We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Matera”
Review of Basiliani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basiliani Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Great hotel in the "sassi" area of Matera. Great contrast between the scenery and the modern style of the spacious room. Large bathroom and tv set. Free wifi with personal router in the room, coffee maker. Breakfast included was rich and good. Very kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolotdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is probably the most unique place I have ever stayed in. Even my kids (who are difficult to impress) were blown away when we drove into this town. It had a magical aura around it. The hotel was not that easy to find, but we were relying solely on the GPS, so that didn't help either. The reception staff spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful. Breakfast was terrific (probably the best we had during a short stay in Italy). As a large family group we had three rooms, two of which were fine, but one (111 or 110 - can't remember which) had a cave beneath and smelt fairly musty. Our room (129) was a bit higher up and did not suffer from the same problem. The rooms are large, spacious and well-airconditioned. Light finds its way in very early in the morning though, even if the blinds are shut (rooms face directly east). All in all, a place highly recommended! Perhaps best avoided in summer if you are sensitive to heat - it was 39 deg. celsius the day we were there!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get one that is a bit damp. 129 was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie-in-the-Alps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Fantastic hotel and what an experience in a fantastic part of Italy. Staff were very helpful and informative, and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Room was very large and very clean. Would definetley go back to Matera and would definetley stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danilo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The hotel has simply fantastic location (on the ravine, in the heart of the sassi, but out of the the main tourist traffic), friendly staff, and a very good breakfast. And the idea of actually staying in a cave dwelling (with the comfort of super-modern design) is great. The problem is that they installed these plastic air-tight doors, which open onto (quiet) public pavement basically, and there are mosquitos too (no nets), so you keep the doors shut and there is no ventilation. And that in a cave means real humidity. The first room we were in had about 80% humidity, the next day we got one with marginally lower humidity. We're talking tropics humidity. Bits of the wall white paint coming off, yellow stains of water on some of the walls. So, you keep the de-humidifier running all the time (their air-conditiioning units are quiet, but don't dry the air). Lying in a damp bed, trying to kill mosquitos that got in, and being unable to fall asleep because of the seriously rumbling stand-alone dehumidifier (you need to get up in the middle of the night to empty its tank), thinking there is actually fresh air outside (and in other hotels or B&Bs) is positively depressing. At least we had silicone earplugs for swimming so that helped us fall asleep in the end. I have paid more and less money on a two week trip of Puglia and Basilicata and never stayed in a more interesting, authentic place, but spending the nights here was the worst hotel mistake I made in a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sjurajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Very peaceful, except for swallows chirping as they swoop over the cave dwellings. A bit difficult to find but clear sign outside. Hosts kind and room very cool and spacious. Lovely breakfast too.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This was a most unusual place, and an outstanding experience.

Matera is the “cave city” of southern Italy, and as recently as the 1960s thousands of people lived here in caves, and in houses based on caves, on the slopes of a sandstone gorge. The cave-dwellers are now gone, but their homes are still to be seen, and some have been converted into the Hotel Basiliani. The hotel is ultra-modern minimalist in style, which makes a huge contrast with its surroundings, and has been open for only a year. Rooms are dotted around the gorge-side, each an individual separate unit.

Our room and bathroom were large, spotlessly clean, had efficient cooling, satellite TV and wireless broadband. In the case of our room, the bathroom had once been a cave cattle-shed! Everything worked perfectly, but two criticisms would be, first, that the TV had hundreds of channels, but I was unable to find anything in English, and there was no guide to which channels were available, and secondly that the curtaining was a bit too minimalist, and the dawn light woke me up at 5.00 am.

Breakfast took the form of an ample buffet, coffee was good, and service was excellent.

We found that finding the nearest parking place to the hotel was a bit tricky; once you are there the hotel sends a man with a van to take you and your bags the last couple of hundred meters to Reception. He also takes you back to your car when you leave.

We found the hotel to be a super place to stay because of its location, its style and its value for money. Our advice would be to go soon, because its prices are sure to rise as it becomes widely known.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Just about the most unusual place I have stayed in. Basiliani bedrooms are formed from individual caves, in the fashion of the Sassi dwellings of yesteryear. Likewise reception and breakfast room. The decor is ultra modern and minimalistic, but strangely attractive, and our room had a mezzanine sleeping area.The view of the gorge from our door was stunning, and we enjoyed wandering around the maze of alleways amongst derelict and restored properties.
Buffet breakfast was good and attractively presented with great coffee.
There is a free public car park @ 250 m from reception, accessed by a cobbled roadway and path.
The staff were extremely helpful and eager to please, but above all we enjoyed the hospitality and friendship of our hosts, Giuseppe and Gabriella.
We really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.4 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#4 of 30 in Matera
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basiliani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basiliani Hotel

Address: Rione Casalnuovo 115, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: £71 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basiliani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Sasso Caveoso, Matera. There are eleven large rooms with independent access and all the modern technological comforts. They are partly built and partly caved out of the local tufa stone. They evoke the fascination of the prehistoric caves that you can see from the windows on the opposite Murgia plateau, site of the Archaelogical Park of Rupestrian Churches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Basiliani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing