We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful accommodations in a beautiful town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Dodici Lune Residence
Ranked #11 of 184 Matera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
El Sobrante
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodations in a beautiful town.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Le Dodici Lune is in a great location uphill from the roadway through town. Three of us arrived without reservations and were provided a huge, cavernous room on the top level for our stay. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the rates reasonable. Had a nice conversation with one of the caretakers who seemed to really like working here. Great to have a small kitchen and dining area - we prepared a few of our own meals here - and equipped with two bathrooms, a real luxury. Very quiet at night. We parked in the small area on the road below nearby, lucky to find a free space.
Wi-fi was spotty, best in the lower level. The view of the caves across the river was magnificent, and the lights at night made the area feel even more magical. The terrace outside our room was perfect for relaxing, reading, writing, sipping wine or drinking coffee. We walked a lot throughout the town, enjoyed our evening stroll with the locals on the other side of the town, and felt very safe walking back late at night. We ate dinner one night at the restaurant and the food was excellent, the continental breakfast typical, good.
The weather was very warm and perfect for late October. Sunscreen and insect repellant are recommended, especially if you are sensitive. We especially like the peacefulness of low season for tourists. Le Dodici Lune is a lovely place, beautiful accommodations in a beautiful town, a wonderful place to stay in Matera!

Room Tip: If you have many large travel bags, it could be challenging to go up and down the narrow stone stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delalis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    124
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
89
170
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

6 couples stayed here and we liked the fact that the rooms are all different. It is a 'must' to stay in a cave in Matera and you won't be disappointed with Le Dodici Lune.
Be prepared to walk up (or down) steps to get here and taxis are not always available when you want them. They stop in the road a hundred steps or so below.
The rooms are atmospheric and have been created to a high standard.
The rates were reasonable too. Breakfast was excellent although the coffee was pretty standard filter coffee and some of us would have liked breakfast served from 7am instead of 8am. We were well looked after during our 3 night stay.
It is well located for all the sights in Matera. Expect to walk (which we did) 2 minutes from the station, Matera Centrale, or the central bus station.
(Technically this isn't classified as a hotel, it is a residence, which may make some search engines or websites not include it.)

Room Tip: If you don't want more stairs to climb there are two on the 'ground' floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgique
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Do you really want to experiment ancestral rupestrian way of life ?
If yes, Just stay some nights in those room sculpted in the tuf stone by our ancestry.
It's calm , you feel like protected by the mountain . We have been welcome by the charmant Cinthia . She directly helped to find our way in this marvellous old city of matera . Staying in Docelune and walking around in the "sassi" is a gift of life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luigiBelgique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helena island, South Atlantic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights although it was in a separate accommodation building which was a short detour down 2 flights of steps as the hotel was full. We didn't know this before arrival but the room was nevertheless perfectly comfortable, clean and well equipped. The proprietor and daughter, Marie Therese were very welcoming and friendly and made plenty of helpful suggestions as to what to do and see in Matera. The hotel itself has been sensitively renovated from an ancient cave dwelling and was buzzing when we arrived, full of locals enjoying a bank holiday lunch.
Breakfast was back up to the hotel and was plentiful with cold meats, cheese and yogurts as well as the usual sweet pastries.
Matera itself is awesome and totally unexpected. A real undiscovered gem.

Room Tip: The Agora rooms are very nice but not part of the main hotel. If you want a traditional cave room, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Fun, different type of room. Musty, but then it is a cave so you have to expect that! Great service, great breakfast, great location with nearby parking ( a short walk). All our family in one room but it was huge, with a sitting area and various little alcoves for beds. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here just one night among my twenty-days trip to Italy.
But this place remains in my mind as
the most wonderful place I've ever been.
That was not only because the city itself has great beauty and sad history,
but also because there were great people in La Doldici.
Everyone was so kind for us,
but especially I cannot forget a guy named Liridon.
He gave me and my family full of memories and thoughts.
I promised him to send pictures of him and La Doldici.
But the mail I've tried to send him returned back.
Please tell him he would send me an e-mail including an available e-mail adderess.
Thank you all for your kindness.
I wish I could visit there again in my life.
-from Korea, Lee Seula

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeSeulA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Had two fab nights here last week - so lovely to get back to our aircon cave after almost melting in the August heat. We shared room 3 with our son - a huge room, loads of space for 3 people. Really good shower with brilliant water pressure, unusual for Italy. Had a very good meal in the restaurant one night as well, excellent quality at fair prices. Matera is wonderful, blew us away, next time might try to visit when its not the height of summer, those steps are a killer in 38c heat, would be great to explore when its a little cooler.
Highly recommend the Dodici Lune, great position, friendly staff and sensible prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Sassi San Gennaro
0.1 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.1 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.1 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dodici Lune Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dodici Lune Residence

Property: Le Dodici Lune Residence
Address: Via San Giacomo 27 | Sasso Caveoso near MUSMA, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Le Dodici Lune Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing