We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find For a Budget Traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension El Rincon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension El Rincon
Ranked #91 of 101 Hotels in Valencia
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Find For a Budget Traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked here for three nights despite the many negative reviews and I am very glad that I did. First of all, the location is amazing. It is right around the corner from the Mercado Central and within short walking distance of all the main attractions of the old town. The free parking in their enclosed garage is, in itself, worth the price of the room. My room is actually quite large. Although the furnishings are spartan, it has everything I need. The bed is very comfortable and the mattress is firm and thick, and I think it is made of foam. The bedding is crisp and clean and certainly not threadbare. The room is an interior one with a shaft view. By night it was completely quiet, and by day noise from the street was minimal. There is an attached nightstand on each side of the bed, a plastic lawn type chair, a good sized plastic table about three feet square. This was great for laying out my toiletries and other daily essentials. There is no TV, but most of the time I never even watch TV. I am too busy editing the day's photos, uploading them to Facebook, etc. There is also a heating/AC unit mounted on the wall but no control with which to operate it. In any case, neither heat nor AC were necessary. There is a built in wall unit that provides extra shelving for things and space for hanging clothes. The room is very brightly lit by two recessed fixtures in the ceiling. The bathroom is quite narrow physically, but it is also as long as the entire room. It is kind of divided into three sections. The sink and mirror as you enter, a fully enclosed square shower with tightly closing vinyl doors in the middle, and the toilet/bidet at the far end. Although the hand held shower's wall bracket is cracked and looks about ready to split completely, it did hold. Hot water is plentiful and water pressure is good. I was very happy with the shower. The room and bath were in no way unclean or unhygenic, nor were there bugs of any kind any where. I have said this before, and I will say it again. Unless the people writing the scathing negative reviews were given rooms substantially different from mine, these reviews are completely unjust and they should be totally and completely ignored. Room cost for all this was 17€. An amazing bargain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    38
    37
    9
    29
See reviews for
8
43
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Let's start on the downsides. This way you'll be able to decide whether you can live with the negatives to enjoy the positives.

Noise Pt l : Mediterranean countries have an infuriatingly tolerant attitude to noise. What disturbs northern Europeans or north Americans is regarded as perfectly acceptable to the Spanish, Italians, Greeks and others bordering the Med. You will run up against this problem everywhere. Hostal Rincon has an entry alarm beamed across the lobby inside the front door. This beam sounds a LOUD! bell when someone walks through it. During the day this is no problem. In fact, during the day the front door is usually propped open. But at night the sound of this bell reverberates loudly. It is usually accompanied by a thunderous crash as the door closes on strong springs. Señor Jorge or his night man will often sit in the reception lobby late into the night, shooting the breeze. People come and go. This repeatedly sets off the alarm and the thunderous slam of the door. I have been known to appear in the lobby, looming like a mad ghost in my stark white Omani dishdasha, raving on about keeping quiet and letting us get some sleep. This is received with friendly bemusement and will be effective for one night only.

Noise Pt ll : Other guests. Rincon is cheap. It therefore attracts students. Students do in Hostal Rincon what they do everywhere - stay up late making a racket with music and chatter. They tend to have the rooms at the top of the building. I have found that yelling something along the lines of "Shut the £%^*$ up or l will come up there and tear your throats out!" into the central light well has the required effect. As the racket will go on all night unless you do, don't wait longer than about 1am to do this.

Rooms: Over the 12 years l have been going to this hostal, improvements to the rooms have taken place at a slow but steady rate, as funds allow. I have never been given a room which was not perfectly clean & newly refitted. I am aware that there are rooms still to be renovated from what is clearly pretty scuzzy to something a good deal better. To avoid these, ask for a room with a shower. These have been given priority in the refit.

Staff : When l first went to Hostal Rincon in 2000 and 2001, Señor Jorge was not in good shape. Other reviewers have noted that he "looked like he was about to die" or "sweated a lot." This was true. Many an afternoon l would come back for my siesta to find our host slumped behind the front desk, pretty much comatose, with a bottle of scotch in front of him, the level well down. That would be on top of the wine during lunch. But then, a few years later, a transformation! Looking very much better, having lost a lot of weight and regained a sense of humour, our host had clearly been read the riot act by his doc. There was now an exercise bike in his office, placed where he could see the lobby whilst cycling. This new version of SeñorJorge can be seen in the photo. Has he reverted to old ways? I do hope not.

Señor Jorge does speak useful English. You will be able to check in in English. His other staff, such as the night man you will find behind the desk if you arrive after about 9pm, do not. Time to get your head around some Spanish. it's what they speak there!

The cleaning ladies are great. They work so hard. If you find that they have given you what seems to be a bath mat instead of a towel, they will gladly give you a better one if you ask. I always take a good quality towel of my own. In a place like Hostal Rincon these women most probably do not expect to be left anything by departing guests but when you see how hard they work, especially in really hot weather, you will appreciate their efforts. I always leave a small gift. It helps to spread the love around, no?

Cats : Last time l went there, Señor Jorge had finally cleared the garage of the horde of street moggies that infested the place and which he also fed. This was a big step up for the place because it used to stink of cat urine. I hope he has kept them out.

Facilities : What facilities? Ideally you will get a recently refurbished room with a good shower. It will be cleaned daily. If you are within range of the router you will get wifi. If not, go to Cafe Y Te on Plaza Ayuntamiento or any other place that has public wifi. If you have a car, you will be able to park it for no extra charge. That's it. Everything else you need is out there on your doorstep. There is a Euro shop 200m away. I buy a small reading lamp [none in rooms] a knife, fork, spoon and kitchen knife, a selection of plastic sealable food containers, a plate, a bowl and a spay-can of insecticide. This kit will cost you about Euros 20. You can then read at night and keep a selection of goodies from Mercado Central in your room to 'picnic' on rather than lunching or dining out every single day.

Upside : Hostal Rincon is pitched at the bottom of the market. You will have to make allowances for this. But what you get is Location, location, location + price. If you are given a scuzzy room, ask for "una habitacion reformada, p.f" If there are none left, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: You must ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nation49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Its a hostel. You will share a bathroom come toilet with a hand held shower. You will have people knocking on the shower door if you use it longer than 10 minutes. This is understandably as people are looking to use the bathroom as the ration of people on one floor to a working bathroom is too high. The guy on reception was not really all that approachable. He joked with me he is selling the rooms at a low price to get a higher rating. He would then use the higher rating to justify the new prices when he doubles them in a year. Thankfully I am too intelligent to see any smart in that conversation. Go at your own peril. Back packers will delight at the simplicity for the price. Though let me make it clear. It is not. A hotel.

Room Tip: Check the room with a member of staff. Try and get a room with a good lock. As most doors can be ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlamMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

As the title says.. my friend and I walked in and walked out of this place within the hour. Rooms were so small and there was no heating and no plugs! Showers/toilet also had no locks! The place was just incredibly dirty. We're not actually fussy people but you just couldn't live in that! We just wanted a bed and a roof over our heads for a few nights and we got it. It is the bare minimum of basic! We strongly advise you to spend a bit more for a decent place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yotsanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valencia hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This pensions in the centre of Valencia is a steal at €13 a night. Expect no frills but its clean and close to the mercado central and also has free parking, a top feature in this town. The receptionists do not speak English and are sullen beyonds words, but that aside, for the price and location you won't do better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hi. Wanted to share with you a sad story of our staying in that Pension. That was just a month and a bit ago. We were traveling by car through Spain, so all the hotel bookings we made were on a road, literally hours before arriving to hotel. El Rincon wasn't the exception. When we arrived there around midnight (were driving from Barcelona), there were no one to open the hotel door for us. Thanks God after 10 minutes of knocking a guy (probably security personal) let us in. He didn't speak english, but he was friendly enough to give us a room key in exchange to our passports. The room itself was awful: all the furniture were threadbare, bedclothes were tearing, wardrobe doors were missing, window flaps were hard to close but the worst thing was there was no ac. Instead of air conditioning there's a sort of ventilation - a hole above the door leading to the common hallway. Thanks to that hole we were able to hear every snore and fart of our neighbors.

Next morning we left our room to take a walk in the city, but when we came back in the evening, it occurred there were no our belongings left in our room. I ran to reception desk, but the guy sitting there pretended he didn't understand what was I talking about. After 10 minutes of tough explaining he got the point, made few calls but all for spare.

As he explained later a "cleaning lady" thought we already checked out and just thrown away our things. He didn't gave us any excuse for that, neither proposed any compensation. My wife lost her brand new skirt she just bought, a plaid and some cosmetics, as for me I lost my t-shirt and some minor things. Thanks God I decided to move the most precious things to car that morning, otherwise they were all gone as well.

Room Tip: Watch your back staying there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 1 night. It is in a very good location for the historic part of town. 3 mins walk from the Silk Exchange and about 5 from Plaza de Reina and the Cathedral. It is very basic and has few creature comforts, more like a hostel, but it was great for 1 night. The location was brilliant and the staff were friendly. Onsite parking was also a plus. They even let us keep the car there after we had checked out, while we did some more sight seeing.

Room Tip: Book one with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
El Mercat
Hospederia del Pilar
Hospederia del Pilar
#61 of 101 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hostal Moratin
Hostal Moratin
#72 of 101 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
SH Florazar Valencia
#73 of 101 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Valencia Alfafar
#60 of 101 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Hotel Malcom and Barret
#89 of 101 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension El Rincon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension El Rincon

Property: Pension El Rincon
Address: Calle Carda 11, 46001 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 101 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension El Rincon 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Pension El Rincon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing