We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has to be the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo degli Abati
Ranked #9 of 179 Matera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Has to be the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wonderful experiences never seem to last long enough. Our five day stay here was at least twenty five days to short. How you can take a cave and make it a great place to stay is nothing short of a miracle. Add to that a great friendly staff and a delicious breakfast and you have described the Palazzo degli Abati.
It doesn't get better then this.
Unless you drive around, you will have to do a lot of walking and climbing of stairs (which we did) to see the town. I am 80 yrs old and my partner is 73 and we managed to walk. Just take your time and rest when needed.

Tina ~~Buckingham, England
Chris ~~So. California, USA.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoseniorstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
127
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The B&B is extremely well located in the Sassi at around 5 minutes walk from the city center. We booked a junior suite for one night. The room is really amazing and well decorated with a huge main room and a nice bathroom with a kind of Spa shower.

The Italian style breakfast on the terrace with the view on the Sassi is an excellent experience.

Finally the owner are friendly and helpful. They will tell you everything you need to know about the Sassi.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dadalesuedois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

A small B&B with four lovely bright rooms overlooking the old town. But like all places here a bit tricky to find. Unique cave room with modern features. You'll get great photos here. Easy access to town, parking we found right outside in the little lane. Breakfast selection is great, dinner recommendation only five minutes walk down the village is Osteria Pico, excellent value with great food, definitely go for the house red.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kerryconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent two nights here (not really enough time for Matera...we would suggest 3 or 4 nights) and loved everything about the hotel, the town, the countryside and the people.
Our room (senza Nidd) had been carved into the "tufa" in the 1700's, but was perfectly modernized, with a terrific ensuite including one of the best showers ever. You can see all five of the rooms in detail using the virtual tour on the hotel's website. They each have unique aspects, we chose the most "cave-like." Rooms are kept spotless, towels and toiletries are very good quality. WiFi is good, the room has coffee and tea service, and there is a small safe.
The common terrace in front of our room had a classic view, breakfast on the terrace is lovely.
As has been mentioned repeatedly, the staff is wonderful.
Unconditionally recommended.

Room Tip: Use the virtual tour feature on the hotel website. You can "walk" through each room and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this most luxurious cave! Despite being hewn out of the sandstone rock, this room was modern and had all necessary facilities. It wasn't so easy to find (especially without a map - my own fault!) but ended up being in a perfect location to explore this most interesting town. The hospitality was warm and homely and the breakfast was a delight. THE place to stay in Matera!

Room Tip: Pick a cave...any cave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This small hotel was created by combining adjacent caves carved into the sandstone mountainside. The room is very modern with a very comfortable bed, internet and modern fully equiped bathroom. We were indeed impressed with everything about this place. The few e-mail exchanges I had before arival were quick and responsive. The young lady, Claudia, who I had communicated with online was at the front desk went we arrived. We were provided with great restaurant recommendations and orienting information. The breakfast was among the best we had in Italy with a range of fresh local cheeses, meats and breads. One extraordinary occurrence worth noting: I inadvertantly left a pair of jeans after checkout. Claudia sent emails offering to ship these home to which I responded as unnecessary. When we returned home, we discovered that the hotel had also called my home in the US to offer assistance to return my jeans. We are compelled to highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktalk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I spent a couple of days in Matera and were very fortunate to have stayed at this hotel. The room was beautiful and well-appointed. The location could not have been better. If this were not enough, the hospitality was warm and heartfelt. We are planning our return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mipatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corte San Pietro
Corte San Pietro
#2 of 179 in Matera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fra i Sassi Residence
Fra i Sassi Residence
#7 of 179 in Matera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo degli Abati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo degli Abati

Property: Palazzo degli Abati
Address: Via San Pietro Barisano, 27, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo degli Abati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing