We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in the Sassi!”
Review of Basiliani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basiliani Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This unique hotel in the Sassi is wonderful value. The superior loft room which slept 4 was huge. The step down bathroom was very modern, spacious and very clean but unfortunately has mold problems. The funishings were very contemporary, my kids loved the chairs that light up! Unfortunately, the room was extremely hot even with all the heaters turned off and we had to sleep with the door open to get some cool air in. The bed frames upstairs in the loft area were very noisy whenever someone turned over....so all in all, not a lot of sleep to be had, albeit a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alienstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

At first it seemed like a good idea and the reviews sounded nice, but then I arrived. The Sassi area is an old, rocky riverbed 400 feet below with dramatic rock faces. Looks a bit like another planet and if you are a hiker/climber it might be fun. The place is very hard to find as it is not in Matera and the search requires time and a GPS.
The rooms, themselves, are caves which have been whitewashed with stone floors and bathrooms and a window- no screen. Some humidity problems and mosquitos and no ventilation with marginal A/C. No A/C after August. Furniture is funky, looks like Ikea. The interiors show discoloration and staining from moisture-eh.
On the other hand the folks were nice, the breakfast good and Giuseppe will meet you in front of the Church and walk you up to the Caves.
$150 per night.
Isolated from the town and a few small cafes within walking distance.
Not my idea of a fun stop.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The unique thing about his hotel (aside from the rooms which you can view pictures of on the website) is that all rooms are accessible directly from the street such that when you open your door, you’re looking out over the sassi.

Location: The location is directly in the Sassi. It’s about a 10 minute walk to get to the central part of Matera. There are numerous restaurants right by the hotel so you can choose where you want to eat.

Service: The service was fantastic. From assisting us with the parking, to carrying our bags, to taking the time to show us where to visit and where to eat, I have the highest of praise for the service.

Other: The rooms are very large and very clean. Ours was a bit humid but there’s no way to counter that in the sassi on a hot day. The breakfast was good.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank smilingcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

good location and the hotel was good and interesting. the furnishing was funny, the breakfast was very good and the service was very good as well.
we were visiting the town that is very interesting and we loved being there

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Francis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Tourist Info recommended this hotel to us, having arrived in Matera with no accommodation booked. And we were not disappointed! The friendly staff picked us up at the Piazza and helped up with our bags to our rooms (a short walk along a rocky path). Everyone was very friendly, the rooms were creatively decorated. The room was a tad humid but we think this is because it is, after all, a cave. But we slept well, the mini-bar prices were affordable, internet was dependable, and the breakfast spread was superb. A very unique hotel experience that we all enjoyed very much!

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the caves on the other side of the Gorge... so they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humbellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It was a unique experience living in a cave which is a room of a super modern hotel. The design is minimal, clean and a nice contrast to the cave structure. The room has all what you need for a pleasant stay in Matera. The location is perfect and the staff are polite, very helping and willing to support with all the information you need. The hotel is very clean and breakfast is rich. There is a free WiFi but no English canals in the flat screen TV. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaron_RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

An experience I will treasure always. Sleeping in a cave in a world heritage site and not breaking the budget. At night it is absolute magic, the whole Sassi is all lite up and and we had the place almost to ourselves. It was easy to explore the caves without having to hike up and down too much which was a bonus for us elderly travelers. The hotel staff was professional and very helpful, the facility was very clean and the breakfast was on par with European hotels. I would not hesitate to sty at Basilliani Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.4 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.4 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#6 of 32 in Matera
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basiliani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basiliani Hotel

Address: Rione Casalnuovo 115, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: £59 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basiliani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Sasso Caveoso, Matera. There are eleven large rooms with independent access and all the modern technological comforts. They are partly built and partly caved out of the local tufa stone. They evoke the fascination of the prehistoric caves that you can see from the windows on the opposite Murgia plateau, site of the Archaelogical Park of Rupestrian Churches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Basiliani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing