We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo Viceconte
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita(Matera)
US$1,461
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$461
US$438
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sassi(Matera)
US$149
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
378
89
12
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
89
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza duomoroof terracepedestrian areaon footold townfabulous viewsfabulous hotelsmall courtyardfirst floorwonderful stayprivate parkingcomfortable hotelwonderful breakfastbreakfast is servedspacious roomstayed longercentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

If you are driving here you'll find it difficult to access the first time.

My tip, head for Piazza Duomo ignoring the warning signs that entrance is only for those "authorised"and head for the arch at the top right of the Square. Then drive down a couple of hundred yards and the hotel is on the left.

Rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Bed comfortable and bathroom will accommodate any number of swinging cats. Parking is difficult - we were there in the off season and all guests' cars were squeezed into the Palace Courtyard which meant a great deal of Rubiks Cubing to extract a particular car on check out day. Generally I get the feeling that once you have your space to park it' s best just to leave the car there and get round on foot.

Hotel is atmospheric and staff are professional and friendly. One letdown is the quality and variety of the breakfast although the stroll to
the Breakfast Room makes it worthwhile because you pass through so many rooms with interesting and vaguely erotic artworks.

Note to management - a clear set of directions on your website would be a boon and would save your staff from unnecessary and wasteful calls from lost guests....

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank splitbulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you ever wanted to sleep in a palace you must find Palazzo Viceconte. He owners bought the property and spent 10 years restoring it. There is family art everywhere. It saves a trip to an art gallery. The rooms are huge and beautifully appointed. The linens are exquisite. There were 5 couples and each room was slightly different. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did have a little trouble finding it as GPS got lost. We called and one of the staff walked up to the piazza to meet us. We were in a bus so we couldn't drive through to the hotel but they took our luggage both ways. There is a very nice courtyard where we met to share wine and appetizers in the evening. There is a rooftop patio with 360 degree views of Matera. Our room over
Poked the Sassi. We had a guided tour of HHS city one day and it was fascinating. The breakfast is excellent and the dining room is gorgeous although a little hard to locate. This would be an exquisite place for a wedding. I hope to return to the city and this hotel some day.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room here!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crewsin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

GPS did a good job getting us within a few blocks from hotel but it went bananas because hotel is close to deep ravine that cuts the town in two, and then you are in the middle of a laberynth of narrow streets and on your own. There are 3 or 4 different people at reception desk but only one speaks good english and knows how to treat non-Italian guest.
First day we had no hot water and could no take a shower, but Mr. Nice guy at reception desk sent us a bottle of Prosecco when we returned in the evening which helped us to recover our good attitude.
We will come back but only if Mr. Nice guy continues to work here.
Breakfast was not as good as expected.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alffiemexicocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Fabulous hotel, the hotel itself is really charming, comfortable, classic, enjoyable, like you spend your day in private art gallery!! The breakfast is excellence. Hotel staff is so friendly, helpful. One weakness is if you come with big car, it can't park in old city area and need about 15 mins walking. But that doesn't be any problem, the hotel staff will help you to arrange everything!!

We will come back there again, Love this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed three nights over New Year.

The hotel is a converted grand residence or palace and has a fantastic location on a spur that overlooks each of the two sections of the famous Sassi. It is level, more or less, with the Piazza Duomo at the top section of Matera so the main part of town is an easy walk.

The staff were very professional with advice on tourist itineraries, and helped book restaurants - the Gravina about 5 minutes away has terrific food.

The room was very clean with great views, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The lighting could have been a bit brighter, and there were not enough power points (tip - travel with your own power board).

When arriving by car it is probably easier to arrive early in the afternoon, and not on a holiday in order to avoid the traditional Italian passegiate where local promenades are closed - in our case we arrived at 4.30 pm on a Sunday afternoon and the road was closed off - our GPS was no help, and it was a mission to reach the hotel. Be prepared to use your mobile phone if necessary to contact the hotel for assistance.

Breakfast was very nice and generous.

WiFi was only just adequate and didn't extend to all corners of our room.

The building is quite unique and you don't feel like you are staying in a hotel - rather, an Italian palace.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigmadelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews