We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enchanting place to stay”
Review of B & B Nel Muro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B Nel Muro
Ranked #25 of 200 Matera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Tonia and Guiseppe are wonderful hosts. Although Tonia speaks little english the use of Internet translator comes in very handy. The room was spacious, so clean and well decorated. Tonia is the perfect host and breakfast in the morning,at your convenience, is wonderful. Wireless internet in the rooms would be a good addition to the rooms. Price is competitive and good value. Wonderful view of the Sassi from the balcony. Tonia is helpful with arranging for a guide of the city if you are interested.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWTYellowknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for B & B Nel Muro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

I'm not sure how my son selected Matera as one of our stops, but it's a fascinating town, and very charming. A great place to visit.

B&B Nel Muro was wonderful. The breakfasts were great, but the panoramic view from our outdoor breakfast table was even better.

Tonia and her husband were very helpful and kind. The two connected rooms we had were great. You definitely felt like you were experiencing life in a small Italian town.

The only downside was the parking, which was several minutes' walk, but well worth it.

We had a great time and would highly recommend Matera and B&B Nel Muro.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGuy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Don't miss the warm and homey atmosphere of staying at Nel Muro. Matera itself is a gem, but Nel Muro B & B is a gem within a gem. There are very few places in the world where I enjoyed my staying itself so much. The breakfast terrace offers spectacular views and romantic atmosphere, and Tonya (the lady of the house) serves the best breakfast in Matera! (all home-made, i.e. herself-made)

Vladan from Belgrade, Serbia

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devedzic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

The room was impeccably clean, spacious, had a comfy bed and even a fireplace! (it was cold enough that sitting in front of a fire with a book sounded like the perfect way to finish an evening) it is a vaulted sassi type room. The owner Tonia was very friendly and came to pick us up in her car and took us to park our car in a free parking. Breakfast was big and ymmy , with some very interesting home made jams, and croissants just out of the bakery. The view from the balcony was impressive but it was still too cold to sit outside. On a summer morning having breakfast out there would be fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greek_spanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Friendly, yet bit chaotic welcome. I was told the B&B has 4 rooms (two at Via Muro - where the family itself lives and two at the Piazza Duomo). I stayed in the downstairs room at Via Muro. Lots of space, but no windows (what can you expect in the Sassi). The room had a good bed, but otherwise very sparsely decorated - almost spartan. The "art" that is supposed to decorate, has price tags, offers for sale. A huge bath room, but with a minuscule shower. Breakfast was OK, nothing fancy, in the nondescript family kitchen upstairs.
Sga. Tonia and her husband (he speaks English) are definitely helpful and friendly. But it was very annoying that I was charged 60€, although their website says 45€ for a single. Only after convincing Sga. Tonia I came away with the single price.
This place lives on it location only - all the rest is average.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoostDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Beautiful comfortable BB in the heart of Sassi with the breathtaking view.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANIODO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pcurcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.0 mi away
Dimora Santa Barbara
Dimora Santa Barbara
#12 of 200 in Matera
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agli Archi
Agli Archi
#16 of 200 in Matera
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B San Potito
B&B San Potito
#88 of 200 in Matera
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hydria Residence
Hydria Residence
#26 of 200 in Matera
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa di Ele
La Casa di Ele
#5 of 200 in Matera
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francaro B&B
Francaro B&B
#158 of 200 in Matera
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Nel Muro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Nel Muro

Address: Via Muro 55, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range: £55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B is situated in the highest part of the Caveoso district.From the terrace you can enjoy a wonderful panoramic view on the old districts and UNESCO World Heritage Site.The B&B is situated in a strategic position just a few meters from the Cathedral and the historic centre.To make your stay unforgettable you can walk down the narrow street of the old Sassi district and dine at “Il Cantuccio” restaurant that serves excellent local cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B & B Nel Muro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing