We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a good hotel, nothing of the charm of the ancient Matera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Domenico Al Piano
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“just a good hotel, nothing of the charm of the ancient Matera”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotels has a nice location, 3 minutes walking from the Sassi - ancient part of Matera. The hotel itself is not bad - nice rooms, Italian breakfast, nice staff at reception. But it's really out of charm, just another business or oversleep hotel. But it's really close to the magical part of Matera, so it's not a bad option if you want to explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenitsaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    266
    82
    17
    8
See reviews for
94
170
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you are looking for a charming, typical Italian hotel that reflects the unique allure of ancient Matera, find another place to stay. This hotel seemed out of place in Matera, which is such a magical city. It has the look and vibe of a large chain hotel and lacks personality and charm. the wifi worked well in the room, which was clean and unremarkable. The primary value of this hotel is its location, which is excellent for touring the city. It's on a very busy city street, but the street is an advantage if you don't want to carry your luggage over cobblestone streets. Would be a good location for tourists who have children or limited mobility. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, with a variety of juices and fresh pastries, meats, cheeses, and cereal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrayPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The location is great however that is the only thing worth staying here for at all. The service by the waiters was horrible, the wifi never worked and the rooms were so tiny we had no place to put anything.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyNYer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of the location and an expectation of being able to use it as a comfortable base for a 3 day stay to explore Matera. The location was good but the room was small and, contrary to expectations, we were not able to use the large terrace to sit out during the day. The reason for this was not explained to us despite the fact that breakfast was served there every day.
Having underground car parking at €10 per day was very useful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very good hotel, just a minute walk from the central square and the entrances to Sassi.
The whole Sassi district is highly recommended, a journey back to the past.
The hotel rooms were good and clean. The breakfast was great. There is a nice lobby where you can relax and enjoy a drink. We travelled by bus from Naples and it was a bit difficult to reach the hotel late at evening as taxi was the only way and it was hard to find one. However on the way back we took the local bus to the bus station and this was easier.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We're a family with two small children. We found this hotel exceeded our expectations. The service was excellent, the room very comfortable and modern, and it has an extremely practical location, albeit outside of the "sassi." That actually worked out a lot better for us as we arrived with our car and parked below the hotel, unloaded and then went for a walk in the sassi. Much easier for us. I travel a lot for work and this is one of the best breakfast that I've ever encountered in a hotel and certainly the best in Italy: homemade cakes, excellent coffee and cappuccino, savory delights like ham and cheese toasts and focaccia, fresh cut fruit and everything you could want. The hotel staff bent over backwards even offering us juice and coffee prior to our departure. I really felt spoiled while there and the price was easily 30-40 euros less than what we were getting quoted elsewhere. Kudos! And thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKCM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
198 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a good 4 star establishment in the onderful city of Matera: rooms are spacious and clean, double glazing makes them very quiet. Underground parking at 10€ per night is practical and reasonably priced, as is the hotel (we got a deal at 79€ with an excellent buffet breakfast.

Not in the Sassi, not the atmospheric grotto where some tourists would rather stay (i personally believe human beigns left the caves for a series of good reasons :-))), but a comfortable place minutes from the main square and all the sights. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guorlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.4 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
1.5 mi away
Hotel Del Campo
Hotel Del Campo
#16 of 30 in Matera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Domenico Al Piano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Domenico Al Piano

Property: Hotel San Domenico Al Piano
Address: Via Roma 15, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Domenico Al Piano 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel San Domenico Al Piano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing