size with a small terrace which we barely used due to the noisy roadworks and disappointingly uncomfortable outdoor furniture. This is an issue if you hope to sit out after a busy day sightseeing as there is nowhere else to do so other than the garden bar area which is fairly formal. The pool is indoors and very pleasant and well run, but you must use a swim cap. We liked the location in a residential neighbourhood and very close to Aragon and Almeda stations and about 200m from the Mestalla stadium. It took around 20 minutes to walk to the cathedral, most of which was the time taken to cross roads! There are numerous local bars and restaurants and we ate once in the hotel which was pretty good. All the staff we met were attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and hope you accept our sincere apologies for any adversities you encountered.
Thanks for your comments and we would like to welcome you again at our property.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel is very nice. That is easy to tell when you walk up and see the property. The rooms are what you would expect from a Westin. Breakfast in the hotel is good, but nothing amazing. If you have status and get a free breakfast, you can't order from the menu like other hotels and it isn't the biggest buffet, but it is good.

That said, we felt the location was not the best. It was at least a 10-15 minute walk from any restaurant and about a 20 minute walk to the old city. The good news is that you can take the subway/train from the airport to the hotel and it is very easy with only a 5 minute walk from the train station to the hotel (There are a lot of steps up though, so if you have a heavy suitcase, know there are 20-30 steps out of the stations and out of the park)

The staff though was very frustrating. We received incorrect information twice, and when we asked who the concierge was, they said there wasn't, they all shared the responsibility. That is an annoying answer when you are told the wrong time for a bus to El Saler (a great beach 20-30 minutes out of town) and the wrong opening times for restaurants. I would have hoped the hotel would have at least check these bits of information before sending out to the city with the wrong times. For the restaurant, they could have easily called to confirm, but, instead, they directed us there only to find we didn't have time to eat there because we had a night train.

All in all, this is a very nice hotel, but, for the price, the service, and for the location, this is just average place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have found during your stay regarding the concierge service.
Thanking you again for the time taken and your contribution in making our hotel even better.
Kind Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

To stay here was a delight,, they say its only 4 star but wow... our room was beautiful - however we had to be moved from it due to a bad smell on our last night, but staff where so helpful.
We did treat ourselves to a massage and i must say my friend refused to pay for hers due to the lady not careing and yawning constantly and having an ipod in... The spa is not run by the westin, so all they could do is not our complaint.
food in the hotel was great - we had breakfast included. the hotel is located out of town, but a nice walk or cab drive.
Pool - was indoor one and how funny you had to wear a swimming hat..
Would definately recommend this hotel to any one... i found it fantastic value for money compared to my other hotels i stayed in in spain...

Room Tip: All rooms are great...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angplantzos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We were sorry to learn that the spa did not meet your expectations.
On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us.
We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Westin Valencia in the future.
Best regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is not cheap but it is a truly beautiful hotel. The rooms are a good size and tastefully decorated. The service is excellent. What really makes this place is the open central courtyard where you can sit outside in the shade on a hot summer's day. The restaurant is excellent too with a bargain menu of the day that includes a half bottle of wine.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank DocDread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to meet you soon in your next stay.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#8 of 98 in Valencia
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Xerea
Caro Hotel
Caro Hotel
#1 of 98 in Valencia
832 reviews
El Mercat
Vincci Mercat
Vincci Mercat
#6 of 98 in Valencia
711 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#7 of 98 in Valencia
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Valencia

Address: Calle Amadeo de Saboya 16, 46010 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Westin Alameda)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Valencia
#3 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#5 Business Hotel in Valencia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: £121 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Valencia 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the exclusive The Westin Valencia, 5* G.L. Located in the city center in an impressive historic building, it is the ideal choice to discover the city and enjoy a exquisite atmosphere. It offers 135 confortable rooms and suites, with Westin Heavenly Beds, restaurants, meeting rooms, bars, wellness center and Mediterranean gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, Lastminute, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Valencia Hotel Valencia
Westin Valencia
Valencia Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing