We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just BAD.”

La Grotta nei Sassi
Ranked #87 of 453 Restaurants in Matera
Price range: £13 - £30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Il ristorante La Grotta nei Sassi è sito nel centro storico di Matera, in una cornice magica e suggestiva che ricorda i vecchi ristoranti di Matera, collocato all'interno dei Famosi Sassi di Matera (grotte scavate dall'uomo), patrimonio dell'UNESCO. Il ristorante è composto da due sale con una capienza di circa sessanta ospiti, in grado di offrire un'atmosfera ariosa, moderna ed elegante, perfettamente in linea con la cucina innovativa proposta dallo Chef. Il ristorante dispone di una bellissima terrazza panoramica che si affaccia sul meraviglioso scenario del Sasso Barisano, ed è anche punto d'incontro per molte persone d'affari per organizzare meeting, pranzi o cene di lavoro. La cucina de La Grotta nei Sassi è tradizionale realizzata con ingredienti e di prodotti locali a Km 0, oppure con specialità marinare.
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

The staff in this restaurant are simply not to be believed. The rudest most switched off bunch led by an offensive hostess and nobody is interested in explaining the limited menu.The food is mediocre, tired and reheated. The tables go uncleared and the staff avoid eye contact. More interested in large tables of American tourists and their tips. To be be avoided, deeply unpleasant experience for such a lovely town.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank 138juditht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2016

We dined at this resteraunt on a Friday evening an edit was a good job that we had booked and the restaurant was full by 9:00pm. The staff were attentive and helpful. The food was well presented and tasty. Well worth a visit but probably worth booking to by surge of a table.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank peterhV9062ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Popular restaurant that has absolutely delicious local food. A good menu, great staff, delicious food and lovely ambience.
We would totally recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nugget00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We were there on a Saturday night, busiest of the week, but didn't feel that excused the waiter's attitude and the slapdash service we received. There are much better restaurants in Matera.

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2016

We managed to find a table at this popular restaurant and were not disappointed. We all had fish which was so carefully cooked. The whole meal was delicious and the service was excellent. It is impossible to find fault with this restaurant and sadly we left it until the last night. Do come here it is a great experience in a beautiful setting.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed La Grotta nei Sassi also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to La Grotta nei Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.