We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, very helpful staff. All in all, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HolaHotel Del Carmen
Ranked #91 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, very helpful staff. All in all, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is located in the historic part of the town, very close to the tourist attractions. I was particularly impressed with the helpful attitude of the staff and with their availability to answer all questions from a tourist. Rooms are not recently renovated, but all in all I had a good experience and I think the hotel offered good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Carmen H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city.

We will be satisfied to welcome you the next time you are in our city. Therefore, don't hesitate contacting us in advance, to offer you any particular request.

Best regards,

Hotel del Carmen, Valencia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    97
    64
    40
    56
See reviews for
31
166
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My friend and I were traveling through Valencia and needed somewhere to stay for the night. We found Hotel Del Carmen, it was a good place to have a short term stay. The girl working the front desk was very nice and gave us a map and helped us orient ourselves.

Free WIFI worked great! There's even a terrace on the top floor with a jacuzzi and a beautiful view at night. The only problem was that our shower head wasn't working correctly (it went crazy--water spewing out in all directions) However, everything else was very clean and simple, perfect no frills place for just one night stay. The hotel is definitely due for a renovation, but other than that I would recommend for anyone looking for a cheap place to stay at night that is close to all the old town attractions!

We checked out the next afternoon (they let us have a later checkout time) but weren't leaving Valencia until later at night and they let us store our luggage for a long period of time--I even forgot my phone charger in the room after check out and they made sure to tape it to my luggage (very nice, thanks!)

Room Tip: Make sure to check the water pressure in the shower--this could be bothersome if you are staying for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Carmen H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear client,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers.
Thank you for your positive comments about our staff, it’s our main goal to help our guests to enjoy his stay in the city.
Thank you, also for your positive comments about our services like WIFI and the roof terrace. On the other hand, we regret any inconvenience that the shower may have caused you. We will contact the relevant department and take action to solve the problem.
Once again, we would like to thank to you for sharing your experience with other users and we expect see you again in the next visit to the city.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I am a very objective person when I read reviews and give them. You can't please everyone so here are the pros and cons.

Cons--jacuzzi was closed but they open it late June. No big deal. We went to the beach.

Shower and bathroom floor was the same level allowing water to pool when shower is on. If you put down a towel and adjust the shower head you are fine.

The electricity box was a little sketchy and the fridge nor safe didn't work. It didn't ruin our stay. Our belongings were always in tact and we just bought large bottles of cold water to sip all day.

There was stray noise during the night. If you live in a metropolitan city in the US you already understand that this happens.

Pros--location couldn't be better!
The hotel staff was friendly and never once left their desk unattended and we were out late.

There was actually an English speaking tv channel with shows you could enjoy. That was a treat.

If you would like a great trip to Valencia, just go with the flow. Do know that things won't be perfect. This was my very first trip to Europe. I would stay with Hotel del Carmen again. It's a good place for young professionals and couples.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSM0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Carmen H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear client,

First of all, we would like to thank you to share with other fellow users of TripAdvisor your experience in Hotel Del carmen. We appreciate your comments about the staff, We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise

Referring to the minibar, we are sorry for the inconveniences caused because as you comment, it didn't work. We would like to inform you that we are repairing them and we hope to have them all working as soon as possible. On the other side, we didn't know you were having troubles with tyhe safety, Other we would have help you because there was no incident with it,

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.


Best regards,

Hotel del Carmen Valencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Hotel is in a very good position, near "Torre del Serrano" that is very easy to find and recognise. The workers at the hotel are all very kindly. The room was very good, confortable, clean, big. Only one very small problem with the water of the shower that didn't go exactly in the hole.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Carmen H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear client,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city.
We appreciate your comments about location, cleanliness, service and the rooms in general. Referring to the water of the shower, we did not know about this. We are sorry about the inconveniences it could cause.
Please don't hesitate to contact us again next time you viist the city

Best regards,

Hotel del Carmen Valencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf City USA
Level Contributor
767 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

For visiting Valencia's fabulous Old Town, you can't beat this. Located on a frontage road on the ancient city's northeast side, it's great if you can snag one of the few parking spots outside. Otherwise, if you have a car I don't know where you park. The building is old but gutted & made modern. The back rooms are quieter. Rooms like 201, 301 & 401 are on a busy street but have views. But frankly if you spend any time in your room here, you are missing the sights you should be seeing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg3arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Carmen H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear client,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers

Referring to the parking, we would like to inform you as it is informed in the website of the hotel, that we offer parking. It is located just 5min away from the hotel. Has an extra charged and 24h security

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.


Best regards,

Hotel del Carmen Valencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

It's always a little disappointing to find that what Tripadvisor reviewers complain about is actually true in some cases, such as this one. So the hotel is in a great location for the centre of Valencia and overlooks the Turia park, which runs through the city. There is also a tram stop across the bridge that takes you to the beach. Transport links are great. The hotel must have been fantastic when it first opened. It's a beautifully converted building with a roof terrace featuring a bar and hot tub (only open in the summer months). Unfortunately, the rooms are in need of some serious attention. The bathroom door in our room had taken the paint off the wall and the shower head was broken (hanging down too low). We reported this to reception on arrival and we were advised that the hotel was full, but they could move us to another room the next day. The fridge in our room was empty and appeared to be warm? There was also a lot of noise from other guests on the corridor due to a large gap under the door. However, the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning appeared to work sufficiently. There was also lots of storage space and a flat screen TV in the room. Although, we did not pay for breakfast (there are a number of bakeries and eateries close by) the food looked pretty impressive. I found that the reception staff were generally very helpful with requests and directions. The hotel also rents bikes at competetive rates, which allowed me to explore the Old Town and the Turia Park. If the hotel was refurbished I would consider returning, but there are some far better and cheaper options currently available.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms at the side and back of the hotel are a lot quieter as they are away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossiter80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Carmen H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear client,

First of all, we would like to thank you to share with other fellow users of TripAdvisor your experience in Hotel del Carmen

Referring to the bathroom door, unfortunately due to the high occupancy of the hotel we were unable to offer a room change that day. However, such as you mention in your critic, the following day you could change your room. We greatly apologize the posible inconvenience this may cause.
It is important for us to let you know, We take seriously your maintenance comments for future improvements in the installations of our Hotel.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.


Best regards,

Hotel del Carmen Valencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I possibly would have given this hotel 2 or 3 stars had it not been for the awful way we were dealt with upon checking out, but we were left fuming after being charged £14 per day for parking in what we thought was the hotel car park (we were not informed of the charge before hand and we had already found a free parking space else where) and charged for being a little late for checkout, even though in the rooms there is a sign saying late checkout till 2pm is free! we eventually agreed to pay a small fee for the late checkout as "the hotel is full and the next guests must wait" ( we'd only seen 1 person and heard no voices in 3 days!) however the car parking we refused on principle that we were misled. The way in which the very surly receptionist handled the whole situation was truly awful and the most infuriating thing about the whole situation. She basically said we were liars and cheats, then when we asked to speak to the manager she flounced off to speak to the manager who was in the bar area, came back and said proudly " if you don't pay us we will keep your car!" then a lovely smile came across her face....this girl had the maturity and tact of a spoilt 12 year old!! I don't think I have ever received such bad customer service in my entire life.

Any way, as for the accommodation......The hotel it's self looks great at first glance but is actually very shabby and dirty upon closer inspection. It's actually more like a hostel than a 3 star hotel, it is most certainly NOT a design hotel! The furniture is very cheap and flimsy, the bed is rock hard and the pillows wafer thin. bathroom is tiny with style over function through out, especially the sink that soaks you when ever you turn on the tap. The shower gel provided was so thin that when you took the cap off the whole lot dribbled out on to the floor, no toiletries were replenished during our stay and we had to ask twice for toilet roll. there was a fridge in the room which we thought would be great, but it didn't appear to work and the safe was also broken. Getting a good night sleep is also impossible! the TV on the wall has a very bright blue light when turned off so you have to unplug it at the wall and the noise from outside is very loud. The hotel is right next to the major ring road so that even from a side room with the shutters closed and wearing ear plugs I could still hear traffic at 3am. there were also some very annoying bleeping noises coming from the corridor all night long. As well as all this, every where smells of drains, yuk!!

We didn't bother with breakfast as it was 9Euro each and when we looked at it the first morning it looked awful. poor choice, dry and curly. we hung around in the dinning room(the bar) a while and saw no staff or guests any way so decided to have brekki else where. there are lots of places just round the corner that do fab brekki and we got lovely coffee and huge pastries for only 2 euros.

Other facilities such as the bar/restaurant on the ground floor and the jacuzzi/sauna/bar on the roof were closed as it was off season, apparently they are only open June to September, which made it feel like a ghost town. The roof terrace would have been a nice place to enjoy a bottle of something in the evening but the chairs and tables were covered in dirt and there was rubbish and broken furniture all over. It was more like a dumping ground.

The only good point about the hotel is the location, if you are interested in Turia park and the old town, but there are plenty of other options in the same area.

my advice, avoid, avoid, avoid!!

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geordie_lassie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Carmen H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you to share with other fellow users of TripAdvisor your experience in Hotel Del Carmen. We really apologize about all the inconveniences you may had during your stay
Concerning to the late check-out, as it is informed in your booking confirmation, it is always up to availability of the hotel and it may have an additional charge. This is the reason why we always recommend our clients to request it in advance so we can do our best to make it possible but unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked for those days and other clients needed the room.
Referring to the parking, we are sorry about the misunderstanding because as we informed you during your check in it has an extra charge
We are surprised about your comments about amenities in the room because they are daily replenished. This is the reason why we have talk to the responsible person to know what happened. About the safety box, unfortunately we did not have notice about it. Anyway, we have check it out after reading your review and everything works correctly.
Referring to the breakfast, unfortunately we had some problems that day in the service. As you know, for the inconveniences caused we offered all our clients a small compensation. it is important for us to let you know that we tried our best to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible.
Finally, as it is informed in the website the Jacuzzi is only open in summer season. On the other hand, We are sorry about the misunderstanding because to get to the sauna you should just contact the receptionist so we could switch it on.
We would like to let you know, On rainy days the terrace suffers some flaws, we regret that it was not conditioned to make use of it. We try the keep the Hotel as clean as possible, is our main objective.
Once again, we would like to apologize for all the inconveniencies caused during your stay
Best regards,
Hotel Del Carmen, Valencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valencia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
La Seu
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
#7 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#44 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
La Seu
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
#45 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Valencia
#62 of 100 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
El Mercat
Hospederia del Pilar
Hospederia del Pilar
#61 of 100 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HolaHotel Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HolaHotel Del Carmen

Property: HolaHotel Del Carmen
Address: Calle Blanquerias 11, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HolaHotel Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a 4 four stars hotel located in the heart of Valencia in the famous district of El Carmen, within walking distance of Old Town: Plaza de la Reina, Miguelete, Valencia City Council … Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a hotel that has 25 rooms, offering customers a personalized and unique treatment.The common areas and other facilities have been specially designed for the enjoyment of customers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HolaHotel Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Del Carmen Valencia
Acta Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing