We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Racing Sea Horses Bed & Breakfast(East Wittering)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kite House(East Wittering)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
33
11
4
5
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
11
4
5
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower blockgreat campsitefire pitbank holidaygreat facilitiesfarm campsitefemale showerswest wittering beachessentialschichestermidnightpub
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We turned up to this site late on a Saturday evening and found the staff to be helpful.
We thought the price for one night was quite expensive, in fact the most we have paid this year for a site, and we have camped in Cornwall on a site with a heated outdoor pool this year.

We were allocated a nice flat pitch and parked our van and walked into town which is a pleasant stroll.................... on our return most of our numerous neighbours (of whom there were loads, we were really packed in, although fire guidelines were adhered too) were having a lovely wood fire in mostly hired fire pits........ now because the site packs everyone in so tightly this then turns into more of a smog!

We settled down for the evening about 10pm at this point the rest of the site was still fairly noisy. The next morning everyone was up at the crack of dawn and noise levels soon rose. The piped loud pop music in the new (lovely) toilet block was also a bit overwhelming............. (The old toilets, still in use were frankly horrific)

We left and headed to the beach never to return.

So in short, probably a pleasant site if less packed but definitely not a country farm atmosphere of relaxation, it had a slightly more Pontins feel about it.................

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Janbenella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, Owner at Stubcroft Farm Campsite Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your comments & review. Your stay was over the Whitsun Bank Holiday & half term period which, like most campsites, is more expensive than the normal tariff. Also, like most sites along the South Coast, it is one of the busiest weeks of the year and we were fully booked. Most of the year apart from weekends & holidays, the site is much quieter. South Coast campsites are more expensive than Cornwall due to much higher business rates and land prices. We have also invested over £450,000 building our new "State of the Art" environmentally friendly amenity block and have to repay the mortgage payments which is reflected in the price. This has recently helped us win a Green Tourism "Silver Award. Thank you for your kind comments about it.

As your booking was a very late booking the only space left was in the family field which during half term does have a lot of children. Had you booked in advance we do have other sections available. We do also have a quiet hours policy from 11pm to 8pm which is acceptable for most people but I can understand your concerns if you wish to go to bed earlier at 10pm.

With regards to the compost "eco" toilets, there are two signs on them clearly saying that they have been superseded by the nearby new amenity block with an arrow pointing in the right direction. Compost toilets are what they say they are, they do not use any water & do not produce polluting sewage to contaminate the harbour or beaches so they are extremely environmentally friendly. Many of our customers come to us because we are an environmentally friendly site but you do not have to use the Compost Eco Toilets if you do not want to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Firstly the pro’s - lovely site, split into different fields. Very well maintained with electric hook ups, water.
Relatively recently built block with showers, toilets, washing up area, shop - all clean. 2 stars awarded relate to these amenities.
Secondly the con’s - approach to site is via an unmade farm track for over 1/2 mile. Totally rutted and full of potholes, with severe risk of vehicle damage. Given the mainly good condition of rest of site and the relatively high prices, this farm track is beyond belief and totally unacceptable with no mention of it in the site information - this was the access to follow from the instructions received. These instructions were totally out of date as a key pub used as a reference had closed down and its name removed. Also other pubs in the information guide had also closed down. Location is very isolated, and times of access to towns, beaches is very misleading.Almost 3/4 mile to main road and bus stop, and more than 1/2 hour walk to nearest small town and beach- so in my opinion not a recommended site for motorhomes or caravans due the farm track , nor people, or as in our case a dog, who can’t walk very far. Very abrupt, uncaring ( “what’s wrong with the dog ?”)aggressive response from receptionist who told me I was blackmailing her by my comment of possibly mentioning our initial experiences when I write a review !! On the site itself there are grass pitches for motorhomes and caravans. There was no mesh reinforcement under our pitch, resulting in our motorhome sinking in the grass overnight due to heavy rain. Also there was no proper elsan cleaning area with just a hose pipe and small drain. This site is clearly for pitching tents only. Finally, there were very full instructions given on booking in with a clear notice to fully read before setting up- this would take at least 15-20 minutes - not something most people want after usually a long tiring drive to get to the site. In view of the above together with a profound feeling of being patronised by all the rules, and do’s and don’ts that exist around the site, we decided to cancel our second night. Not surprisingly, no refund was forthcoming.
We will not return.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 954rogerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, Owner at Stubcroft Farm Campsite Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

We are sorry that it was raining heavily when you arrived, and you were unhappy during your short stay and decided to leave early. Thank you for your kind comments about how lovely the site was, the cleanliness of the amenity block and how well maintained everything was on the site.

I understand you were new to camping and had recently finished renovating an old campervan. There are some inaccuracies in your review that we would like to clarify.

I have spoken with the staff who checked you in & reviewed the reception security footage. They did indicate that you were unusually stressed on arrival due to both the weather and coming in down the wrong lane. You stated you only wanted to stay one night demanding a refund. They explained that no refund was due as the pitch had been reserved & held in good faith for you during busy half term week & it was too late to rebook the next day. However, unlike many campsites, as a gesture of goodwill, we do offer a credit towards a future booking, but you refused this and threatened that you would post a negative review on Tripadvisor. Staff pointed out that you had not even stayed on the site yet and this was unfair, effectively blackmailing them to accede to your demands and they were upset that you resorted to these tactics. Our refund policy is clearly laid out in our terms & conditions which you accepted & it was unfair to attempt to pressure staff in this manner.

We do have three lanes that lead down to the farm and the campsite. Two of these are unmade farm tracks and not suitable for driving down but the main entrance road is maintained. Because we are a rural farm site we do send out a map and step by step instructions explaining this which we ask people to follow as satnav's occasionally bring people the wrong way. We have many thousands of visitors every year with caravans, campervans & cars and most people find us very easily, providing they follow the directions.

With regards to your comments about the closed pubs, we do try to keep things updated but some things such as pub closures are beyond our control. We have updated this on our “Campsite Guide” where 2 pubs are clearly marked as (closed) after the name but we have left them on the “How to find us” guide as they are still identifiable and may be reopened at some time soon when new landlords take over and / or they are refurbished. This map which is available to view on the website and emailed out to every customer with the booking confirmation also does have a distance scale bar on so that you can see exactly where we are in relationship to the villages, bus stops & beaches etc. There are also step by step instructions to walk to any of the beaches. The nearest beaches & villages are a 15-20-minute walk providing you follow the directions, and the nearest bus stop is not where you mention in your review, but had you checked the map you would have found it at the end of Clayton Lane which is only a 10-minute walk (or approx. 550 yards). Our location is clearly marked both on our website and on the map emailed out so there is a responsibility to check that the site is suitable for your needs.

It is clear also from our website and the photographs that, like most campsites, we are a grass field site and do not have hardstanding pitches although we do plan to do a limited number soon. Our fields are well drained and your comments about “mesh reinforcement” are perplexing as you did not mention or request a hardstanding pitch when you enquired. We are also perplexed by your comments about “sinking in” as you did not mention this at the time & managed to drive off OK without leaving any ruts or marks on your pitch after you left? We had many other caravans, campervans, cars & tents staying at the same time with no access problems as our fields are very well drained.

On arrival, we give a brief introduction to the campsite including the walks to the beach which are ideal for dog owners. You indicated that it was too far for your dog to walk as one of the reasons that you decided not to stay, so they politely enquired conversationally because most dog owners love the lanes around the farm. You said he had a recent operation and was unable to walk but they were confused as you had also stated you wanted to catch the bus to explore Chichester with your dog which seemed contradictory? We do apologise if there was a misunderstanding about this.

We do understand that everyone has different ideas about the type of campsite they are looking for and rural farm sites likes ours may not suit everyone. We do try to put as much information on our website and a good range of photographs to help customers choose but perhaps one of the larger commercial sites in a busier location may be more suited to your needs. We wish you well in finding somewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

This site was really well organised. We booked in as three families with pitches next to each other. Really well maintained lawns and really clean facilities. We opted not to have hookup and use the medium pitches which were prefect. 20 mins walk to the beach. During our stay, staff walked the site to check everything was going well. Camp fires can be loaned, as can BBQs and wood is for sale. Thank you for a really good half term break.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fluke1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, Owner at Stubcroft Farm Campsite Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind reviews & comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

I arranged a trip for 9 people, 3 families and 3 pitches over the May bank holiday.
Michaela couldn’t have been more helpful when booking and then extending our weekend visit for an extra night when it was set to be the hottest bank holiday in history!

The campsite was fully booked on the last night of our stay but it didn’t seem crowded at all.
Really nice clientele, children can play safely and freely, fantastic clean toilet and shower block.
Everything at stubcroft has been thought of and done really nicely.
Farmer green comes and says hello in the evening and has a chat to make sure everything and everyone is ok.

Great location and really fairly priced.

Can’t wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hayley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, Owner at Stubcroft Farm Campsite Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review and comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Great site...well run, friendly..very clean. Stayed over bank holiday..although busy standard were kept up...very family friendly..will return with grandchildren. Thank you to the owners who very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rubycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, Owner at Stubcroft Farm Campsite Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review and comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews