We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely unusual hotel”
Review of Caveoso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caveoso Hotel
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I loved our stay at the Caveoso and hope to be back again next time I am in Italy - Matera itself is a wonderful place and I want to see more of it. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was excellent! I would recommend it to anyone wanting something atmospheric and a little different.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandiliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

Sadly, the experience at this beautiful property is ruined by a dishonest owner. This was my third visit to this hotel, and I will never return. Too many bad experiences! The original quote was raised by 40 Euros per room. I later found a nicer cave hotel with pleasant staff for half the price. The staff at Caveoso are kind, but they are totally at the mercy of the dishonest owner and are expected to pinch pennies and lie for his financial gain. Our tour group rented seven rooms. Our bus driver had relatives in Matera and did not use his room. We then discovered that Caveoso Hotel had rented it to someone else while still charging our group. This is highly illegal. I speak Italian, and let the owner know how furious I was. In the end, he made it right, but this only happened because he was caught. Choose a hotel with an honest proprietor. You don't need to stay at Caveoso!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

An affordable luxury, Caveosi Hotel offers smart accomodation and a delicious breakfast. I loved our room with decorations and furnishing that go well with the "cave" type hotel. The hotel assisted us graciously during our stay. Grazie a voi!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robby_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had wanted to stay in a "sassi" hotel in Matera, and this hotel was right in the sassi. The room was attractively furnished, reasonably spacious and clean, and bath was clean and modern. It would have been perfect without the man at the front desk (don't know if he was owner or employee). He was very unpleasant; in fact the most unpleasant - actually, the only unpleasant one - hotel owner or employee we met in more than 3 weeks of traveling in southern Italy. He barked at you when you asked a question as if you were stupid for asking it, and in general he acted as if he were doing you a favor letting you stay at the hotel.
The only way to get to the hotel which is at the bottom of the Sassi Caveoso is by walking or taking a taxi. There apparently is a bus down from the bus station but only on holidays and possibly Sat and Sun (it was not clear). Taxi each way is 10 E. We walked down (15 - 20 min) and took the taxi up.
A trip to Matera is not for anyone not mobile. Walking is over uneven cobblestones and there are lots of steps.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelholChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Matera is such an unusual and unbelievably fantastic place but the highlight of our visit was when I first stepped inside our `cave' room. I was simply overwhelmed as it was truly and absolutely fabulous!!!! Unfortunately we stayed during Easter 2013 when the weather was unseasonably cold and as a result the room felt quite cold and damp but this would obviously not be a problem in warmer weather. As other reviewers have commented, the man on reception is not the most pleasant of people and the owners/staff around the foyer at breakfast time appear to be constantly arguing which is a tad off-putting. All in all though I feel lucky to have visited Matera and it has certainly been the experience of a lifetime to have stayed in such a fabulous setting. It may have had its drawbacks but compared to some of the other `cave' hotels, Caveoso is definitely an affordable option and so I would indeed recommend it to anyone else seeking unusual and beautiful accommodation in this wonderful city. Go there if you can!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Confirming what has been written from others !
Unfortunately we caught not the best weather at easter, so we couldn't enjoy the court yard, lounging under the stars (which must be very nice).
Nothing per persons which prefer perfect boringness to a very original place like all Matera
(who wasn't there cannot even imagine how different Matera is ! ) The staff was very kind to let us even before the agreed moment in to the room . That is wasn't really cleaned yet was the easier to swallow point, harder to take the slipping off toilet-seat. A crew of right away alarmed 4 (1) handyman tried to solve the problem......(shouldn't the cleaning-personal check those things before clients come ?) Like many places in the italian south, you find beauty often framed by trash and dirt in the neighborhood...il famoso menefregismo .A pitty for all the ones
which are different, being torn down by "those" ones...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Quite easily one of the most sumptuous and unusual hotel "rooms" we have ever stayed in, and in the most stunning town. We thoroughally enjoyed our couple of days in Matera.
Its also the first time we've seen a non-functioning TV set fixed with a quick blast from a hair dryer!
Agreeing with other guests comments, the breakfast was little more than sparse, but the lady serving the coffee was extremely helpful and jovial.
And although the "man in charge" wasn't the happiest of chaps, it didn't stop us enjoying our time here.

Room Tip: Room type 5, no 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat-and-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sassi
Hotel Sassi
#13 of 30 in Matera
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#4 of 30 in Matera
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caveoso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caveoso Hotel

Address: Rione Pianelle 26, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: £72 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caveoso Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caveoso Hotel is situated in a striking palace right in the centre of the Sassi area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Caveoso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caveoso Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing