We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem hidden beside the Cathedral”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

You won't find it easily if you don't know exactly where it is, but once there you'll immediately appreciate the warm atmosphere of an exceptional - but quite invisible - location. Steps, stairs, painted vaults are perfectly merged with contemporary design. No excess but class. Every detail is clearly under control, inside rooms as in public areas. Our double (212) was large, confy, and perfectly equipped as you might expect in a 5-star hotel, with a wide marble bathroom. Close to our room there is a roof terrace with a stunning view above Sasso Caveoso. Staff is very professional and helping, just ask! But the real masterpiece is the breakfast, served in 3 different tables: fresh pastries and cakes, as you might find in the best pastry shop, fresh fruit, selected jams, different kind of breads, orange squeeze (not juice), and typical South-Italy salty food (pizza, taralli, burrata, smoked ham, exc.). Staff was great, at your complete disposal, suggesting the best choice for your need and taste. In my opinion, this hotel represents a perfect example of what a luxury hotel - located in an Italian historical center - should always be: history and art served with taste and mild manners.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giorgio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel was a bit difficult to find as there seem to be no straight roads in Matera. But once you visit this unbelievable city, you will see that this is a way of life. The Palazzo Gattini is one if the most immaculate hotels I've ever stayed in. And I've been to a lot of places. The staff was delightful and ever so helpful. They recommended Mr Zasa as our tour guide and he made the trip as we learned so much about he history
The spa inside the hotel was glorious and inviting. I cannot recommend a hotel more highly than this one. It is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Get a suite, if at all possible the bath tub is unbelievable!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Priscillamarconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAL_GATTINI, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Priscilla, t
hank you for sharing your experience with tripadvisor users.
We are very happy that your stay in Matera was perfect and exciting. Matera has a very long history and we always recommend that you be accompanied by a guide to understanding the uniqueness of this magnificent city.
we hope to have you back at Palazzo Gattini on your next trip.
Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Giacinto Marchionna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

For the English-speaking traveler who knows little Italian, I know it can be useful to know if you'll be communicating with hand signals when you travel. The front desk staff here all had some English--from very proficient to just enough to get by (but certainly better than my Italian) so communication was never a problem.

Now, that out of the way, everything else about this hotel was top notch from the service to the room to the location right next to a gorgeous, gorgeous view. The hotel provided amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, and a hair dryer, so travelers can pack lightly.

The room itself had a minibar, robes, slippers and water. Housekeeping was very discreet, the laundry/pressing service was professional and fast, and the front desk staff incredibly accommodating. I really don't have anything negative to say about the hotel, though some people might find the inability to climate control their rooms themselves a drawback (if you want the temp up/down you need to contact the front desk staff).

I 100% recommend this hotel to travelers visiting Matera.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angelaw919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This luxury hotel's location could not get any better. Next to the Duomo and walking distance
to most of the famous attractions. Service was excellent especially Pina at the breakfast restaurant. Food selection for breakfast was great. Good fruit selection, they make eggs the
way you want it, pastries were delicious, cheeses and cold cuts were plentiful. The only one thing that did not work in our room was the jacuzzi. We were told that it is not hooked up.
There was no writing material in our room as well which might just be an oversight on the part of the chamber lady. The daily supply of "tarelli" was a very nice touch. They valet parked our
car as well which was a big help. We were very pleased with our choice of hotel in Matera.

Room Tip: We were in 102 which is not very ideal for people with some disability because of stairs. I am sure...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linrabCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Palazzo Gattini is at the top of an escarpment and has amazing views on both sides. The rooms are beautifully appointed - modern with a 'nod to Matera's history' and everything has been carefully thought through. The location is fantastic - right in the middle of old Matera, so very easy to get to all excursions. The service was exceptional - nothing was too much trouble and their recommendations were spot on. Couldn't fault it - highly recommended.

Room Tip: We splurged on the suite with the pool - stunning room, stunning views. Well worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Located next to the Duomo and walking distance to both the caves at Sassi di Materia and the historical center, it makes a perfect venue for your stay in this great city. The atmosphere, hospitality and design of the hotel amplifies the spirit of Sassi di Matera. Never before have I exprienced such a good service, well designed rooms and friendly hospitality. If you go to Matera it's just an integrated part of your stay. Love it. Go there with your wife og fiance. It simply doesn't get any better....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortenhother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Palazzo Gattini was really memorable. It is not easy to find a hotel which lives the slogan "luxury hotel"! Not only is the design and the furniture luxury, also the service is more than personal and luxury! We were the only guests at the hotel, which did not belong to the wedding group, the reason why the hotel was fully booked! Although the hotel was full, we felt like we were the only guests! The room was large with beautiful paintings on the ceilings and it even had a nice balcony overlooking the Piazza Duomo! The bathroom was so nice in beige sand stone, with power shower and light smelling toiletries by Coté Bastide! The spa is nice, bit they charge you for using the relaxing room and for using the jacuzzi! The treatments at the spa are just average and the staff at the spa does not speak english very well! Although the hotel impressed us and Teresa at the front desk was like our personal Manager, she really made our stay a special one!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxuryexecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAL_GATTINI, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Caro Travel Executive_10,
thank you very much for appreciating my property and I am very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality.

I hope to see you soon the next time you're in Matera to buy "Dama" by Laura Tonatto :)

Sincerely,
Giacinto Marchionna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.3 mi away
Basiliani Hotel
Basiliani Hotel
#4 of 30 in Matera
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sassi
Hotel Sassi
#13 of 30 in Matera
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel

Address: Piazza Duomo 13/14, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Matera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#2 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#5 Family Hotel in Matera
Price Range: £197 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic centre of Matera, the luxury hotel Palazzo Gattini ia a splendid modern hotel which satisfies all guest' needs. With its 20 luxury rooms 5 Suites, 3 Junior Suites and 12 Deluxe Rooms, it provides guest with a wide range of facilities such a internet connection, air conditioning, digital tv, direct phone line. Mini-bar, electronic safe, shower and bath. Don Matteo Restaurant, Gattini Spa, Duomo Cafe, Meeting Room are available for the guest of Palazzo Gattini. A pool in the spa and a private pool in an exclusive suite are available in Palazzo Gattini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Gattini Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing