We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential and location but unfortunately not up to standard...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HolaHotel Del Carmen
Ranked #91 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Newcastle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great potential and location but unfortunately not up to standard...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I had high hopes for this hotel after reading about it in a Guardian travel article earlier in the year. It looked cool and chic on the website and the rates were very good value. I’d checked the TA reviews when I booked it and the overall rating was a 4, shortly before I travelled to Spain I saw that the rating had gone down and there were a few bad reviews on there but we remained optimistic. On arrival first impressions are very good, the hotel is housed in a lovely old building and the lobby is light, airy and chic. Then you look a bit closer and realise that the hotel is sadly not being cared for properly…windows need cleaning and there are bits of the hotel that require paint touch ups etc. It’s as though someone has ‘fallen out of love’ with the hotel and are leaving it to fall into disrepair. The rooms are modern, light and contemporary with big windows that open over the street. Cleaning in the rooms (or the lack of it) was the biggest issue. The bathroom had a lovely big shower with sliding glass doors and nice fittings however it was just un-clean. I was tempted to get a cloth and some CIF and rub all the marks from the white walls in the bathroom myself! There were splatter marks all over the white walls and hairs in the shower. My friends down the corridor reported that their toiletries were empty. The bed was comfy and sheets were clean and there was a nice big wardrobes and mirrors. However, the mirrors were dusty and the chair had marks on it. It would be so easy to make this hotel amazing, all the basics are there it just needs some care and attention to maintain a good standard. However the location was perfect, situated right on the edge of the old town near great bars and restaurants. Breakfast was ok but again it could be much improved upon with better quality bread, juice and cheese and not leaving cereal out to go soft. Scrambled eggs were a welcome addition though! Another tip for the owner/company would be to spruce up the roof terrace, it really is a waste of fantastic space that a lot of hotels would love to have! Yes there’s a Jacuzzi but why not put a few sun loungers up there for people to sunbathe on? When we went up one afternoon there were 2 girls laid sunbathing on the side of the jacuzzi which is very off putting if you want to actually get in it! To be fair, if they had something to lay on then this wouldn’t put other people off using the Jacuzzi. Hopefully someone will take note and save what could be a fab hotel…

Room Tip: Request a room at the side of the hotel to avoid noise from the main road if you're a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Dear guest:

To start with, we thank you for having chosen the Hotel Acta del Carmen for your recent stay in Valencia and for taking time to air your views on TripAdvisor. We are most grateful for customer feedback for it allows us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

We learn from your remark that the cleanliness of your room did not correspond to our usual standards. We have used your comments as an opportunity to have a meeting with our housekeeping department to address the different issues. The weaknesses you mentioned in your comment are unacceptable to our company and require corrective actions.

Many thanks also for your valuable suggestions as to a better use of our roof-top Jacuzzi. Again, we have discussed your ideas with our maintenance department and will definitely consider their implementation.

Dear guest, we truly hope you will wish to return to our hotel in the near future to see the improvements you have triggered off at our hotel. The Hotel Acta del Carmen sits on the edge of Valencia's Carmen Quarter - with its ancient winding streets housing buildings dating from Roman and Arabic times - and is therefore an ideal starting point to explore Valencia. Thanks to its dense monumental heritage and the avant-garde and futuristic museum complex of the »City of Arts and Sciences«, Valencia is one of Spain's most intriguing cities.

Kind regards & do come back soon,
Hotel Acta del Carmen, Valencia
delcarmen@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    97
    64
    40
    56
See reviews for
31
166
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel Acta del Carmen for 4 nights and felt satisfied that it met our 3 star expectations (although it is a 4 star on the official website). The room and bathroom were a decent size, however there was a bit of peeling wood hanging off the window in the bathroom which could have (and should have) been easily fixed prior to out stay. The roof top jacuzzi was nice to relax in during siesta, and I saw no rubbish on the roof terrace. The continental breakfast buffet was good, plenty to choose from but the fruit was a bit battered. The location was excellent, just a couple of minutes walk from the Catherdral and the cafes and restaurants of the 'Old Town', although it is on the edge of a large road so if you open your window at night you will hear traffic. Overall we loved our city break and feel that the Hotel was great value for a central hotel. p.s. you can get the metro easily into the city centre from the airport for a fraction of a taxi cost! For 10 Euros we got a card with 10 trips on so that we could use the metro to get around when we were tired from walking (i.e. beach is quite a long walk)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Acta del Carmen and for taking time to share your point of view with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor.

We are most grateful for any kind of feedback as it makes us aware of possible flaws and allows us to take corrective actions, whenever and wherever possible.

Our hotel boasts a very strategic location:in the heart of Valencia in the famous district of El Carmen, within walking distance of Old Town: Plaza de la Reina, Miguelete, Valencia City Council …. Located just a few steps from bus lines, you can reach any point of interest quickly and easily.

We truly hope you will want to stay with us again during your next visit to Valencia.

Sincerely,
delcarmen@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

So we were pretty excited to stay at this hotel! It looked incredible on it's website and was in a really great location. Upon arrival we were mildly disappointed with the state of the hotel. It could use some touching up. We entered our room which to our dismay did not reach the standards set forth on the website, but would have been a nice hotel if we had not been expecting more. The hottub was covered and the "sun deck" littered with trash, toppled tables, and most shocking, a soggy mattress. It looks nothing like it does in the pictures! Next, we called for some room service, which is also advertised on the website and which menu we had perused for some time. They don't have room service. In fact, there is no evidence of service at all.

Room Tip: There aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLearnCriticize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear client,

First of all thank you for choosing Acta del Carmen Hotel for your stay in Valencia.
We are really sorry the hotel didn’t fulfill your expectations. We would like to let you know that we do all our best to have the information in our website reaching the standards of the room. We are sorry about the trash on the “sun deck” , it is not usual due to cleaning is made daily by our housekeeper.
Referring to the room service, we are really surprised about your complain because it is two years that we do not offer this service and that is why we do not have this information on our website. We would be pleased if you let us know where you found this information so we can inform about the mistakes.
It would be a pleasure to see you again and sorry for the inconveniences caused during your stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valencia hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

This hotel is nothing what it seems on the website from the descriptions or pictures. As a summer traveler I was anxious to see the rooftop terrace and jacuzzi. To my surprise, the "jacuzzi" was a dump filled with a tarp, trash and debris were all over the rooftop accompanied by a dirty mattress. In my room, I looked through the menu for room service and called to find that they do not, in fact, have room service. Why do you have an "Acta Hotels Room Service Menu" right next to the telephone? The room was very spacious with a big shower but the room seemed like it had not been cleaned anytime recently. Dirt and dust were on the floor and hair was in the shower. Gross. How did this place get 4 stars? I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelwhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear client,

First of all thank you for choosing Acta del Carmen Hotel for your stay in Valencia.
We are sorry you could not use the Jacuzzi during your stay. The reason is that during that period (end of May – beginning of June) the weather was terrible and we were forced to close it. We informed our clients from the front desk and we apologized about the inconveniences.
Concerning to the mattress and other furniture on the rooftop we are really sorry. We did our best to have them all out of the terrace but the external company that placed the chill out area didn’t appear to take them out and unfortunately we did not have any other option

We would really like to apologize about the cleaning, because it is made daily by our housekeepers. We have talked with the responsible person and have taken the appropriate measures.

Referring to the room service, we would like to inform you that we do not have this service but we give our clients the possibility to order some sushi or pizza to external restaurants. This information we place it near by the telephone where you can see it.

It would be a really pleasure to have you again in our hotel so you can enjoy the Jacuzzi and the chill out area in summer time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida West Coast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

My sister and I stayed here when visiting my daughter who was studying abroad in Valencia. It's literally steps from the Florida State Study center plus a great location to walk just about everywhere. the room was immaculate and the bathroom was large and well appointed. Very comfortable beds. It got a little noisy in the morning because it's in a vibrant neighborhood, but I never travel to Europe without earplugs because this is not uncommon. We didn't opt for the breakfast package as it was a little pricey and there were plenty of pleasant little places nearby for coffee and pastry. I highly recommend this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear guest:

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Acta del Carmen in Valencia and for your valuable contribution in TripAdvisor. Nothing pleases us more than knowing that we achieve our objective of providing memorable stays for our guests.

We will try to improve the quality/price ratio of our breakfast and hope that during your next stay you will also have breakfast with us.

Kind regards,
Hotel Acta del Carmen
delcarmen@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

I've been to a few 4 star hotels and this one is certainly not one of them! When we arrived, we were greeted by two men in jeans. No information about breakfast times or anything. We went to our room (501, keep away from it!!), it was the only room in that floor (next to the swimmimg pool and party area). When we went in we noticed a bad smell (sewage) so we asked for it to be changed and the man in reception was more concern if we had touched anything than the reason we wanted it changed. We got another room and during the night there was heavy rain, that came through the balcony doors even though they were closed.
The room was OK but badly finished. The only good thing was the shower. They did not put any more shower gel when we had used the ones provided, we were never aknowleged by the staff when we entered/exited the hotel and they were always dressed in jeans.
Let's face it, the hotel inspector would have been shocked that the place was given 4 stars in the first place.
Not going back again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear client,

First of all thank you for choosing Acta del Carmen Hotel for your stay in Valencia.
We are really sorry the hotel didn’t fulfill your expectations.

The reason of the bad small is due to the sewers of the old city centre of Valencia, that when weather changes make that the smell is stronger. We are working on solving the problem but it is quite difficult so it is not an internal problem and it is taking time.
Concerning to the water entering the room through the balcony; normally it should not happen if the door is closed. Anyway, the maintenance person has checked it out and everything is ok. Anyway, it could have been possible to change you to another room if you had come to the reception to let us know. We have it on mind for future possible problems.
As uniform, receptionists wear black trousers but just in that case they were not wearing because they did not have it available.

Referring to the amenities, they should be replaced every day .This is why we have talked with the responsible person and have taken the appropriate measures.

We would like to thank you staying with us and we are sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankt Petersburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

This hotel is very modern (nice little art gallery in the lobby) and very central. Its about 5 or 10 mins walk from one of the main and prettiest Plazas, and only another 5 from the Plaza de Reina where you can get the Bus Turistica for both routes. It overlooks the old river which has now been diverted which has been turned into parkland. Its also overlooking a main road but we were given a choice of a view or a quiet room. They spoke perfect English and they were extremely helpful. About 20 mins from the airport (taxi cost us 16 Euros).

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahrheitssucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
La Seu
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
#7 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#44 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
La Seu
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
#45 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Valencia
#62 of 100 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
El Mercat
Hospederia del Pilar
Hospederia del Pilar
#61 of 100 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HolaHotel Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HolaHotel Del Carmen

Property: HolaHotel Del Carmen
Address: Calle Blanquerias 11, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HolaHotel Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a 4 four stars hotel located in the heart of Valencia in the famous district of El Carmen, within walking distance of Old Town: Plaza de la Reina, Miguelete, Valencia City Council … Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a hotel that has 25 rooms, offering customers a personalized and unique treatment.The common areas and other facilities have been specially designed for the enjoyment of customers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HolaHotel Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Del Carmen Valencia
Acta Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing