We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Basiliani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basiliani Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent a night in one of the cave rooms of the Basiliani - and had one of the soundest sleeps on our trip! The hotel is on the edge if the canyon and in the oldest area of sassis ( cave dwellings). It was totally silent at night. The staff are extremely helpful - picking us and our luggage up from the car, telling us where to leave it, suggesting restaurants, etc. the wifi is the fastest I gave experienced anywhere I think!b great spot!

Room Tip: One overlooking the canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ermie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very quite, almost hidden, original, unique. perfect for families also. breakfast is great and staff is lovely. Minimalistic rooms in line with the sassi spirit. Worth coming back.Basiliani deserves the best ratings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IlaBenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just stayed in the Basiliani Hotel (Room 111) for a couple of days. The room was very large (for a cave), minimal furniture and a really special feeling. Woke up every morning to amazing views of the gorge opposite. In addition the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had a really special time there.

Ac couple of things to be aware of though - the hotel is a little bit of a hike from the square where you park - across rough cobblestones. Make sure to pack light - you'll be carrying your cases. Our room had an amazing bathroom/shower but unfortunately the set of the flooring was wrong so whenever we used the shower it ended up flooding the room. Hopefully the owners will correct this. Breakfast was fine but no food available during the day that we were aware of.

Matera is an amazing place and the Sassi (cave dwellings) are need to be seen to be believed. But Matera will be the European city of culture in 2019 (they're already celebrating) - make sure to get there before the crowds arrive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForestHillsAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Staying in the very heart of Sassi Caveoso, the old sassi quarter of Matera, is magic. Even more if your room (110) is literally facing the canyon. If on top of that, the rooms are decorated minimalistic-modern-cool, are quiet, the beds comfortable, the breakfast is great and the staff is lovely, then you have all elements of a perfect and unforgettable stay in this incredible city! Yes this is what Basiliani Hotel gives to you!
Thank you also for arranging a guided tour with il profesore: we got a different and deep insight into the history and current reality of Matera.

Room Tip: we had room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

So good I didn't want to share this find. Sure, others have already given stellar reviews, but the more people rave about it, the harder it will be to find free rooms. But fair is fair and Basiliani deserves the best ratings. Period. And Matera too. My first visit was 20 years ago. I returned this time with a wife and two young teenagers and I kept asking myself why did I wait so long to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkolingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I only stayed one night here but we just loved it. To start with the location is unbeatable! Overlooking a beautiful valley. The room was huge, warm and had all the facilities we needed. Breakfast was great, staff were extremely helpful! We truly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roopinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here as a birthday treat for me - and loved it. Most TA members recommended just 2 or 3 days in Matera, but I wanted to chill out on my birthday rather than dashing from sight to sight (or site to site), and I was fine with a leisurely 8 days! Plenty to see and do. And eat. So that means I had a good while to evaluate the hotel.

The hotel website pictures of each room are fair and accurate - yes it really is that smart - so look closely at all the room options before choosing which one (if you book early enough and direct with the hotel). I had 5 days in mid-level Cave 1 (room ??); a 4-day gap elsewhere in Basilicata, in the mountains; then another three days in ground-level Cave 2 (room ??).

All rooms are spotless. But allow for a bit of breakthrough damp 'mottling' of the pristine white walls. It's a cave ! So it's a bit of a battle against nature. Cave 1 was particularly mottled on the ceiling, and over a recessed 'sink' area - I loved it, and I'm sure the pattern was changing from day to day. The cave was alive. Great. My wife commented that 'this ceiling needs painting' - and no, it's not what you think...

Cave 1 was even more authentic, with a dehumidifier left on all the time. (Remember to change the tank at bedtime or it will sound an alarm if it gets full in the night, and wake you up.) The aircon was fine. Cave 2 was described as 'built', but was still much more cave-y than I expected. It needed no dehumidifier but needed the aircon turning up (to colder) as June warmed up, getting warmer by the day.

All outside areas of the hotel are for all guests to share, but if you sit outside, you do tend to stay near your own room rather than invade someone's 'air space' on another level, so pick a room with its own (but shared) terrace, maybe the higher rooms. Cave 1 shared a mid-level panoramic terrace with 2 others, but we never saw anyone else. Cave 2 was more confined, sharing with 3 others, and the sitting area was not quite as spectacular, and more in shadow, with views not as panoramic. There are a couple of rooms 'down the side' of the hotel, on the left, and these look out onto steps, so maybe avoid those. But they are not deal-breakers as the rooms themselves are so great!

Tourists tend to wander through nearby pathways, as paths are shared, but the tourists aren't 'in your face'. For once, I felt like I was inside looking out, rather than vice versa. as I sat back sipping my ice-cold birra. As the hotel's set out as several clumped-together buildings, there are a couple of non-hotel rooms mingled in with the hotel rooms, but it's not a problem, and the 'true' year-round inhabitants (Materanos?) are fine. The caves are so thick, you'll hear no noise whatsoever, unless you go outside.

Very quiet hotel area, despite a few tourists wandering around during the day. In the evening, it's really quiet - you'll just hear 100s of swallows and see scores of rare local falcons coming out to play. Or is that prey? The swallows didn't seem to worry. (Kestrel sized falcons.)

Don't let ANY of the above put you off this hotel - it's fantastic.

Special mention to Paola and the other staff who really helped when my wife's suitcase went missing at the airport for a week, sending faxes and phoning the airport nearly every day.

Great, super-fresh breakfast with loads of choice - sweet or savoury. (Nothing hot, apart from the coffee, freshly brewed for you as you liked it.)

Free wi-fi worked fine and was not slow. (You might think taking your netbook is boring, but it was an essential when the previously mentioned suitcase went missing, as we could look for daily online updates from the airline NAME DELETED BY ME - TA doesn't like advertising.)

So - highly recommended indeed.

Room Tip: Peruse the website to pick the room. The hotel will also advise by email re suitable rooms, views et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshiredave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.4 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basiliani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basiliani Hotel

Address: Rione Casalnuovo 115, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: £71 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basiliani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Sasso Caveoso, Matera. There are eleven large rooms with independent access and all the modern technological comforts. They are partly built and partly caved out of the local tufa stone. They evoke the fascination of the prehistoric caves that you can see from the windows on the opposite Murgia plateau, site of the Archaelogical Park of Rupestrian Churches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Basiliani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing