We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid, surprising, welcoming and a jewel in the rough.”
Review of Samphire

Samphire
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid, surprising, welcoming and a jewel in the rough.”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We decided to visit Chichester during the day and then spontaneously took a tour to the Witterings, ending up at Eastside thinking there would be more restaurants there. We found the usual family oriented fare from other local pubs and then came across Samphire. We were attracted to the name (if anyone knows what samphire is and names a restaurant after it is likely to know what they are doing with food). It was clear from the menu that they did indeed have a clear idea of good food. They also had a sticker of Hugh's fishfight on the window, which won us over.

They did not have a free table when we asked, so we strolled around disappointed hoping to find an equivalent. There were one or 2 others that we would have settled on, but those were also fully booked. We had to retrace our steps past the restaurant and thought to ask again. They again politely said that they were fully booked. A little further up the road we stopped to look at a cat with the markings of a leopard. The cat occupied us for a while luckily, but it seemed to evade our attempts at photographing it. To our surprise the girl from Samphire came looking for us to invite us back - a table had become free outside.

Sitting outside, we ordered from the unusual menu and after tucking into the free homemade bread and butter our food arrived. We had mackerel with plum crumble, and scallops with black pudding and pea puree which both tasted amazing. The fish was cooked perfectly, so often it is over-cooked. The girl waiting for us was very kind, personable and attentive.

The little leopard cat made a reappearance, and who could blame it, hoping for some kind diners to offer some tidbits. As evening came and the other large party outside left we wrapped ourselves in the blankets from the chairs (a thoughtful precaution with our English summer - although the day had been quite hot) and took in the sunset.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanishmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    79
    23
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“the perfect seaside restaurant”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

ive been coming here since the week it opened: for morning coffee, evening meals and most recently a summer party. This place started off well and keeps getting better. Everytime we go, there's something new - we love the hand knitted blankets on the deck - and the service remains unjaded and delightful - everyone is made to feel special. And if, like an earlier reviewer, the price of their puddings (served on gorgeous bone china) seems too steep for the kids, there's an icecream hut less than a minute away. What more could you ask for?

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank seasnailkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it so much had our wedding reception here”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Fantastic, great food and service, one of our favourite places to eat and relax, so much so we had our wedding reception here for 30 people x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slikyskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food marred by so-so service and overpricing”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We visited Samphire with our young family following positive reviews here commending its family-friendliness. I can't fault that we were warmly welcomed by a lovely lady who was more than happy to cater to our two youngest members. It would have been nice to have an option for those with much smaller tummies to fill but the chef very kindly added some delicious fries to a starter. And indeed all the food was delicious however our waiter talked a little too much about himself and took quite a long time to calculate our bill correctly. Our only other gripe was paying £5 for three balls of shop bought chocolate ice cream for my son! I did voice my dissatisfaction regarding this at the time. This meant my three year old ate a lunch totalling over £10 - not terribly 'family friendly'!!!
Shame a nice lunch was marred by some poor customer service and a very expensive ice cream

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrummyMummyMedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden Gem”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Do not be put off by outside appearances this is a real hidden gem. It has a rustic appearance and the restaurant is small but the food is excellent. The seafood choice here is very good. The atmosphere is excellent and was constantly busy all night but you were not made to feel as if you were being rushed along. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBOTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samphire also viewed

West Wittering, West Sussex
Bracklesham Bay, Chichester
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
 

Been to Samphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing