We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accomodation!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I booked a deluxe room in this wonderful and modern hotel! I think it was the right choice because we arrived by car so we needed a free car parking and of course in the city centre considering the streets of Matera it was unthinkable to find one! But we choose this hotel also because it looked great in pictures and so it was! Nothing was different from the things written on their website or on booking.com. It is a little bit distant from the city centre, about 10 minutes by car, but it was perfect anyway. The staff of the hotel is very nice and kind with their guests, they make you feel at home. The breakfast was superb, a great choice of everything, for everyone, it was a buffet breakfast and you could really eat whatever you wanted. The room was clean enough and the design of it is very nice though, it was huge with a big bathroom and a design shower. They allowed us to check in before the time written on the website which is rare in general!!! I would like to suggest you indeed this accomodation, it is really relaxing and, in spite of the fact that is is not located in the "sassi of Matera" it does not matter, at least for me! I think that when you find the right ingredients in an accomodation, you should not be doubtful about it and book it as soon as possible. I hope that the staff management will continue working in this way and especially without changing the actual prices which are really competitive!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Italiancustomer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review; we are very happy that the accomodation was excellent. Knowing that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay in our hotel is totally satisfying for us. We are sure that the wellness centre will contribute to make your stay even better. We hope you will visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    105
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
64
129
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, and we were thrilled with our choice! When we checked in we were instantly upgraded to the next suite as a congratulations for our honeymoon, which was a lovely touch.

The room was lovely, the bed was very comfortable, amazing drencher shower, a smart TV with English translations! (I don't usually come on holiday to watch TV, but being pregnant and finding the heat unbearable between 1 and 4 ish, it was nice to have somewhere to return to, relax and cool down before we headed out to see the sights of Matera again).

The staff are really friendly and incredibly helpful, very proud of Matera and all it has to offer, they are keen to impart their wisdom with you. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always happy to help.

The breakfast is good as well, with fresh Matera bread, jams, cakes, pastries, fruits and fresh tea and coffee. Our room also had cooking facilities, and there were plenty of kitchen equipment for cooking.

Matera is a lovely town with two Sassi areas and a new town, there are plenty of great restauarants, gelatos, shops and loads to see. We spent two days here and we wish we had extended it to 3.

You will need a car to get into Matera from this hotel, it wouldn't be possible to walk into town from here. I'm not sure on bus services, but the hotel staff would definatley be able to advise on that. Parking in Matera was relatively straight forward and cheap and the drive took about 5 minutes.

This is a great base outside of Matera to stay and we were really pleased we made this choice. The staff are great and all want the hotel to be a success, which I believe it definatley will be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giniclare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for your judgement. For us is gratifying to know that you enjoyed everything and that we contributed to let you spend a lovely honeymoon. We really hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capel, Western Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The resort is quite stunning - very well designed and outfitted rooms and high quality fittings and equipment throughout. The rooms are converted from a 19th Centuary farmhouse and the structural design of the building is also very impressive. Breakfast was one of the best we've yet had on our Italian tour so, all up, it represents good value for money. The only problem - an important one for a light sleeper like myself - is that the front rooms experience quite a deal of traffic noise, so bring your earplugs.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms overlooking the main road in front of the building to enjoy a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chairmanbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review; we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are sorry for the noises, in the meantime we have considered your opinion and we have improved this aspect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This property was very nicely updated, with sophisticated design touches that made the rooms very special. Reception was warm, friendly, and very helpful. The breakfasts are lavish and tasty, great cappuchino. It is not as truly rural as had been represented, however. I could not receive wifi in my room, which was a little disappointing. We were given a suite for the price of a room, which was lovely.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room, get a room closer to the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CScheidlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Costumer, thanks for your kind review. I'm very happy to read your positive words and thanks for sharing your experience.
I'm sorry for the little problem of the Wifi, we've solved it. Thanks again for choosing us. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

amazing place and really nice staff. they went out of there way to make us feel welcome and help us out. very clean and modern. breakfast also great! 10 stars! would be back in a heartbeat, cant fault a thing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey198861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest, thanks for choosing us and for sharing your experience of your stay. We've been very happy having you here with us. It's great to see that you've liked so much your days here in Matera. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

A quaint and beautiful hotel just outside the sassi of Matera. The interior of the hotel, especially the rooms, is stylishly designed and decorated. The room, in all white, is huge - with a kitchenette corner and has a large and comfortable bed and ample spaces. The bathroom is immaculately clean and nicely designed too. The only drawback is noise can permeate through the thin walls and I was awaken by people talking and moving out early in the morning!! For this the hotel staff was apologetic and offered a room change. The staff, who were very friendly and helpful, went to length to recommend good restaurants and arrange transport for me. Breakfast was not very elaborate but pretty good. Overall, it's a wonderful hotel if you decide not to stay in i sassi and have a car at your disposal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesscet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Addetto Reception at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Madame, thanks for your kind review, we're very glad that you've enjoyed your stay here and you've appreciate our staff. We hope to see you again in our hotel and in our fantastic city. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

everything. spacious rooms with quality furnishings. only a few months old. good breakfast. staff extremely helpful and friendly. excellent english spoken by male receptionist. ample parking as a car is necessary

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carolina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveSole, Addetto Reception at Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review; we are very glad that you appreciated so much the beauty of our Hotel and the diligence of the staff. It was a pleasure having you here, we wish to welcome you again in your next visit in Matera. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
1.5 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
1.6 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
1.4 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
1.6 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty

Property: Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
Address: Contrada La Vaglia sn, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole is an ancient typical house renovated in original style, with all modern comforts. Surrounded by the Parco della Murgia Materana landscape, the hotel is situated in a wide area of 18th century quarries. The hotel has an elegant ambiance, comfortable and wide rooms, terraces with beautiful view, garden with native plants.Guests can choose between 16 rooms with different kind of furniture and design accessories. 3 rooms are independent apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing