We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casino Ridola Hotel Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casino Ridola Hotel Relais
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Surprising Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I just spend 2 nights in this small, well appointed hotel in Matera. I was greeted by a friendly, smiling face. There was no problem with English as one would expect in a small town in Italy. They were helpful in giving directions and even ordered a massage to given in my room. The room was a nice size and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rositala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    85
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
130
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night, room of a good 4 star standard including welcome drinks making facilities ( unusual in Italy). Nice large room with a big bed, neutral decoration & all modern facilities including free broadband.

Hotel is in a safe residential area about 10-15 min walk from most of the attractions & not so easy to find. Good views over surrounding valley. Breakfast had a good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, pastries, cold cuts and bakery. Hosts welcoming & helpful with restaurant & gelato tips. Pool looked welcoming although did not use it in October.

Overall a good choice for a stop in Matera if you want free off street parking & don't mind a 10 minute walk into the centre of town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CassiusCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely family run, small hotel in a residential setting. The staff were very pleasant and very helpful. It is a short 10 – 15 minutes walk to see the Sassi town of Matera. Lovely clean pool and you can hire swimming towels for 2 Euros.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have a lift. We asked for and received a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a lovely hotel! Only small but all that we needed and the staff and owners were so friendly and helpful - Hello and best wishes to Serena, Paola, Alessandria and to the owner Cosimo and his wife who gave us a glass of limoncello and some homemade tiramisu one evening! The rooms and grounds were immaculate, the shower was fantastic; small pool and garden area well maintained; the hotel was located in a quiet residential area at the top of a hill but only 10minutes walk to the town centre. Matera is beautiful - very unusual and interesting with its old sassi areas - less touristy than other well known cities in Italy - it was beautiful....

Room Tip: We had room 125 - ground floor around the corner from the reception with a lawn area in front and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucknrollUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Wonderful hotel in Matera!

The information provided to us at arrival was very helpful, including some excellent restaurant recommendations in the area. The location was a 10 minute walk to the city centre.

The rooms were clean and spacious (good size bed & powerful shower). We found the breakfast was adequate, a good selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals, as well as local pastries etc. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night so didn't get to enjoy the pool but it looked very inviting. Lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misskmtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at the Hotel Ridola in one of the rooms at the attic. The rooms are spacious and very well put, impeccably clean. As it is a small hotel, something which I prefer, the guest has a sense of exclucivity in the services provided. Everybody at the hotel is very friendly and helpful with all kind of requests (thanks very much Enza, Serena, for everything). It is about a 5-10 minutes walk from the center of the historic center of Matera and the Sassis, and given the fact that in Matera you will be walking a lot in any case, that is something you need not to worry. The neighbourhood is quiet and having somewhere to park the car is essential. Breakfast is good, with an adequate variety, (if I would be pressed to find a small fault, that would be it: a small change in the variety offered for breakfast from time to time would be most welcomed, especially for guests that stay more than of couple of days).
I strongly recommend hotel Ridola and if we visit again Matera, this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

After the entertaining chaos of Rome, Matera is a welcome calm. Likely less visited, but the city has much to offer for ancient sites right in the old section of town and many others within easy driving distance. Our stay at the Casino Ridola in late March was very nice, as we were met by the beautiful and charming Enza, who was working reception it seemed nearly all of our three night stay. We rate service a definite five, because she is just amazing. Arriving early evening on a Sunday, eating options were limited, but she made some calls and arranged accommodation at a very nice local's restaurant for us. As they have no lift and our luggage for three months in Europe was challenging, she helped to get us settled in our second level room. There are rooms on the ground floor, but our room was quite spacious, as was the modern bath, and worth the climb. The grounds are in a private garden setting with plenty of parking for guests and a small pool that is likely more inviting in warmer months. Breakfast is served in a glass walled room with a garden view, and the selection was certainly adequate to start the day, but we would call the website photos ambitious. The hotel is a short 12 to 15 minute walk from town and located in a fairly quiet residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.6 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.6 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Ridola Hotel Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Ridola Hotel Relais

Property: Casino Ridola Hotel Relais
Address: Via Marcello Morelli 13, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Ridola Hotel Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casino Ridola is located at 600m from the famous Sassi and the historical centre of Matera, offers a swimming pool and free parking. Guest rooms come with free Internet access, satellite TV, and a floor heating and cooling system. The breakfast room and reception are in the garden and offers every day a buffet selection of sweet and savory product prepared at home. The hotel was designed by a famous local architect, Leonardo Ridola in 1872. The National Museum of Matera is dedicated to him. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casino Ridola Hotel Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing