We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, very unique 'spa' hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Oxford
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely, very unique 'spa' hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't really find fault with this hotel. The rooms are caves and approached from the outside via a higgeldy piggeldy labyrinth of paths and steps. Beautifully and simply furnished. There is a mini baths under the hotel which is fun. The staff were charming. Highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anneandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    416
    71
    24
    12
See reviews for
216
919
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My title refers to my first impression of Matera...a city of stone unlike any I have ever seen. Having arrived on a rather dreary May evening and hiking up stars and down before finally getting to our hotel made it a welcome sight. The whole place, the setting and the hotel comes with many challenges and just as many rewards. I am no engineer but I imagine it was no easy task to convert these caves into modern hotel rooms, with electricity and running water. Every room is unique, and offers views of this multi-dimensioned city that defy description. I am grateful for the warning we received from our guide about slippery stairs before we began our descent-climb. Our room was tastefully furnished with rustic furniture and our breakfasts were more than ample. My only complaint had to do with my bed which was unusually narrow and seemed to be without edges to the extent that I rolled out of bed without any way of catching myself. Thankfully, no serious damage was done, except for a bruise behind my ear. The hotel itself offers its guests a welcome refuge from what is, it must be said, a hostile, but nevertheless, breathtaking, environment.

Room Tip: Request a room with an outside terrace with small table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvctravel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First the amazing:
location, the views and the re- creation of Roman baths with therme. Look at the pictures and note, their beauty is not a marketer's exaggeration.
The breakfast, with barista drawn coffees, would hold most person through to dinner.
My room was well beyond my expectations with views of matera, churches and wandering tourists.

Okay, so far, five stars, and perhaps my negative remarks are simply the frustrations of approaching old age. The front desk will help, if pressed for support, however they will answer one query often without hospitality.

Examples? I arrived late at night, handed my key and told to go to second floor...not a hint of the puzzle of stairs, invisible room numbers or the warning that the stones may be slippery.
Who would know to ask? Today, looking for an ATM or bank, I was informed, " no we don't change money here".... Language problem? Could be however this is consistent with several other small frustrations and the sense that I am a disliked waste of their time of which they have little. Maybe they weren't able to sleep either as there is a dog with an all night barking issue.

Note that all others at the hotel were lovely.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and as with life, subject to the same nuisances
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Finding the hotel(spa) is the trick. We we with a tour group so that helped.Definitely the most unusual room I've ever stayed in. Just about all the rooms are caves. The hair dryer I had in my room was the only problem. It kept coming off the wall therefore shutting it off. Breakfast was very good with a large selection. You definitely get your exercise with all of the stairs. So so unique I highly recommend it. The floors in the room are stone so the seemed a bit griddy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at 'Locanda di San Martino' located right in the Matera center, called 'Sassi'. It's built in a typical Matera white stone, the rooms are simple with a comfortable bed and a big bathroom with bathtub and massage. We were positively surprised by the breakfast, again set up in a white stone room and with all the delicious typical food (fresh mozzarella, bread, ham croissant and cakes) from the Basilicata region. Then in the basement you can relax in the 'thermae', quite a big swimming pool again built in the white stones with 2 jacuzzis, sauna and other SPA facilities. Also, the reception was very friendly and helped us to find restaurants and places to visit in Matera and managed get us a laundry done in less then 10 hours! The only thing is that parking is a bit far away and costs 10€ per day, but you can park the car for and bring it in front of the hotel when you are departing. I recommend this hotel to anyone is visiting Matera!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank capreraTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Matera is an incredible place to visit and this hotel makes it more special -it is a beautifully appointed hotel in the Sassi. We stayed 2 nights which allowed us up to the Piazza each evening ( and if you are there on 2nd July you can enjoy the feast of the Madonna della Bruna ) and a nap in the hottest part of the day . The Thermae are wonderful but be warned that children < 18 yo cannot visit and even guests are charged an extra 10 Euros- it is worth it . The breakfasts are great and the hosts very helpful, especially with parking. Take a tour with a local guide for some in-depth knowldge then just wander around as you wish- the town is quite steep with many stairs but small and easy to get around.
Read "Christ stopped at Eboli" by Carlo Levi for a quick history guide to this part of the Mezzogiorno.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanmSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Matera one night to break up a long drive and we were so happy we did! Hotel was easy to find with google maps and the hotel parked out car for a small fee. The room (7) was very very comfortable for a small family and included a in-room spa bath. We took a late afternoon drive through the town in a Piaggio open top car/moped (seats 3) which was great and cost 30 euro this allowed us to see all the sights without having to walk too long with a 6yo. One tip for people planning to stay is that the spa/pool within the hotel does not allow people below 18 yo in the pool. This was clearly noted in our booking but we didn't read it before staying - out fault. Either way what a beautiful hotel in a beautiful town and we are keen to stay again next time we are there. Thanks to the staff - we had a great stay and you made us very welcome.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveledaplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Matera
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Property: Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Address: Via Fiorentini 71 | Rioni Sassi, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Matera
#9 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#9 Family Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino lies in the heart of Matera's Sassi Historical District, and at the same time it is conveniently located at a very short distance (100 meters) from the city center. The Locanda radiates outward from the deconsecrated church of San Martino and the street of the same name, through a series of balconies that enjoy a sunny exposure and a wonderful view of the Sasso Barisano. There are twenty-two guest rooms situated on four levels, renovated with the greatest care in order to respect their original forms as single homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Martino Matera
Hotel Locanda San Martino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing