We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Authentic Local Food”

Dalla Padella alla Brace
Ranked #29 of 312 Restaurants in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great, Authentic Local Food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Fabulous find on a cold and rainy night in Matera. Basic decor but Francesco more than made up for that. They offer 5 different fixed price menu's. We had 2 of the anti pasto + pasta dish & 1 of the mixed grilled meat - 45 euros total and lots of really delicious food. Pasta with broccolli, anchovies & breadcrumbs was outstanding. Highly recommended if you value simple, authentic food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ForestHillsAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    266
    79
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanmer, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great traditional rustic food served by smiling, friendly and lovely staff”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Don't be put off by the stark interior - the honest food and the clear desire to please from the head honcho more than compensate. We ate here twice and each time experienced delicious food and a genuinely warm welcome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelindaDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great cheap restaurant”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We went to have diner because it was recommended by our host in our B&B. The place is very simple but the food is very good with fix price menus. Appetizers (antipasto) were delicious and service exquisite!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ritorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Read reviews here and were close by and popped in for lunch. Francesco welcomed us warmly. We decided on a set price menu of antipasto and a pasta for each of us. Antipasto was superb, we enjoyed each taste and there was plenty of it. Especially nice was the pork and frittata. Then our pastas were also excellent and of good portion size, full of flavour.

Francesco is attentive and friendly. He mentioned moving to Sydney and opening a restaurant, if you do Francesco, we will be the first ones there.

Highly recommended for food, service and value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attilla64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great food, great price”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Delicious dinner, but we couldn't eat anymore.......6 delicious appetizers, followed by pasta with broccoli, pasta with sausage and mushrooms, all seasoned so well. We could not eat a second course. Francesco was personable, friendly, spoke English too. Seems like a neighborhood place, we were glad we stumbled across it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italiancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalla Padella alla Brace also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to Dalla Padella alla Brace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing