We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Matera and Wonderful Hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matera, Province of Matera, Basilicata

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Ryuji S
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Magical Matera and Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My wife and I had a truly wonderful visit to this magical city. We walked everywhere, discovering narrow alleys with ever surprising findings. We stayed at this B&B for 6 days. Our stay was made unforgettable not just because of magnificent sights but specially because of the hosts, Donata and her husband Marino. They are wonderful people, full of life and dedicated to taking care of our every need. Instead of lodging at a hotel, there is a true value in staying with people who grew up in and love the area of their birth. We loved staying in their charming B&B converted from a Medieval monastery. Thank you, Donata and Marino! We will come back to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Donata and Mario!
Liked least: A little difficult to find the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2014
Buon giorno Ryuji, come state? Tutto bene il rientro in america? Tu e tua moglie siete delle persone meravigliose,io e Marino siamo stati molto fortunati a conoscervi. grazie per il tempo che ci avete dedicato speriamo di passare altri bei giorni con Voi. Ti auguriamo un futuro sereno e pieno di gioie insieme alla tua famiglia. Baci Donata
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikulkato...
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Donata and Marino made our stay special.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The city of Matera is a treasure. No tourist glitz (so far) with tasteful restoration right beside untouched structures that gave a sense of what this city was really like during the hard times. We shared personal moments with our host Donata who did everything to make our stay a memorable one. This is the only way to experience Basilicata. One of the best restaurants in Matera was right across the narrow street from B&B 157.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Donata
Liked least: Male Italian drivers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Grazie,siete molto gentili.Mi fa piacere che il vostro soggiorno a Matera è stato rilassante.Saluti Donata e Marino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIENNA
Reviewed 8 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jimmyt
Dalton, Georgia,USA
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One in a Million Travel Experience! and Great rooms as well.”
Reviewed 29 May 2012 for a stay in June 2010
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed 2 times with Mrs Donatella DeRosa, and her rooms are exquisite, but even more than that, she will personally show you her town and the Sassi which she is extremely knowledgable and proud of as well. She and her whole family have become our extended family in Italy, and I cannot imagine being in Italy without a stay with the Afferi Family. I could go on and on to tell stories of our wonderful times there but suffice it to say, staying there is one of those cultural immersion experiences that are getting very hard to happen on to! Go there! Let her give you the tour, and see if I am right!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm friendliness of the family and staying in a 14th century Monastary.
Liked least: That I had to leave!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domenico...
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cortesia e disponibilità dei proprietari
Travelling group: Da solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va4125
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: l'accueil
Liked least: le sous-sol
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$82
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing