We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seu Xerea

Seu Xerea
Reserve with
Seu Xerea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 3,452 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: La Seu
Description: Come and savour mediterranean fusion food in this centrally located and highly recommended restaurant in Valencia's historical Barrio del Carmen. Just a few metres from the cathedral square, this restaurant is a relaxing retreat after a morning of sightseeing. Stephen Anderson heads the friendly English speaking team. Eat alfresco or in the modern, comfortable, designer interior. The daily lunchtime menu is excellent value for money and the a la carte is an opportunity to try the gastronomic offer of one of Valencia's best fine dining restaurants.
derby
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We ate here at Easter last year and came back again this Easter as we enjoyed the food. We had an interesting and varied set of 4 starters. Although some of the dishes aren't automatically what I would choose, they all surprised me with their interesting flavours - for example, squid is not usually my favourite but was absolutely delicious. The restaurant was quite quiet on a Monday evening but service was attentive and it was worth paying a bit extra for a great meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    200
    63
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious food, amazing flavours, a great find in Valencia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We recently visited Valencia and had the pleasure to visit this restaurant. The food is absolutely delicious – flavoursome yet delicate at the same time. The mix of Asian and Spanish flavours really works. The restaurant itself has a nice atmosphere with a minimalist design (think Nordic style), great service and a good wine list. We particularly appreciated that the wine was fairly priced as fine dining restaurants often go over the top with wine mark ups! In fact, the whole meal was very fairly priced for the quality you get. The location is also perfect; just a few minutes walk from the cathedral. It was amazing to find such a good restaurant in the centre as nearly everything else there was ultra-touristy. I can’t recommend this restaurant highly enough, it should be on every foodie’s must-visit list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine food in Valencia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This restaurant provides a fine dining experience at a relatively affordable price and I highly recommend it. It’s not cheap, but comparatively very good value if you compare to restaurants of equivalent quality in places like London. We had the degustation menu with matching wines for dinner and the bill came to 130 euros for two people. We ended up returning for lunch two days later and the lunch menu at 19 euros per person really is a bargain.

The chef mixes South East Asian ingredients with Spanish ones with great success. Flavours are strong, but without overpowering the produce… basically the cooking shows a high level of preparation and thought behind it. It is innovative and refined, but also yummy! Another Tripadvisor reviewer mentioned about possible Michelin stars in future, and before I had gone to the restaurant, I thought this had been an exaggeration, but it is not. Having eaten in over a dozen Michelin starred restaurants in London, in my opinion, Seu Xerea deserves at list a “Bib Gourmant” if not one star… The one area I think the food can be improved are the desserts, for example, the chocolate brownie at the end of degustation menu was nothing special, while the savoury dishes are indeed very special. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awesome place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

this place is exquisite, relaxed and comfortable. the food is incredible with a great mix of modern and traditional dishes.
if you are in valencia and fancy a great meal, this is the place to go to!

Helpful?
Thank Jordi R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, but could have been even better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I had a dinner here during our 2-day stay in Valencia. We appreciated the modern and stylish interior and the taste and freshness of the food. The cuisine is not typical Spanish here, it is mixed with asian influences. But at this price level (we payed € 122 for a three-course diner including aperitif, wine and coffee), some details ought to be improved. The dining room was a bit cold. Worse, the plates were also cold, and so was the food after a short time. The plates should have been pre-heated in the oven. The sashimi consisted of four thick slices of tuna, this dish could have been presented with more finesse. The service was too fast in the beginning, we had barely time to enjoy our aperitif. The served bread is a bake-off sandwich, and there is no butter or olive oil provided (nor salt nor pepper). Apart from the timing, the service was very attentive, with a special mention for the maitre D, who clearly enjoyed his work and speaks not only English but also fluently French. A very good meal, but some details prevented it from being the fine dining experience we had hoped for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandefro84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seu Xerea also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Seu Xerea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing