We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy country get away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Apple Shed

A cosy converted Apple Shed in its own  meadow, yet only 5 minutes walk from the beautiful village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cosy converted Apple Shed in its own  meadow, yet only 5 minutes walk from the beautiful village
They loved it!! Toast the pony under the horse chestnut tree
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
A cosy converted Apple Shed in its own  meadow, yet only 5 minutes walk from the beautiful village
They loved it!!
Toast the pony under the horse chestnut tree
A cosy place to spend a winter's evening
Relax on the decking
Fully equipped kitchen with hot and cold water, fridge and tiny cooker
Comfortable sitting room with sofa and throws, CD/ipod player, radio, games and books
Double bed with luxury pocket sprung mattress
Towels included
The Apple Shed is full of recycled and interesting bits and pieces
Welcome cake on arrival
Cosy log burner and logs
Small shed for coats, boots and logs
Fantastic 1950's cooker
Another happy customer
Labrador puppies
The local pub, The George
The village of Bethersden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bethersden, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dhfb2015
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy country get away”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had an amazing time at The Old Apple Shed. Kate was a great host - picked us up from the station (&let us play with the puppies!)

We stayed for a weekend and could easily have stayed for longer. Did two great walks with help from the maps left in the shed.

7mins walk into a little village where we picked up some delicious food from the butchers for the BBQ. We ate dinner at The Bull inn - good, reasonably priced food and an ideal location.

The place itself is really beautiful. Set in a fabulous rural location but easy access from London by train.

Thanks for a fab weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you Daisy for a fabulous review! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to have such lovely guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous country escape!”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I bought a 2 night stay for my boyfriend as a Christmas present so we'd been looking forward to our stay at The Old Apple Shed for a while, we weren't disappointed.

From wheeling our bags in a wheelbarrow down to the meadow, the rickety gate opened to a little piece of 'glamping heaven'. Very secluded and private, this converted shed was really quirky and very comfortable. A log burner, comfy sofa for two, well equipped kitchen (for camping standards) a cute bedroom and en suite with hot shower! We spent the first evening in, fire on and playing one of the board games left my the owner, the second evening we ate at local pub 'the bull' which was fantastic.

All in all a great getaway from the stresses of life, in a simple and comfortable quirky retreat for two!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write a review Danielle and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Bethersden!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmaw14
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. We loved our one night here in the peace and quiet surrounded by gorgeous countryside. The setting was idyllic with animals and birds, and the Apple Shed itself was quaint and cosy. It had everything we needed and we enjoyed fresh lemon cake on arrival. We had a lovely meal at a local pub and enjoyed our time away from wifi, tv and city life.
We also loved meeting the black lab puppies who had recently been born!
Would absolutely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Thank you so much Jason for your kind review! Welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danar70
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Present - A must for a quirky stay.”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

So lets start with the basics, this is a converted apple shed in the middle of a field. So if you don't like the idea it might be cold or you might get muddy then this is not for you. However if you are happy campers looking for something nicer then this is a great choice.

This was a birthday treat and one I did not know about until the start of the trip down. We were welcomed nicely, walked down via a little track to the field and were greeted by a perfect little hide away (with Toast, the pony, popping his head over the fence to check out the new visitors).

Everything the website mentioned was there and over our stay there were no complaints. Nice touches included the homemade cake (it was lovely especially as it was my birthday) and the vintage Baby Belling which I made a cooked breakfast on the next day. The bed was extra comfy and enough blankets for a very cold night. The addition of the wood burner also means you should never go cold.

The site is very close to the Village, its few shops and 2 pubs (easy walk to all). A friend had suggested the Bull and though we were having food in the shed we popped in for a drink. Another good find.

Overall this is a great place to stay if your into Georges Amazing Spaces (UK TV), want a quirky and romantic getaway or just want to take your camping into glamping. I am sure we will be back and very soon.

Sub note TOAST - This may not be for all but the fact the family Pony does wander into the field of a morning made the stay. Definitely no bother, has a great temperament (meaning you can get a few pats in) and loves the odd photo opportunity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: It's quiriness and Toast (the pony)
Liked least: No issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cakelover...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little weekend retreat! Felt like home. ”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I cannot express what a charming little gem this place is! My hubby and I both absolutely loved our stay and was sad to leave. It's really spacious inside with a lovely clean bathroom and kitchen. Really comfy double bed and Cath Kidson bedding. The little sitting room was lovely with rustic decor, candles and wild flowers freshly picked...not to mention the delicious homemade lemon drizzle cake. We would have loved to have used the wood burner but no need in the summer.

I loved sitting on the little patio with a cup of tea. The area is very peaceful and private.

We borrowed 2 dogs which we took for a walk and we also made friends with Kate's lovely horse, Toast, who was really friendly.

Lots to do there, we ate in the local pub, the Bull, which did nice food and had a local band with a great country pub atmosphere. Nearby is Tenderton which is a charming village with lots of tea shops. Also...the designer outlet in Ashford was great.

Kate made us feel really welcome and communication was fantastic from the moment I booked.

We will definitely to back!

Thank you Kate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you Sophie! Glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurelia19...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful little retreat ”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I booked this for my husband as a birthday treat we stayed for 1 night. It was a lovely little place had everything we needed to just unwind and enjoy the surroundings. Enjoyed looking at all the quirky little touches in the shed you can see a lot of thought has gone into it. Weather was lovely so we used the bbq to cook dinner then relaxed playing board games and doing crosswords. It was nice to escape from city life and enjoy living simply for the night would love to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you Sarah, glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pokerdung...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic and minimalist, but not as charming as expected”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Door - on arrival, the owner took several minutes to get the door open as it had dropped on its hinges. The scrapes on the threshold suggest this was not recent. Once in, we were assured it would be dealt with, but it was not (3 day stay). Locking from outside was ok, but it took a slam then wrestle to lock it from inside.

Slugs - it was apparent from the slug trails under the bed and in the kitchen that this was indeed a rustic country retreat. Using the toilet in the middle of night one I trod on one (yes it was cold and slimy), and foolishly, leaving a bag with clothes on top on the sitting room floor, bag and clothes had slug trails in the morning.

Head Height - at 6ft tall I couldn't use toilet, shower, kitchen sink, fridge or settee without stooping. A head height warning would be appropriate.

Price - compared to many B&B's, this was more expensive, unserviced, not particularly clean, taking rustic/charming to an extreme over any expected comforts (e.g rusty outdoor chair seats). Cooking a reasonable hot meal was not possible on a single hotplate.

To be fair, toilet, hot water, shower, fridge, bed all function, bedding and towels were clean on arrival. Communication was efficient, and Kate requested feedback. She took our comments well and said she would rectify the points as raised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Standing on a slug
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
O dear Martin, I'm sorry the Apple Shed was not as expected.Thank you for your valuable feedback so that we can constantly improve.

A miscommunication over the door. I fixed it temporarily during your stay and it was not fixed permanently till after you left so you weren't disturbed. Slugs! That has been dealt with too, thank you for telling me. We have never had any customers mention the Apple Shed was not clean - I will look at this.

We are not a b and b. The Apple Shed is a rustic and comfortable glamping retreat. If you want to get away from 2016, wifi, tv, traffic, people etc and the stresses modern life holds for a few days come to the Apple Shed and Bethersden village where you can step back in time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing