We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hosts in a lovely 15th century farm”

Snoadhill Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snoadhill Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Bethersden B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming hosts in a lovely 15th century farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed a weekend in August with Philip & Yvette James at Snoadhill cottage. The twin bedroom was small but comfortable, featuring high quality bedlinen, and a powerful shower. We had a large living room at our disposal. Our hosts went out of their way to please us. For example, upon learning that we enjoyed walking, they suggested we go to our dinner destination by foot and came to collect us by car. Their recommendations were all spot on, from picturesque villages to best cream teas, and gastropubs serving fresh fish. As a result we really made the most of our two days in the Kent Downs.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My fiancee and I could not have been happier staying at this beautiful home. It drips with atmosphere and history, is surrounded by harmonious, hushed countryside and Yvette and Philip are wonderful hosts. Our bed was extremely comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and - best of all for two water babies - we were able to swim in their inviting pond. I bodged a swallow dive, surfaced covered in duck weed and thought 'We shall come again!' Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Snoadhill is a delightful house and very comfortable for guests. Yvette and Philip are most welcoming hosts and the breakfasts are excellent and set you up for the day. The beds are very comfortable and the shower is very good. The location is very convenient whether you are breaking a journey to or from France or exploring the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLFKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent one night at Snoadhill Cottage and could not have been more delighted with the our stay. We were attending a friends wedding in Tenterden and needed somewhere to stay for the evening and didn't want to use the usual 'Travel' or 'Premier' Inn. Snoadhill is a charming Bed & Breakfast, Yvette and Philip are the perfect hosts.

Yvette was so welcoming and made us feel right at home. On arrival back from the wedding reception at around 10.30pm Yvette kindly made us a pot of tea and sat down to have a chat with us.

Our bedroom was very comfortable, the linen was all high quality and very soft. We have a good nights sleep and felt refreshed. Lovely soft robes were provided and a glass of water was left by the bed. If you like to read, small adjustable reading lights were positioned beside the bed.

We sat down for breakfast at 9.30am, it was delicious! Butchers sausages and bacon, fresh eggs from the chickens, everything was provided. Yoghurt, cereal and freshly squeezed orange juice just to start, delicious! The silver cutlery, toast rack and lovely little butter dish etc... topped off a wonderful breakfast. The breakfast room also has beautiful wooden beams and a stunning view across the fields.

We are so glad that we chose Snoadhill and would return to stay again. A charming property with charming hosts! Philip also very kindly offered to drive us back to the wedding venue to collect our car in the morning, which was much appreciated.

Many Thanks

Elliott & Milly

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We decided to stay at Snoadhill Cottage for an overnight stay en route to the Channel Tunnel as it was the same price as a Premier Inn and looked so much more personable.
On arrival we were given a very warm welcome by Yvette who made us and our 2 year old daughter feel like one of the family. We were admiring the beautiful house and garden and Yvette took us to see the chickens and our daughter collected an egg, just a small and simple gesture but very kind as our daughter thought it wonderful!
We had a very good meal in The George pub in Betherseden before returning to the cosy and warm lounge where Yvette had made homemade buns. We chatted before retiring to the comfortable room which was cosy and quaint. The stairs are very steep due to the age of the house. There are 2 rooms which both have a bathroom each along the corridor. We were in the larger double and had to walk past the other room to our bathroom, not a problem for us but one to be aware of if you stay in the other room.
Yvette kindly offered to get up early to make breakfast for us but, unfortunately, we did not get chance to sample it as our daughter decided to get up at 3am due to excitement about getting a train to France! We left Yvette a note and a cheque and let ourselves out.
A lovely place to stay, we would not hesitate to book if travelling on the tunnel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent two nights at Snoadhill Cottage and could not have been more delighted with the our experience. The house is charming, with many attractive features and Yvette and Philip are the perfect hosts. The breakfasts were delicious. Our bedroom was very comfortable with good mattresses on the beds. Note that the staircase to the bedrooms is quite steep so would not be suitable for someone finding stairs a problem.

Room Tip: Both rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAFTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Yvette is an excellent hostess.We were made welcome,especially in the beautiful medieval hall downstairs with a warm open fire. Many good suggestions for interesting places in the area.And always brochures at hand.
On sunny days we sat outside on the terrace and enjoyed the wonderful view ,with delicious home-made cakes.
We came as tourists to Yvette's and Philip's place and we left as friends.

Warmly recommended!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesbeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethersden hotels
1.6 mi away
Darling Buds Farm
Darling Buds Farm
#1 of 2 in Bethersden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bethersden Old Barn B&B
Bethersden Old Barn B&B
#2 of 4 in Bethersden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longberry Farm Glamping
Longberry Farm Glamping
#2 of 2 in Bethersden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snoadhill Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snoadhill Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Snoadhill Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Snoad Hill Farm Bethersden Road, Bethersden TN26 3DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Bethersden
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bethersden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting farmhouse dating from 1450 away from all main roads with fabulous rural views. One double and one twin room each with own bathroom and shower room. Guests have their own drawing room with log fire. Delicious locally sourced breakfasts including freshly laid Snoadhill eggs. Enjoy the gardens, swim in the "swimming pond" or play croquet and tennis. Only 25 minutes from Channel Tunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Snoadhill Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing