We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place but poor customer service”
Review of Golf View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golf View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I stayed at this hotel in January for 3 nights with my bf who is an american and his family,I am Jamaican.The room was spacious and nice for the price we paid and the room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels all the time so housekeeping was great.We were staying on the 3rd floor and the water pressure was very low.There wasn't an iron in the room but it was an all inclusive hotel so that was ok.There was a room on the bottom floor where you could do your ironing.We ate a few times from the restuarant and the food was good and we got it pretty quickly and it was hot.It was however a bit pricey but good none the less.The customer service for me was atrocious.If I needed anything I would just ask my bf to speak with someone in customer service because I knew I'd just be getting attitude all day everyday.Afterall,I was a guest too and paid my money just like everyone staying there but perhaps it had to with the fact that I didnt have an american accent and so for me customer service/front desk was the worst part of my stay.The pool was great and the hotel is pretty quiet if you are seeking a relaxing vacation.Obviously,I would not return to this place unless they changed the front desk staff not sure if training them would help much.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muffeenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2008

Stayed at Golf View Hotel for two nights in May 2008. I booked using a local address to benefit from the discount offered to locals. I really don't know if I got a "local" room, or if there is any difference with other rooms. This is a good place to stay on a budget. There are actually very few choices in Mandeville. Hotel has three floors. I also saw a bar near the reception area.

Pros:
Friendly courteous staff. Large clean room (1 bedroom suite). Comfortable beds. Cable tv. Air Conditioning. Hot & Cold water with great water pressure unlike many hotels. Seating area & dining area in room. Coffee maker in room. Housekeeping came in daily. Gated entry to the property with a security guard. Swimming pool & nice landscaping. Hair dryer in bathroom.

Cons:
Bathroom seriously in need of upgrading. Tiles missing from top of shower stall. First impression on entering room for first time was that it had a closed up smell, which soon disappeared. Uneven floor. Audible footsteps in the corrider outside the door (there is a restaurant on that floor). Some of the room furnishings were on the older side.

Neutral observations:
No irons in rooms - there is an ironing bay on the ground floor
Entry to rooms are not via an enclosed corrider, but instead this hotel is built apartment style with rooms facing a courtyard.
Room decorated in a bright tropical theme - paint colors match bedspreads and curtains.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank alidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Golf View Hotel and were very impressed with the accommodation and customer service. The Hotel is well managed, clean and spacious. The staffs were friendly and professional. Everyone seemed to go out of there way to make sure our needs were met, free of hassles.

I would highly recommend this hotel to any one looking for an affordable and classy place to stay in Mandeville

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank niagillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
West Palm Beach, FL
17
Reviewed 19 August 2004

We spent our Honeymoon at the Golf View Hotel. It was very pocket friendly considering our budget. Beautiful, airy and very very clean. Clean is always a big plus. Air conditioning was great, although Mandeville tends to be very cool at night. Wonderful employees. Nice size pool, but we didn't swim.
It was very close to shopping in Mandeville town. I would recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone on a budget, who would like to spend their money on other things beside their hotel room. I plan on booking another stay there for our next anniversary.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las altas y mas alejadas de la piscina tienen menos insectos y fauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OSCAR G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank reyna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015
Thank Enzo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandeville
0.7 mi away
Mandeville Hotel
Mandeville Hotel
#2 of 3 in Mandeville
67 reviews
47.2 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
879 reviews
20.9 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.9 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
243 reviews
20.8 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Home Villa & Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel

Address: 51/2 Caledonia Rd, Mandeville, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Manchester Parish > Mandeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
Price Range: £101 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golf View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golf View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Jamaica/Mandeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing