We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful and evocotive lodging I have had the pleasure to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia-USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most beautiful and evocotive lodging I have had the pleasure to visit”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

A hotel of fastideous charm, immaculate, inspired, exquisite contemporary architectural details married to the ancient original remails of sufa cave dwellers - " Sassi", dwellings dug from outside to within a sufa mountain. Colors of many millenium old stone arches, cream, beige, soot black all of the residue of hundreds of years of living mixed with joyful colors lent to furnishings of the 21 century - pale blue frosted unframed glass doors for the bath and a wonderful large bathtub with a hand and overhead shower.Specially designed lamps made of ceramic glazed in a kind of bleached bone color with holes that seed light sparkles onto magically varried surfaces.The spaces are a spectabular display of subtle texture. pock marks, striations like ancient script. and clear clean colors, ceruleun blue, a chrome green and the beds make one wish to stay in when it rains and read a good book. and for that, there is a lamp placed at the head of the bed. Breakfast "is held" in a kind of double cave with so many assorted fine things to eat the expresso machine was constaintly at work. American coffee ordered as Cafe au lait just wonderful. One might be in the company of a trecker tackling mountain trails and hillside caves with Baroque architectural delails on the face of a abandoned one time home. A family of five, a business man, a lone traveler like me - each person seemed to put on their best duds to enjjoy the morning feast . I was so pleased by the "ombiance'' a diverse group of people, many nations, young old and the inbetween. .The staff is a self styed family each person lending a hand to help with what needs doing. The owner might be at the reception desk or one of the other most efficient, helpful and enthusiastic staff persons. Each of these helpmates makes for a smooth running, friendly, extra special place.and were it possible I would not mention it at all as I would like to keep the lovely Locanda all for myself. Out of the "Sassi" a hundred steps up to a more recent gound level, is a lovely Piazza with a gourmands delight of a shop 0f "Lucanian" and Pulian food stuffs, and for my own personal need great bread, a baker as fine as my old friend Poilane. One excellent trattoria "Il Cantuccio" chef /Carlo Cambi makes fresh past with a sauce of chick peas, hard to imagine so fine a dish made with simply love and fine ingredients and the best olive oil anywhere. The baker is a handsome fellow dressed all in black, his shop is #4 Vitorio Venito in the Piazza.The restaurant I found by my nose paying attention to the smells eminating from a most modest space is no accident it is impossible to believe one might stay the night and depart the following morning as eight days wil be too little for me to fully render this magical place known. I will return some day soon maybe when the chanterelles are peaking out from leafs fallen to ground in October.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    418
    71
    24
    12
See reviews for
218
925
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Great 2 nights in Matera - the hotel was great, really fab sleeping in the cosy cave (the weather was a bit rainy!).

Staff were great, breakfast was lovely.

The Sassi of Matera is a really unusual and fab place to visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This hotel is really the ideal place to stay in this wonderful city. It is right in the middle of the old city and has been built into the mountian making the rooms look like warm caves. We took our exteneded family here for New Year's Eve and I think everyone was speechless about the city and the hotel. Wonderful service, a good breakfast, an exellent location and a magical place. You really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Stayed at the Locanda last week while in town for a wedding. This place is perfect - tremendous value, beautiful and unique rooms, impeccable service from the staff. They accommodated everything needed to make the stay for all easy, relaxing, and fun. Each room is uniquely bulit into a cave making for a great experience. When in Matera, there is no reason to stay anywhere other than the Sassi and in the Locanda.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I stayed a week in that hotel and it was fantastic - beginnig with the tasteful rooms and interior, the cleanliness, the friendlyness of the staff. Incredible

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Matera is a must-see if you are travelling in the area. Sleeping in a cave was definitely a unique experience and the rooms get pitch black at night (as what you would expect from a cave). As you open your windows, the light shines in so brightly, and you understand why this town was chosen for the film, Passion of the Christ. This hotel is impeccable and the breakfast was the best we had during our two-weeks in Italy. The rooms have a slight musty smell, but I think that's avoidable since it is a cave. We thought the receptionist was extremely helpful and very funny!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxifaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2009

The hotel is very well located in the Sassi. What a different landscape, everything surrounded with rocks. Haven't seen anything like it ever!
Worth an overnight stop if visiting Adriatic Coast. Had a weird feeling sleeping in a cave.... very humid. Our room had a terrace and well worth it. The sunset was breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo33301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.1 mi away
Residence Sassi San Gennaro
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Property: Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Address: Via Fiorentini 71 | Rioni Sassi, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Matera
#9 Family Hotel in Matera
#9 Romantic Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino lies in the heart of Matera's Sassi Historical District, and at the same time it is conveniently located at a very short distance (100 meters) from the city center. The Locanda radiates outward from the deconsecrated church of San Martino and the street of the same name, through a series of balconies that enjoy a sunny exposure and a wonderful view of the Sasso Barisano. There are twenty-two guest rooms situated on four levels, renovated with the greatest care in order to respect their original forms as single homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Martino Matera
Hotel Locanda San Martino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing