We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A different experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked a suite located in an elevated situation which provided exceptional views. However whilst the room was spacious there was a smell of damp and the lighting was very poor at one end of the suite. The staff were attentive and Michele was particularly good in the dining room. The food in the dining room was very good and probably the best we had during our stay in Matera. Visitors should be warned that you have to be ready to walk up and down many steps to get to your rooms and this will prepare you for the rest of your walk around Matera! I would strongly recommend a visit to Matera to view the caves that many people lived in until the 1970's - the area is set to become the capital of culture in 2019. Unfortunately we experienced poor weather so a 4 day visit was a little too long. Definitely not a holiday for the disabled who need a wheelchair.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roblin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea Anna C, Direttore generale at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Roblin70,
thank you for your amazing review.
We hope to see you again in our resort.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    114
    26
    23
    13
See reviews for
60
238
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shinjuku, Japan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

When my wife and I approached to the hotel through narrow and winding road along deep valley, we found its small sign. Looking around, we cannot imagine where rooms. We entered to the reception, which has modern interior decorating and a bellman brought us to the room immediately. First we walked up slope about 50m, up again 10steps, down 5 steps, up 20 steps, and up again last 4 steps, we arrived in front of the door of our room. It has no escalator at all.
Room was great. It might be renovated recently, it is clean and excellent inner packaging. Also, we could see the original ancient city wall in the room. Each room has a terrace faced to the valley. From there, you can see Chiesa di San Pietro Caveoso(church) and Casa Grotta. At night, we enjoyed lighting of those as well as lighting show on the cliff. It was enjoyable and nice experience for us. However, when we went out for sightseeing or shopping to anywhere alse, we had to walk up steepy stairs becase the hotel stands at the base of the hill. It was quite an excersise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobuhiro k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea Anna C, Direttore generale at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mr. Nobuhiro,
thank you for your review.
We are glad that you enjoy your stay in our Resort.
We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Four of us gals each reserved our own room, since it was a good value in November. Each room was unique, as well as clean and very artistically decorated....cleverly carved out of the sassi. Breakfast was abundant and delicious.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea Anna C, Direttore generale at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience with us with tripadvisor users.
We are glad that your stay in Matera was memorable and we hope to have you soon again as our guest.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sant'Angelo. Our room was gorgeous & the view outside our door was absolutely amazing. If you are driving, I definitely recommend using a GPS, because it is a little tricky to find. However, our GPS tried to send us down a pedestrian-only alley while we were trying to find the hotel, but we finally got there with a little help from a nice local gentleman. The breakfast at the hotel was good with lots of variety. There were, however, three glitches that could have been improved upon. First, our room had a slight ant problem. It wasn't really bad, but it wasn't pleasant either. Second, the bed was hard. I mean like uncomfortably rock hard, so I didn't sleep well. The third issue was that the toilet is enclosed in turquoise-colored glass. This glass amplified & echoed what ever you were doing in there. So any type of noise made while going to the toilet was heard throughout the suite. That was a pretty awkward to say the least! Otherwise, the experience was enjoyable and the town was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

air conditionner out of order..we could not use our room until 10 pm. Staff at reception could not communicate with us. we accidentally walked into the wrong hotel. They did not have our reservation....We thought booking.com had not booked our room that morning so we kept showing our confirmation number with the name of the hotel. They proceeded to book us into this hotel knowing that this was not their confirmation number. Thinking that the problem had been resolved we checked into Sant'Angelo Hotel in piazza San Pietro and not Corte San Pietro Hotel in Piazza San Pietro...sooooo we paid for 2 hotel rooms that nite (sept.17th, 2013). They refuse to acknowledge their dishonest behavior Beware!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmenlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea Anna C, Direttore generale at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Good morning,
in our hotel check-in starts from 2 p.m., you told us that you have made the check-in with me, Andrea, so it's impossible that you made it at 10 p.m. just because my shift ends at 8 p.m.
As we told you during our e-mail correspondence it's not possible give you back your money beacuse you asked us for a service that we gave you, we never seen the reservation for of the other hotel, it was supposed to be a your attention.
The air conditioning works perfectly, at the chek-out you haven't told us no problem with that, we don't understand why this comes out just now, one month later.
We are sorry for this your problem but we don't have any fault.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in the old part of Matera called Sassi. Rooms are directly in the caves and are well equipped and very clean. The breakfast on the terrace was an unforgettable experience. Overall, a good hotel to be recommended. Not cheap but fairly reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_Traveller_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
621 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our bicycle tour company picked this hotel as part of a pre-trip. We arrived a day late due to travel problems but where greeted heartily by the receptionist when we arrived a day late.

We were given a room toward the top of the hotel. Bear in mind no room looks alike, many having been built into the limestone rock. Our room was not carved into rock but had a beautifully designed ceiling. The bright, white walls were refreshing. The recessed lighting making the entire room very inviting. We had plenty of space and a French balcony just big enough for a chair from which we could look over the canyon defining this city.

The one issue we had was air-conditioning, or lack thereof. We thought we had it. There was a device in the room, running, and spewing a cool air. We went for a walk, we returned to take a shower and go to dinner and then retired to bed all the while thinking the "air conditioning" would cool the room down after the sun set. Nope.

It must have been a swamp cooler; a large dehumidifier. About 2:00 am I finally opened the door to the French balcony because the room had become so warm. Given that we were only there one night, there was no reason to ask about it in the morning...the damage was done.

That said, dinner at the restaurant was very romantic. Our location near the center of the city allowed us to hike along the ravine and then up into the higher parts of the city. We enjoyed our stay here only wishing we had the benefit of air conditioning on this late summer's day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Sassi San Gennaro
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort

Property: Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Address: Rione Pianelle | Piazza San Pietro Caveoso, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Matera
#4 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#12 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#14 Family Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing