We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly and helpful”
Review of B & B Nel Muro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B Nel Muro
Ranked #26 of 186 Matera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“very friendly and helpful”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I had a really nice room with tv & bathroom. When I decided to stay a couple more nights the room had already been booked but they transferred me around the corner into an apartment with kitchen etc. at no extra charge. The location is excellent and very quiet. They gave me great tips on where to eat good and where to buy panini - supermarket is nearby but not obvious to find. They made me feel at home and further improved my experience in this wonderful town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    78
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
146
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2012

WOW ! This place is amazing!

I have travelled all over Italy, and on this trip we (wife, me + 2 kids) travelled through the Adriatic Regions on the way to Sicily (and back up the Tyrhenian) side, but this was without doubt the highlight of our stay. The b&b is in an amazing position, the building is quite incredible in itself, the hosts are wonderful and Matera is unforgetable. The hosts are Matera locals. This is the real deal. I only wish we had more time.

I've read a few well-off folks' winging about comforts, cleaniliness, parking, etc.: "Give me convenience or give me death!". Quite. JUST GO TO A BIG HOTEL AND BE DONE WITH IT!

Au contraire; Giuseppe met us where we parked, hauled up one of our bags, the room was beautiful, (he did the renos himself when a builder), comfortable (and we were there when it was 43°C) and inside one of the old Sassi houses, the history explanations were detailed (Giuseppe did tour guiding when younger), the breakfast was great (Italians don't have huge ones, folks) and the view from the balcony (breakfast and evening drinks) was unique.

I highly recommend this place, and will return as soon as I am in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I found B&B Nel Muro on google earth. The location looked perfect, so I contacted the B&B directly. The owner, Giuseppe, turned out to be a wonderful host, and the room was perfect! He met us in the Piazza Duomo to unload our luggage (which is only a 10 second walk from the B&B) and drove with me to the nearest free public parking lot...Parking in the sassis is all but non existant. We had a triple room with a queen bed for my wife and I, and a twin for our 10 year old son. Both beds were crisp and comfy, and the room was spacious and spotless!! It had the added bonus of satelite TV and a mini fridge, and a beautiful high "sassi style" ceiling. The breakfast was served on Giuseppe's terrace overlooking the sassi. An amazing view of an extraordinary city! While it wasn't a buffet breakfast like some other larger B&B's we stayed, it was some of the best coffee and cakes we had on our three week vacation in Italy...made by Giuseppe's wife, and served by him with a gracious smile. If you are looking for quality clean accommodation in the sassi's of Matera and enjoy the personal touch of a smaller B&B, then don't hesitate in booking B&B Nel Muro. (see pic of room, terrace view, and Giuseppe with my wife and son)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I booked this B&B based on the reviews Tripadvisor and unfortunately I was quite underwhelmed by our stay here. There were no clear directions to the B&B while it is not easy to find - it would be a good idea to tell guests how to get to the B&B. We had a room that was not located in the B&B itself, but just off the Piazza Duomo. The location itself is good, but the room was very spartan and the worst thing, there was no window and no fresh air at all. There is some kind of ventilation system, which was very noisy, but that didn't seem to work at all. Because of a lack of a window or even just a vent shaft, it was also the darkest room I have ever slept in, which made it all feel a bit claustrophobic. I think we had the worst room of the B&B, but be aware and ask for a room with a window when you choose to stay here.

Antonia, the owner of the B&B is very nice and hospitable, so no complaints there. Also the breakfast, served in the kitchen of Antonia's home, while simple is nice with home made cake, coffee and bread.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeroenS_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

It was just great staying there. First: call them when you get there, they gonna pic you up! (btw it is included in the service, so don't worry they don't charge you for the ride) the rooms are very clean, the owners are very welcoming and outgoing, It is very central and whatever you wanna know, you can ask the owners, they are happy to help you. AND when u get there, ask them a restaurant to go, they gonna tell u the best place ( with low prices too) where you can eat. the food in this restaurant is like from a italian "nonna", soo delicious! (but i can't remember the name of it, but is close to the B&B)
the breakfast is simple BUT all u eat is homemade, i loved the jelly she made! you eat in their home, where u feel like home!
Grazie a voi siete una famiglia molto gentile, era bellissima di stare nel vostro B&B e mangiara la collatione nella vostra casa!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginaperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Well, don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining, it was a wonderful week end with my husband in this unique & peculiar city.Tonia and Giuseppe, the hosts, were very nice, and most important, the room and the bathroom were very clean. It's just that it was a little different from what I expected after reading the reviews: for instance I didn't know that the room was located in another street from where I had breakfast, which was served in the family small kitchen on a very small table, and not on any terrace looking on the sassi( it's just a balcony, anyway). I didn't know that the room might be very humid and warm, since there's no air circulation: moreover I have to share the house with another guest, so I couldn't keep the door open. He left the door of his room open when he left, so I noticed that his room had a tv, while there was no tv in mine.
I really appreciate Tonia's efforts to make the guests feel confortable, it's just that I think it's fear to be objective to the tripadvisor' s members. That's why I like and use tripadvisor everytime I travel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brpadali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We had a very nice stay with b&b Nel Muro. The room we stayed in is very (very) spacious. The bathroom en bedroom are both very clean, also because they are brand new. Anyone who travels and sleeps in b&b's knows that it can be very creepy to touch a bathroomfloor or wall. Not in this place!
One piece of advise: approach the b&b from the piazza duomo, not from 'down' in the sassi area. Many stairs await you... that is if you can find it from down there.
A price for her b&b hangs on the livingroom-wall of the B&B owner: it is wel deserved!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_v_W_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Sassi San Gennaro
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.1 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Del Campo
Hotel Del Campo
#14 of 30 in Matera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dimora Santa Barbara
Dimora Santa Barbara
#20 of 186 in Matera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Nel Muro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Nel Muro

Property: B & B Nel Muro
Address: Via Muro 55, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B is situated in the highest part of the Caveoso district.From the terrace you can enjoy a wonderful panoramic view on the old districts and UNESCO World Heritage Site.The B&B is situated in a strategic position just a few meters from the Cathedral and the historic centre.To make your stay unforgettable you can walk down the narrow street of the old Sassi district and dine at “Il Cantuccio” restaurant that serves excellent local cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your B & B Nel Muro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing