We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place,where have you gone manager,paul grently?”
Review of Mandeville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandeville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place,where have you gone manager,paul grently?”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I've being staying at the mandeville hotel for over 5 years now...the studio rooms could use some updated furniture...the manager,mr.paul grently,who was always there for us if we encounter any problems while staying on the property.even on his days off he came in to help out when my family had problems with the room,and the people at the front desk were afraid to make any changes...the house keeping department were always providing clean rooms,towels,linen etc.valrie & lynn from that deptartment were very helpful.the front desk staff,mainly ms.chambers, & dane were always helpful...since mr.grently isn't there anymore, I've been staying at other hotel around town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nonesuch60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
11
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I have had the oppotunity of staying at the Mandeville hotel a few times and was pleased with the staff and the service. Though not a five star or five Diamond hotel staff members do try to make everyone feel welcome. In my opinon they are the best hotel in Mandeville.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onlychild2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The Mandeville Hotel, Is the best hotel in Mandeville. The grounds are beautiful the pool is well maintained. The chef cooks the best Caribbean food I have ever had. If you have never been to Jamaica before then you would need to stay in a tourist resort such as Negril or Ocho Rios so you are close to the beach. This hotel is suited for people wanting to visit family or friends or who are on a business trip.
Hotel - I stayed in a Junior Suite so I had a fridge, satellite TV which featured MTV, and even an English channel for the local news, it was air conditioned with a huge walk in wardrobe and a nice bathroom suite. Internet access is free! just ask reception for the password. Some people mentioned that they had problems locking there door in the room, but it's quiet easy? all you do is push in the button on the door knob and your room is very safe. Room service is amazing I had fluffy white towels, AND ROOM SERVICE IS PROVIDED EVERY DAY.
Restaurant - Please see my pictures as the food is amazing, very high standards. My rate came with breakfast every morning and this can be delivered to your room or you can relax in the Arches restaurant.
Bar - In the evenings the bar comes alive with reggae music and beautiful cocktails.
Overall - This hotel will always have a special place in my heart the rooms are contemporary and spacious, just what I needed for a relaxing 3 week stay visiting family and friends I highly recommend it. Make sure to ask for Tanielle if you need any help or advice in organizing your trip as she is a delight to do business with.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belindag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I stayed at the Mandeville Hotel with my husband and our two children. Bathroom was full of bugs, even found a lizard. Furniture was outdated; closet doors broken. Our main room door would not lock and for the money we paid, we were disgusted. Look around, please do not waste your money, I wish we had known before we did. We did speak with the staff, who were sorry, but not enough to change our room ( New Jersey ).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandeville hotels

canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Hello to all staff,
Because of the world economic problems and its effect on Alparts production I do not expect to return to do work at Alpart. Over the last 6 years I have made your hotel my Jamaican home. I would always be greeted at the front desk with a smile and a conversation that would make me feel special, thank you. To the staff in the dining room, I would always gain weight, thank you for the great meals and service. To the guy's who tended the bar, I thank you for your time spent serving me and putting up with me, I loved the music. To all the housekeeping staff, you people kept my room as clean as a whistle, landry always fresh and clean, thank you. The most important thank you is for all the great memories that will stay with me forever, the friends I made and will never forget, thank you.
I hope to stay again someday soon at your wonderful hotel and again meet all you great jamaican people.
May god bless you all,
Have a great day,
Thank you,
Kevin Morrison.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

The room was clean and the resturant staff were helpfull and friendly. The shower ran cold water, the electric sockets sparkled when removing the plug, the pool was not maintained and will never be available for use!
The reception staff I found unhelpful and unfriendly. Impossable to use the computer because it was too dark to work by and there was not plug near the desk

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

I stayed at the Mandeville hotel the first week in December with my partner who is resident in Jamaica. The staff were very helpful and made you feel so welcome they were at hand to answer any enquire. I was disappointed when the maid asked if I wanted my room cleaned as this is what I paid for as part of the service so I do not expect to be asked that question I just expect my room to be cleaned daily. The guy who cleaned the pool knocked on my door on answering he came in plonked himself down on the chair and helped himself to my peanuts all because I had a conversation with him at the poolside my partner was not impressed and had words with him. My only other complaint was we were not told we had to run the shower for 10 minutes before it became hot. Other than that Mandeville hotel is okay it does need updating and could do with a lick of paint in places. It is 5 mins walk from everything your heart desires, apart from the sea it is at least 2 hours drive to the nearest beach which is bluefields or treasure beach, and it is central to get to all excursions, it is a bit chilly in the mornings but warms up by 9:00am and you do need a cardigan late at nights. All said and done I had a wonderful time in Mandeville I will be going back in June 2010.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmorais8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandeville
0.6 mi away
Golf View Hotel
Golf View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mandeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
20.3 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
47.3 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
47.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
20.0 mi away
Taino Cove
Taino Cove
#4 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandeville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandeville Hotel

Property: Mandeville Hotel
Address: 4 Hotel St., Mandeville, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Manchester Parish > Mandeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandeville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres of tropical gardens in the centre of Mandeville, one of Jamaica's fast growing towns, The Mandeville Hotel is a landmark of great Jamaican hospitality. A variety of accommodation options provide guests with the combination of a relaxing environment and the convenience of a central location. For events - weddings, groups, meetings, banquets and conferences - the Mandeville Hotel is central Jamaica's most desirable address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandeville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandeville Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing