We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms and breakfast but too far out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sercotel Sorolla Palace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

9 of us (x3 people in x3 suites) arrived for a Mum's annual weekend away in July. The rooms are great and the breakfast fine but it is a business hotel nearer to the airport and we got around in taxis.
We wanted a pool as we had heard mixed reviews with regards to the beaches - GO TO THE BEACHES! they are fantastic. The pool area was fine, though pool bar/snack service slow and you can't take drink up to the sun deck.

If you're looking for a weekend away near to the beach head for Playa Cabanal Arenas - it is a great beach with a few bars, restaurants and shops, like a mini south beach with B and Bs and the old town isn't too far away.

Room Tip: Perfect business hotel but head for the beach if it's a leisure break as you will be too far out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chilledmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel is great on all levels!! My boyfriend and I fancied a chill out in Valencia and this hotel delivered on every level.

Rooms:
The rooms are fab; perfectly clean, spacious and modern. The beds are massive!! We totally loved the bathroom. There is a clear frosted sliding door that separates the basin, shower/bath which is really handy!!
Pool/Terrace:
The decked pool area is really lovely and peaceful and we never ever had a problem getting a sunbed. The pool is great for a dip to cool off and good for reading against the pool pods, although not ideal if you are wanting to swim as it is quite small.
The waiting staff are more than accomdating and are happy to serve you drinks around the pool whislt you chill around the pool.
There are also some really comfortable seats around the pool big enough to fit two/three people on.
Staff:
Really helpful and professional and nothing is too mouch trouble! All lovely!!
Food:
Breakfast was fab. The buffet has a lot to offer and all good quality. Fresh fruit, Full English, Toast and jams, all the pastries you could imagine, cereals and fresh juices and coffee.
Location:
Aboout a 5min Metro journey into the centre of Valencia. Metro station is about a 2min walk from hotel and tickets are approx £1.50 for a return journey into centre of Valencia.
To sum up this is a fantastic hotel and one that we would definitely reccommend!! My boyfriend and I will certainly be returning!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heret0help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at the Sercotel Sorolla Palace for a weekend break. The hotel is not busy at weekends as it is situated near the convention centre so is geared up for business travellers. This means you get great rates for the weekends - on stays and on food. The rooms are nice - clean, roomy and comfortable. We had good views from our room near the top. We ate the buffet dinner one night and the buffet breakfast both mornings - both were fairly good. There was a special reduced price if you advised them you were eating in one day in advance. The outside space is not particularly good at the hotel. The pool is small and breakfast can't be taken outside which is a bit of a shame. The only bad part about this hotel was that we had something stolen from a suitcase in our room. We only discovered this on arriving back in the UK so were not able to advise the hotel at the time. I have emailed them about this but they have not replied.

Overall however, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PowderQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed with three adults for a good week in a "Junior Suite" which was very well equipped and allowed for a relaxed stay. Hotel offers free Wifi throughout the entire building; connections are quick and did not cause any problems.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and was very good for local standards, albeit a bit monotone after seven days.
The hotel has a nice terrace with a little pool which is a great asset in Valencia during the summer months.
The city center can easily be reached by the nearby tramway or the metro. Car park fees seem a bit overpriced, so we parked our rental car without any problems on the streets in the neighbourhood.
Although the hotel is designed for business customers, it is in my view a very reasonable choice also for holiday makers in the Valencia region, as you can reach the city easily, while benefitting from the more fresh setting and the nice pool.
We booked directly with the hotel, as they offered us a considerably lower rate than their official website or any hotel broker we consulted.

Room Tip: The higher you get, the better the view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaventem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a great time at this hotel. Everything was absolutely perfect. Great breakfast, nice food, lots variety of food. We were traveling with our 11 year old daughter, and we had a superior double room. The room was huge! It was like an apartment with two rooms (40m2). Very clean rooms. Nearest metro station (Beniferri) to the hotel was approx 500 -600m and bus stop 50 m.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A7Suki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Sorolla Palace is a quick and reasonable taxi fare from the airport, and a 6€ taxi from the barrio del carmen area, perfect for a city break, with a nice quiet and clean rooftop (but only roof of 1st floor) pool. We booked a superior room, in order to have breakfast included. The room was at the front of the hotel, with a view over the fountain in the middle of the roundabout. Our room was more of a suite, on the 4th floor, with an entry hall, 2 huge wardrobes, bathroom, sitting room and bedroom. Really comfortable beds, good pillow selection, excellent black out blinds. Air con took a bit of working out, but efficient and quite. Decor throughout the hotel was calm, neutral and modern. The only thing that keeps this hotel in the 4* bracket is the service. Check in took ages, despite having booked through Expedia, so all our details on file, we had to write out all our details again. Also the room had been assigned a mystery 3rd person on the booking, so for the first night we had a put-you-up bed in our sitting room, which was odd, but it was taken away the next day. Breakfast buffet good, but repetitive. Served until 11am but very little selection after 10:30 and definitely feel you've outstayed your welcome by 11:01! The bar/terrace has a good selection of food and drink but is a bit impromptu, and service is slow, as the staff are constantly distracted by wanting to lay tables for lunch/dinner. The pool is clean, and loungers a plenty, but there is no pool attendant so mattresses start to blow away, and there are no towels provided, unless you pay a deposit at reception. To me this seemed off, as they have your credit details on file, why do you need to pay a cash deposit for a towel? I'd expect a hotel of this standard to have someone replenishing towels at the pool. Just as I'd expect them to have a pool bar with a member of bar staff on duty - not have guests feel like a nuisance wanting a drink on the terrace. We also had an incident of the room cleaner not removing a huge beetle we'd managed to trap in a glass but been to squeamish to deal with late at night - so I had the pleasure of carrying it through the hotel to the outside world the next evening.

Overall, that all probably sounds quite negative, which is misleading, as this is I very good 4* hotel, at a good price. It could just do with upping its game in the service stakes to make each guest feel welcome and important, rather than a hassle.

Room Tip: Superior was definitely worth the money for the extra space. Overlooking the fountain on the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Hotel is situated just outside the old town in Valencia, it's about a 40 minute walk! And the beach is even further away (definitely not walking distance), but there are Metro/EMT stops very close by (a 10 trip ticket is just over €7). A taxi into town can range from €6-€10 depending on which part. The hotel rooms are spacious and modern but lacking an iron and tea/coffee making facilities which are usually the norm in a 4star. I am a very light sleeper and was not disturbed at all during my stay, it was very quiet at night. There was a good selection at breakfast, all fresh and nicely prepared and bean to cup coffee which was lovely. The pool area is small and a bit tatty but again, lovely and quiet for those just wanting to relax in the sun.  A good choice of hotel if you don't mind trip into town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMcgowan107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hotel Melia Valencia
#8 of 98 in Valencia
2,459 reviews
Hotel Kramer
#9 of 98 in Valencia
916 reviews
Barcelo Valencia
#31 of 98 in Valencia
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Carme
NH Valencia Center
NH Valencia Center
#27 of 98 in Valencia
1,543 reviews
ILUNION Aqua 4
#21 of 98 in Valencia
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Sorolla Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Sorolla Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida Corts Valencianes, 58, 46015 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Valencia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#19 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: £54 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Sorolla Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sercotel Sorolla Palace is a welcoming new hotel in Valencia. It is located in a part of Valencia that has experienced major growth within the commercial, business and finance sectors, a mere 15 metres from the ’Palacio de Congresos’ in Valencia. Beautifully decorated, the Hotel Sercotel Sorolla Palace boasts 271 completely equipped rooms and offers free wifi internet connection throughout the hotel – this includes the rooms and the communal areas. It will be installed and be available 24 hours a day. Combining characteristics of a great tourism hotel with an urban hotel ideal for business purposes, this is the perfect setting for meetings and banquets. There are ten function rooms available, all filled with natural light and equipped with the latest technology, guaranteeing a successful event in Valencia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Agoda, HostelWorld, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sercotel Sorolla Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Sorolla Palace Hotel Valencia
Sorolla Palace Valencia
Sorolla Palace Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing