We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Further!”
Review of L'Hotel in Pietra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Hotel in Pietra
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Look No Further!”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for only one night, sadly, in August this year because we had accidentally not booked enough nights with another hotel that we were staying at in another town. What a wonderful surprise! The rooms were amazing, the breakfast was delicious, and the owners were so friendly and kind. Definitely hankering to return to Matera and this oasis called L'hotel in Pietra.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    135
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
86
430
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed one night in this beautiful and highly unusual hotel and regretted having to leave the next day. The building within the Sassi is just amazing, and it has been renovated very tastefully and with an eye for detail (except for the mini fridge in our room which must have been forgotten during the planning process and looks a bit out of place now). Don't miss breakfast, it's a real treat (which can't be taken for granted in Italy...).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is in a former underground medieval church in the Barisano Sasso in Matera. We have never stayed in a town or hotel like this before. Our room was compact but the decor was stunning and the bathroom was carved out of the rock. We had everything you would expect from a quality hotel; cable TV, minibar etc. Breakfast was wonderful. It is an easy, albeit steep, stroll to quality restaurants in the Sasso or up in the main Piazza. Parking was arranged for us in a secure underground carpark about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. They sent one of the staff to meet us at the carpark and help with our baggage. Matera is a fascinating place to visit and L'Hotel in Pietra is a superb place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian and Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Tasteful, minimal design style blends seamlessly into the sculpted spaces of a 12th century sasso church. Located in the heart of the sassi district, the Hotel is a great base for exploring the marvels of Matera. Great service, attention to detail, and superb style make this a memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomenicaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Matera was a side trip on our drive from Bari to Maschito, where my wife's family is from. We'd read about Matera and took a chance on both the town and the L'Hotel in Pietra.

The hotel has been created with respect for the history and to incorporate a high degree of luxury. Our room had more space than we'd expected and the bath was luxurious to say the least.

Matera is something of a challenge until you've walked the pathways. We'd made the mistake of driving into the Sassi as our GPS couldn't find the parking lot for the hotel. A gentleman on a Vespa led us over to the parkinglot where we were met by a porter. After parking the car, he helped us to the hotel, which was several hundred meters away. The front desk was very helpful and recommended an excellent place for dinner.

Matera is an amazing site - there's something around every corner of the Sassi and the town is quite enjoyable with plenty of shopping at reasonable prices.

We can't fault the hotel on anything. The stay was perfect, the room spotless, and the breakfast provided was more than adequate.

Matera isn't all that well known in the U.S. I'd suspect as word gets out, far more people will make the visit to Matera. It's an easy drive from Bari and would make a good home base for travel around Southern Italy.

I highly recommend the hotel. The value is high. I'd stay there again and would be happy to do so.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoMillionMiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U. K.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is an exceptional hotel. Every element of the room, the reception, the service, the location, the service is excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, Book a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xcross-Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Wonderful hotel in the Sassi. Very unique, but perfect for the area. Staff was very helpful and cheerful which made checking in and out a pleasant experience. Room was large and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good, with excellent service. You must be prepared to walk from your car but it is worth the trouble. Parking is a nightmare but please call the hotel and they will guide you to parking and to the Hotel. Unfortunately, this was our first stop in Italy and we did not have a cell phone yet, so finding the Hotel was an experience. Matera is really an under rated town and worth the trip. Very glad we stayed at L'Hotel in Pietra and a good way to start our three week visit to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcwn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.1 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Sassi San Gennaro
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#5 of 30 in Matera
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel in Pietra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel in Pietra

Property: L'Hotel in Pietra
Address: Via San Giovanni Vecchio 22 | Basilicata, 75100, Matera, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Matera
#3 Family Hotel in Matera
#5 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#6 Business Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotel in Pietra 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your L'Hotel in Pietra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel In Pietra
l Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing