We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casino Ridola Hotel Relais
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff.... The pool area is lovely and provides a great place to chill out after a walk around the Sassi area....

Breakfast offered a great selection of fruit, breads etc ...

Short walk to Sassi so perfectly located. Would recommend to anyone visiting Matera

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaSitges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    86
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
133
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I was given a room on the top floor without a lift. The hotel probably had around 10 rooms and has been converted from a large family house, and the owners occupy a corner of the ground floor. Very friendly staff. The rooms had recently been refurbished in a modern style, and they were exceptionally clean.
Excellent breakfast, but they do not serve dinner, but plenty of restaurants in the town.
The room was large and had underfloor heating but did not appear to have any air conditioning.
I was travelling by bike and the owners got me to store my bike alongside their own outside of their appartment.
It is about 1.5 km to the centre of the town, downhill on the way in.
There was a swimming pool in the grounds - but at the start of May it is still too cold for the Italians to swim.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Everything about this hotel was spot on. The room, the breakfast, the location - given the difficulty in parking in downtown Matera - and in particular, the welcome and help provided by the lovely people working there. Add to this that it was great value, and we hope to back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

If you are looking for a quality place in Matera, this may be it. It's a bit outside of the centre but within very easy walking distance of the centre and the sassi (old Matera). The accommodation is very comfortable, the staff are excellent and the hotel very well managed. Consider the half board option as this is done in conjunction with a very good nearby restaurant serving local specialities. It makes the stay very affordable. Matera ,by the way, has been judged the safest city in Italy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Second stay here at Hotel Ridola relais.
With 3 young kids- this hotel is just perfect in about every way. The staff are so helpful, the rooms gorgeous and the pool an added luxury.It felt like our own and the staff could not have been more helpful. the children played in the lovely garden. Our rooms were next door to each other on the ground floor so we could access pool and garden easily.
You can walk easily into the centre of Matera.
We bought some wine and the manager opened it for us and not only that provided a cool bucket and wine glasses!
Stay here for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor great for families with small children. Top floor rooms are brill for romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pratibhanirodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We recently spent a week at the Relais Ridola. In 30 years of travelling and staying in hotels I have never experienced the level of hospitality that we found here. The owners Cosimo and Lucia went well beyond the call of duty to ensure that our stay was extremely enjoyable. It was as if we had a virtual tour guide for all of our sight-seeing and reservations while we were there. They were able to recommend a series of great restaurants and even made all the reservations for us. They also suggested interesting destinations for our day trips in and around Matera. They organized an excellent tour guide for the historic sites in Matera. They also accompanied us to buy local food products and wine for us to take home with us. We found that all of the employees of the hotel were extremely helpful and cheerful and went out of their way as well in order to ensure our stay was very memorable.

The hotel consists of 8 rooms in a very carefully restored historic building. Ours was large and extremely clean and was an excellent home away from home for our family of 2 adults and 2 small children.

There is also a very clean pool set in well-kept gardens. The historic centre of Matera is a short 10 to 15 minute walk from the hotel which is out of the hustle and bustle of traffic and more touristy areas.

I can't recommend highly enough this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fioridipesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here! It is not to far from The Sassi in the center of Matera. We took our son and even though the hotel was booked the pool was clear and not crowded AT ALL....Imma that works there made reservations for us at a restaurant in the town and the next night when we were exhausted Imma called the local pizza delivery Speedy's Pizza and they delivered!!!!!! That has been a first for us while living in Italy. This place was great!!!! I do suggest if you have children to book room 114 or 125. We were in 114 and when you walk out the front door you have a grassy yard for the kids to play in and then you can go right over to the pool!!!! Free breakfast during your stay as well!!!!! It was like your own private villa on vacation.....It was nice and peaceful!!! Plenty of parking and gated!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gibsonchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.7 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.6 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Ridola Hotel Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Ridola Hotel Relais

Property: Casino Ridola Hotel Relais
Address: Via Marcello Morelli 13, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Ridola Hotel Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casino Ridola is located at 600m from the famous Sassi and the historical centre of Matera, offers a swimming pool and free parking. Guest rooms come with free Internet access, satellite TV, and a floor heating and cooling system. The breakfast room and reception are in the garden and offers every day a buffet selection of sweet and savory product prepared at home. The hotel was designed by a famous local architect, Leonardo Ridola in 1872. The National Museum of Matera is dedicated to him. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casino Ridola Hotel Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing