We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”

Trattoria del Caveoso
Ranked #14 of 302 Restaurants in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: In the heart of the Sassi, the food pages of Caveoso welcomes its guests in a hollowed out of the rock, warm and elegant, where you can taste typical dishes of Basilicata accompanied by fine wines selected, including the native Aglianico. The food and wine in the restaurant are consistent with the category and provide a variety of courses. In 2006, the Trattoria has been recognized by the national Chambers of Commerce, for the quality of food and service, with the Quality Mark which is a guarantee for the customer.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

A wonderful little restaurant with friendly staff & excellent food. Their homemade laurel liqueur is well worth a try too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,285
    897
    210
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We needed a quick dinner one night in Matera. Trattoria was closing and we had to go somewhere else. Next day we passed del Caveoso, owner remembered us and apologized that. We had best lunch in Italy during out trip. Ask daily specialities.

Helpful?
1 Thank Arto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

In the beautiful Sassi, a little walk up the hill from the piazza is this restaurant. The service was quick and informative. The portions were generous; very good value for money. Wine was very reasonably priced too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buonissimo traditional Italian food from the region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The food here was absolutely delicious. Real Italian, traditional local food from the region - and you can really taste it on your plate. Speaking to the owner you could tell the passion he has for the place and the effort he goes to to ensure he sources the best local ingredients to serve. His pride in his food definitely shows.

This place was highly recommended by the place I was staying at, and boy was I not disappointed. Everything was cooked to perfection.

I was lucky enough to try the home-made pasta with truffle which was found in the local region by the neighbouring dogs. One of the best dishes I ate during my time in Italy. The thought of it is making me hungry right now and I've just had dinner!

Not only is the food great - but the location matches the great food. I ate on the porch which looks over the entrance of the sassi. Awesome scenary, awesome food. And coming from an Italo-Australian with an Italian Mamma, that says a lot! Go eat here and enjoy it. Next time I'm in Italy, I look forward to visiting you once more!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

The meal was one of the best I ever had. Pasta with truffle.. Most special is that the dogs of the neighbor had found this truffle that was on my plate, and the owner himself, digged it out.. Where do you nowadays find food that is found and made so personal and close to nature. The veal was also very good. Wonderful place. Wouldn't be surprised if this deserves a Michelin star.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Antonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria del Caveoso also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to Trattoria del Caveoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing