We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding hotel!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is the most beautiful and hotel I have ever stayed in, a perfect, unique stay that I am so glad was part of my honeymoon trip. Everything about this hotel is wonderful - all of the furnishings are luxurious and smartly chosen, to give an authentic and incredibly relaxing atmosphere. The room we stayed in was so, so beautiful and I have never experienced such quiet. The bed was perhaps the most comfortable of any hotel I've stayed in. Reception set up a great value wine and food tasting for us in the 'church' which was lovely, and they are extremely helpful with niceties such as replenishing a pitcher of ice water for your room whenever you ask (grateful as Matera is baking hot) and a bowl of fruit on arrival. The breakfast spread was incredible.

All in all, we were totally impressed by this hotel, which I can't recommend enough, and I hope we'll be visiting again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    99
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
125
876
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

This place is so special! It has designer details all over but mixed with the robustness of the ancient buildings and rooms. It's simply outstanding and special! Dinner in their tiny restaurant is amazing ... Menu of only One and two choices but probably one of the better meals I've had for years and superbly priced! I love this place and it's still one of a kind. Take your loved one here for 2-3 days stay and to experience something special!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I had not heard of Matera and neither had my friends. I became aware of it because we were on our way to Puligia and needed a stopover. At first, when I Googled the hotels and saw the Sextanio website, I didn't know what to make of it. I thought perhaps it was like a theme type of hotel. I also checked out the video clips on the site and became more intrigued. Either way it looked cool and interesting and I was willing to give it a go. What came to be was more than I could ever have imagined.

The hotel site where it was located was extremely discreet. It was nothing obtrusive, but beautifully meshed in with its surroundings. We had arrived one day early and they were kind enough to accommodation us. We stayed in a suite. I'm not sure of the number, but it was next to the church cave where breakfast is served and two doors away from the office.

Our suite was huge. I would estimate it at around 1,800sq ft. We had a large (king?) size bed with another twin bed on the side of the wall. Great bathroom facilities, which

consisted of 3 rooms. One room had the toilet and bidet. The second room had big overhead shower (with water pressure to die for), large sink with toiletries, mirror and hairdryer. The third room had a bathtub with bath amenities. The room with the shower and bathtub were huge! The shower is not enclosed, but I guess because of the sloping of the floor, water didn't get everywhere. I would however suggest having flip flops close by for after the shower. It would prevent slipping and also not collect dirt while your feet are wet. Unfortunately, we never got the chance to try the bathroom. It looked so relaxing.

Towards the front of the room you have another large space with a dining room table or just communal table for you to place things or have coffee, snacks or whatever. There is also a large bench at the side of the wall. On the side opposite of the bench was a large wardrobe cabinet.

The atmosphere of the cave is very serene and sureal. To think that I was staying in a cave someone was living in possibly thousands of years ago is very profound. I loved this hotel and the whole cave experience. I wanted to be locked up in the cave for days. When I left to head to Puglia, I had cave withdrawal. Being in the cave was a great feel at night, almost protective.

I wouldn't suggest this place for elderly people that are not used to walking on uneven ground. I think kids would love this place as much as adults.

The staff is wonderful and friendly. They gave us great places to explore and eat. There is wifi. Just ask for the code at front desk.

IMPORTANT TIP: Hotel might be hard to find. Look for their RED sign and walk up stone steps. Office is first door bottom left.

Matera and Sextantio was the highlight of my trip! With that said, this is not for everyone!! Thank God it was for me!!!

Venice

Room Tip: Go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniceInMyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

My mother and I spent a night at one of the suites, and it was something nearly spiritual. I recommend this hotel to anyone who needs relaxation and enjoys peace and solitude. Every bath product is organic and so are the delicious foods available for breakfast. It doesn't get any better.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Last minute decission took us to Matera for an overnight. After checking the reviews, we went straight to this hotel with no advance booking.  Roberta at the reception was really charming. Room 18 was maybe one of the smallest, but comfortable enough.

Yes, no TV.. GREAT!
Yes, not much light.. This is a CAVE!
Yes, no WI- FI signal.. Try to disconnect for once!

Unique  experience, something really to remember.
I have travelled quite a lot in my life. Only a very few hotels that I remember clearly.
This will be one of them for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Certainly this was a unique lodging experience, but there were several drawbacks:

--- poor lighting inside and lack of amenties
--- no shower in our room, only a bath
--- incredibly difficult to find, even with GPS and coordinates
--- service was transactional during our stay
--- a bit of a hike over the hill to the old town restaurants

On the positive side, the view to the pristine valley was spectacular, and the breakfast was excellent.

We took the time to visit L'Hotel in Pietra during our stay and viewed their extraordinary suites. All things considered, we wished we'd stayed there instead.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanGlobalGallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was the best part of our honeymoon! We stayed for two nights in a real cave! It was warm and comfortable, the bed was large and so comfortable. We had two lovely relaxing nights sleep in our cave. There was an extra large bath which was really relaxing and is an experience not to be missed in itself! The cave was lit by a couple of lights and several candles which added to the atmosphere.

Matera itself was our favourite place in Italy. It was so tranquil and lovely looking out of our cave over the beautiful valley. It was such an amazing place and I don't think there is anywhere else in the world quite like it. It is possible to spend days walking round the Sassi finding new and exciting things.

The breakfast was served in an old cave church which was a great experience. The breakfast itself was different but very delicious. Often there was pizza for breakfast which was a real treat! Parking for the caves was very simple and only a 2 minute walk away.

This was a fabulous place to stay and we would most definitely recommend it to everyone who appreciates beauty, uniqueness and peacefulness.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saliboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.1 mi away
Residence Sassi San Gennaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita

Property: Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Address: Via Civita 28, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Matera
#1 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#9 Business Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matera can be found in the south of Italy and is world famous because of its Sassi quarters, a stunning and well preserved example of a village where hundreds of caves were turned into dwellings, churches and palaces. A UNESCO World Heritage site since 1993, the Sassi represent a unique hamlet throughout Italy: the earliest inhabitants date back to the stone and bronze age, in the middle ages it boasted several monastic communities and later became a vibrant farming centre, owing to the rich harvests from the surrounding hills and plains. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is placed in the oldest part of the Sassi quarters, the CIVITA, facing the spectacular Murgia park and its rock-hewn churches. It comprises 18 rooms (some of them exceeding 160m²) and an ancient church, the "Cripta della Civita," now used as a common area, all renovated to retain their original features. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is situated in the historical heart of Matera. The 18 caves have been renovated in full respect of the local heritage. Each cave reveals the original shape and materials. The interior design, the respectful and minimalistic approach of Sextantio is reflected in the plain furniture elements. The guests will experience a particular atmosphere evoking the cultural and human history of the Sassi of Matera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sextantio Civita Caves Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing