We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better choices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valenciaflats Ciudad de las Ciencias
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“There are better choices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Perhaps in any other large city ( like London, Paris ) it would be adequate. Valencia has oversupply of wonderful cheap hotels.The area around Arts and Sciences has tons of choices on discount travel sites- all are better than 40 flats. Unless you travel with a horde of kids and need a lot of space make an effort and book something better. At the time I was booking 40flats I could have had 5 star Westin on Priceline for 20 bucks more. Since we were travelling with a kid and a car we thought that convenience over-weighs the price: 40flats were offering cheap covered parking , free internet , free tickets to Arts and Sciences or Zoo etc.... First of all, we couldn't book their " online offer" of free tickets with booking. we called a helpline and were told not to worry , they will notify the reception. Well, receptionist stared at us like we were Martians when we asked. Free internet never worked for more than 2 minutes before logging out - the whole 4 days stay. Covered parking was impossible to use for a decent size car- we were given an upgrade of Mercedes S350 at car rental and we couldn't park it.
There is plenty of space - it is true ( we booked the biggest suite in order to qualify for free tickets , silly ). But it has a feel of a housing project.It is basically a high-rise residential building Whole place reeks of cooking smells, the AC is noisy like a motorcycle, beds are hard as a rock, furniture - cheap fake wood laminate. Fans in bathrooms noisy , water - yellow.
The elevator ( we were on the 7th floor ) was always busy.
Not a good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liska73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenciaflats, Gerente at Valenciaflats Ciudad de las Ciencias, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Liska

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to our hotel.

At Valencia Flats, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations.

As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again.

Because of this serious oversight, we are going to provide you with a 10% discount in your next visit.

We deeply value your relationship with Valencia Flats and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us at community@valenciaflats.com

Yours in service,
Valencia Flats Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    134
    49
    20
    17
See reviews for
231
53
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We enjoyed a very relaxing short break with our two and a half year old son in the two bed appartment. The appartment had two twin bed rooms of good size and two bathrooms, one with shower and one with bath. Large sitting room with dining table and balcony, and separate kitchen. Appartments were modern and clean. Only complaint was no kettle or coffee maker or toaster. We got by with boiling water in saucepan, just takes longer. Appartments are located five minute walk from Ciudad de Sciences and ten/fifteen mins from Oceanographic all of which was amazing. Also ten mins walk was El Saler shopping centre with huge supermarket etc. Some good restaurants/bars on opposite side of road from CAC to 40 Flats. Also taxi rank at side of El Saler. Bio Parc is 15mins in taxi (very reasonable E10) and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whe2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Blanca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

We stayed in 40flats with our 2 kids aged 8 and 18 months for one night, as we had a weekend at the ciudad de artes y ciencias. The location was fantastic for us, walking distance to everything we needed. We were upgraded to a 2 bed apartment for free and the room was spotlessly clean. The service I got from reception both before and during our stay was fantastic. The only thing missing for me was a kettle for my morning cuppa!
Would recommend 40flats without hesitation and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsquirrelcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed in these apartments for two nights, after staying in the 50 flats. Compared to 50 flats they are a step down but the location is good. Next to the science museum and within minutes walk to a huge shopping centre. The flats themselves are nice, a bit small but well equipped. We had two single beds rather than a double which was a bit annoying and we didn't have a balcony and the noise from the main road is a bit distracting.
Good value for money, but not near a metro station so you have to get taxi or bus.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank persion_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

This is a great location, just 50 m from the entrance to the incredible architecturally mind-boggling collection that houses the Oceanographic Institute and the Space Museum etc. The 40 Flats Apartments are great value, with free WiFi and free parking.
The apartments themselves are getting overdue for a tidy-up. Scuffed paint on walls, holes in the wall where shelving/etc removed... cracked bowl in bathroom ... but the location & value make up for that in my opinion!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

The 40 flat apartments were fantastic. We stayed in room 57 and it cost €80 per night. When we got to the apartment we were upgraded to a bigger room free of charge.
The location of the apartments was perfect. We were just across the road from the Art & Science complex, down the road there was a large shopping centre (all kinds of shops and a food hall) and approx 5 minutes walk there, was an indoor public swimming pool called Piscina Fuente de San Luis (Mon – Fri 08.00 – 17.30) (Sat – Sun 09.00 – 14.00) adults €2.80 child €1.40. The number 35 bus (€1.20) stops right outside the apartments and this enabled us to connect to the Xativa metro station. This station connects you straight to the airport metro line, 3 red or 5 green (€1.80).

The apartments were well equipped with a fridge freezer, microwave, oven with hob, all types of cooking utensils, TV, soft water power shower, bath, air con and heating etc... The apartment had very modern furniture and was laid out very well. The bed itself was very comfortable, but did have hard pillows. The hotel staff was very helpful and when I checked out they looked after my luggage. If I was doing another trip to the Art & Science complex then this would be the place to stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Valencia Las Artes
NH Valencia Las Artes
#34 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Valencia
Barcelo Valencia
#24 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tryp Valencia Oceanic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Kramer
Hotel Kramer
#9 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Primus Valencia
Primus Valencia
#41 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valencia Ciudad Las Ciencias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valenciaflats Ciudad de las Ciencias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valenciaflats Ciudad de las Ciencias

Property: Valenciaflats Ciudad de las Ciencias
Address: Avenida Instituto Obrero de Valencia 20, 46013 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valenciaflats Ciudad de las Ciencias 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valenciaflats Ciudad de las Ciencias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Flats Ciudad De Ciencias Hotel Valencia
40 Flats Apartments Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing