We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a cave was some experience”
Review of Hotel Sassi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sassi
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2009

great hotel with individual rooms and superb view over the old town of Maters (The sassi)
We had a very large room which was literally a cave. The downside was that the room was quite damp and clothes were damp in the morning - We still enjoyed the experience

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2009

We stayed in Hotel Sassi for a week and had a great time exploring the incredible Sassi of Matera. On arrival we received some bubbly and cakes, and the Hotel provided huge breakfasts each morning. Plus, when one of their best rooms (with a balcony with beautiful views across the Sassi) became available they upgraded us free of charge which was very nice. The hotel is situated in a quiet area (no cars) and you can hear sounds of the nearby Music academy playing, and the bells of the churches - we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleDrainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

This is a great place. I arrived at night and was amazed by the view from my balcony over the valley, only to be even more shocked to see it in the morning light. The room was clean, bathroom was small but functional, and the staff literally went out of their way to help.

I have to say that the breakfast spread here is one of the best breakfasts that i've ever had in a hotel in Italy. They have local sweet pastries straight from a bakery in addition to a real cappuccino or coffee made at the bar in the breakfast room.

All of this without even mentioning that you're staying IN the sassi of Matera, which lends its own very nice touch to the interior and architecture of the place.

Definitely recommend it!!!

Stayed: November 2008
Thank RubiconExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

The location of the hotel in the Sassi makes it a special place to stay. The staff was very helpful and each of the women who were on duty at the desk spoke very good English. The men did not, so hunt down one of the women if you are having a problem, although the men there were good at communicatiing using rudimnetary Italian and Spanish and gestures. We had minor problems understanding how the door locks worked and they were most kind with us. We got a great recommendation on where we could find a very good meal (le Botteghe-down in the bottom of the Sassi). The view from our room was spectacular as it looked out at the cathedral. The staff also arranged for a delightful English speaking guide who took my wife and me on a lengthy and very informative tour of the Sassi. We used the private parking garage recommended on the hotel website. The people who run it were very nice. They met us with espresso (we told the hotel we would use it) and there was a man there who helped carry our bags and showed us how to get to the hotel. I am sure he waits at the garage and relies on tips for a living. If you wish to use the garage ,download a copy of the map at the hotel website and approach from Via Roma as XX Septiembre is one way and the garage is on the first alley after getting on XX Septiembre from Via Roma. The breakfast was good and the bar service is reasonably priced. After arriving it was great to have a cold beer and view the Sassi prior to taking off on foot. I should add that we had a "superior room" (5 Euros more than "standard") and thsi may have added to our good view. The room was good sized with a nice couch. If we go back to Matera we will definitely stay here again (and eat in Botteghe again). I should tell you that the lady at the desk told us that September and October are their busiest months and that it is wise to contact them 2 or more months in advance for those months as they had already booked some September days solid by mid-June.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyboy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We didn't stay long, so I will give my honest opinion, but know that is is exactly that! The hotel was a bit far from the bus station with luggage - and I travelled light! A lovely older Italian woman helped us when we began to get frustrated and lost. The staff at the front desk did not speak English, but we made it through with a few Italian phrases. The room was small but clean, and the view was great. Bathroom was a good size, and very clean. The area is excellent. 90 euro a night was the highest we paid during our three week tour of Italy, so it seemed very high to me, but I didn't look anywhere else, so I'm not sure if that was the going rate.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sorainmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

Two of my friends and I recently stayed at Hotel Sassi in Matera, Italy. First of all, if you have any doubts about visiting Matera....do. Matera was a lovely and unique city with a touching past. Hotel Sassi was excellent. Despite what other reviewers have said, Hotel Sassi is very very easy to find if you are prepared. I went to the website for Hotel Sassi and printed off the map they provide. Their map, as well as my "Italy" travelguide map (which was not very descriptive), as well as many signs on city walls, made it easy to find Hotel Sassi. It is ideally located, right in the heart of a Sassi district, and yet still close to the train/bus station. The view was great, especially at night. The staff was great, friendly, and attentive. It was clean. The location is really what sells it....I couldn't have asked for a better location if I tried. I will definitely stay at Hotel Sassi if I return to Matera.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank sallysaysciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

I stayed at Sassi Hotel twice, actually the latter I booked at the Hostel which belongs to the same owner.
This hotel is amazing! The rooms are carved into the tipycal stone of Matera. The atmosphere is astonishing, the rooms functionals, very clean and comfortable. There is a patio with a wonderful panorama over the ancient town. The location is very close to both "sassi" and the centre. Food is fantastic and fresh. Staff always friendly and helpful. Perfect for a romantic gateaway!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 32 in Matera
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.4 mi away
Basiliani Hotel
Basiliani Hotel
#3 of 32 in Matera
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sassi

Address: Via San Giovanni Vecchio 89 | Sasso Barisano, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: £73 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sassi 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sassi reveals the magic atmosphere of an enchanting 18th century complex located within the "Sasso Barisano", surrounded by terraces overlooking the romanesque Cathedral and the enchanting view of the Sassi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sassi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassi Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing