We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sassi
Nearby Hotels
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$415
US$403
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$414
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
159
235
102
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
235
102
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscave roomold towncold pizzamap showingthree nightsbreakfast roomshower curtaincobbled streetsfocacciasteep stepsunique experiencegreat place to stayamazing cityfresh fruitshort walkroom was largeexcellent breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Rarely have we met a more welcoming receptionist who was at pains to ensure we were comfortable. This smart, clean hotel is wonderfully situated right in the Sassi - the historic cave area - of Matera and, as I've read elsewhere, watching from the terrace as daylight faded and the lights of the historic town emerged was a rare treat. Our "cave" room and bathroom were very comfortable, and while I had to go to main reception for WiFi, I don't consider to be a negative. Garage parking is necessarily a short distance away and I would strongly advise decanting luggage into small cases; I wouldn't have wanted to carry a heavy case up and down steps in the heat. I would also advise asking the hotel to recommend a guide, as a complete tour of the Sassi is essential and while the map provided by the hotel was useful, you'll still need help. I heartily recommend this hotel, although I must add that in the stifling heat during our stay the dehumidifier was inadequate to keep our room cool; sleeping with the door slightly open wasn't a security or privacy issue, but we awoke with a few mosquito bites between us. Breakfast was more varied than you usually find in Italian hotels. A couple of days in Matera is probably enough, but if I ever return I'll book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The hotel was everything the web site advertised:
Convenient location, original rooms (cave like), clean with a large bathroom. We had a little bit of trouble finding the hotel and managed to get lost. We called the hotel, to ask for directions. They told us to stay put and someone would come to get us. Within 5 minutes someone from the hotel came to meet us and carried our luggage from the car to the hotel. Later, he returned to the car to accompany us to an indoor parking garage.
The room was a little small, but worked well, nice sheets and towels. Single beds small by north American standards, but normal for most italian hotels. There were some moisture stains on the ceiling, but that added to the authenticity of the room. The breakfast was very good with a nice array of cold options, cereal, juices yogurt, fruits, jams, nutella, coffee cakes and croissants. Then there were 3 types of breakfast pizzas, savory:Tomato & olive, potato and herb, and one sweet with sugar topping. The cappuccino and espresso were very good.
I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escapades15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I note that Hotel Sassi is no.14 on the list of hotels in Matera. Well I would like to see the other 13 because Hotel Sassi is impossible to fault. Anyone not happy with this place should ask themselves what they are looking for. The view from the terrace of our room was extraordinary! To sit there and watch the sun go down and the lights come on in the old town was unforgettable. Simple elegant room, staff that couldn't be more helpful, great breakfast. Great value. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickoBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Our family of five stayed here in May 2012 for one night. Very unique hotel with rooms built into the caves. Great view of the old cave district at night. Great service, good breakfast. Attendant at the parking garage gave us a map with directions to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel has quite a number of different sized rooms made in caves in the Sasso Barisano district of Matera. Make sure you have their telephone number on you when you first try to find it because it is difficult in this warren of house caves that are built on top of each other into the side of this Sandstone gorge.
For pedestrians from Piazza Vitoria Veneto go up Via San Biagio until this opens into a square with two churches San Giovanni and San Rocco. Turn right,(part of via S Rocco) pass the University and then turn left. Go right down the next set of public stairs and then bear left. There will be signs at this point and you will soon be on top (literally) of the hotel.

It's an interesting stay sleeping in a cave. The rooms are naturally impressive and bigger than you think. They are very quiet and cool. We stayed three nights and if you don't put the air fan on for a few hours then it can become a little musty. It is a building requirement in all restored caves to have ventilation but people seem to turn these off sometimes. The staff were all very helpful. The only small problems we encountered were that the toilet and shower room was very small and that because the rooms are gouged out of soft sandstone rock, very small particles of rock dust would naturally form on the tiled floor so avoid bare feet.
We accept this is part of the natural conditions of this type of building but perhaps the floors should be mopped daily rather than just swept?

The views are stunning of the Sassi and just being there is very atmospheric.
The variety of coissants, focaccia, fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurts for breakfast was very impressive. We slept well and enjoyed our visit here.
There are stairs everywhere in Matera and disabled access would most likely be near impossible.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vespa150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews