We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Very nice apartment”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Matera, Province of Matera, Basilicata

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naoko B
Naples, Italy
1 review
“Very nice apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have stayed this apartment for 2 nights with my 3 kids. There was enough room for us and walking distance to restaurants and major sightseeing spots. You need to mention for your parking because there is no reserved spot. It was only 5 minutes walk from where we parked. Leano came to the parking and packed our luggage to his car. So we are free to carry our luggage. Leano speaks enough English and was really helpful. We had a very nice time in Matera.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcD300
Maisieres, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay in a Traditional Matera Sassi (Cave Dwelling)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We travelled to Matera in order to experience a traditional 'Sassi di Matera', and we were not disappointed. The apartment was located in a convenient location for tourists and gastronomes, a stones-throw from Palazzo Lanfranchi and right next door to Trip Advisor's No1 restaurant in the town, Ristorante L'abbondanza Lucana. Directly opposite was another high-ranking eatery, Ristorante Morgan, and no more than 100 meters away were the highly regarded Ristoranti, Caveoso and I Caponi.

The accommodation itself is only recently opened and as you would expect is presented to an extremely high standard. The property is arranged in two self-contained apartments: one sleeping three and one sleeping two, both en-suite and in great comfort.

A central communal area containing a coffee machine, seating and an internet point links the two, allowing both apartments to be booked separately in order to accommodate five. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout.

Beds are very comfortable and there are soft and harder pillows if required. The decor is very modern, although sympathetic with the traditional Matera Sassi style, giving an airy, light and spacious feel. Bathrooms are elegantly finished and both showers were luxurious. The water in Matera is soft and feels wonderful after a long day of sightseeing.

A small kitchen consisting of hob, fridge and sink with cutlery, plates, pots/pans and cups/glasses is provided in the three-person apartment, with a fridge being provided in the smaller one. Water, fruit juice, tea and coffee were provided free of charge.

The owner met us in Matera upon our arrival having made contact via email at the time of booking, as well as just before our stay, in order to coordinate arrival times. He gave us a comprehensive tour of the property which includes an old hand-carved well, and made sure that we knew how to work the air conditioning, heating, hot water and internet services.

Parking, like the majority of Matera, can be problematic although the owner did help us locate a safe, free parking space within a few meters of the apartment. We only used the car (a large Jeep Commander SUV) once during our three night stay as we chose to visit a local attraction not easily accessible on foot by our young family. Apart from this the main parts of Matera are all accessible on foot and therefore once you locate a parking space you could happily leave the car there and not worry about it.

Overall the apartments were extremely comfortable and welcoming and our experience of staying in Matera at La Neviera nei Sassi was extremely positive. We would highly recommend a stay here. Grazie Mille!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation and the attentiveness of the owner
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whuang050...
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella...
Montesilvano, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: L'atmosfera
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirvy75
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014
Google Translation
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marella63
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erminia85
Rossano, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing