We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic panorama”
other travellers have booked this property
Un angolo magico di puro relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Un angolo magico di puro relax
Camera da letto con letto aggiunto Letto matrimoniale
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Un angolo magico di puro relax
Camera da letto con letto aggiunto
Letto matrimoniale
Camera e balcone
Dettagli: volta
Camera
Dettagli: volta originale in mattoncini
Bagno scavato nella roccia
Bagno: cromoterapia e idromassaggio
Cromoterapia
Bagno: momenti di relax
Soggiorno: tavolo da pranzo
Soggiorno
Letto aggiunto
Dettagli: volta originale dell'antica focagna
Dettagli: Focagna
Il panorama di cui godrete direttamente dal vostro letto
La nostra vista mozzafiato
Rilassarsi con la migliore vista possibile
Esterno
Vista dal terrazzino
La nostra vista
Balcone con vista
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Matera, Province of Matera, Basilicata

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic panorama”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic panorama, very good conditions in the apartment, I will definitely suggest to my best friends to stay here while visiting Matera in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy N
3 reviews
“Amazing view of Sassi Caveoso, perfect location.”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a fantastic apartment, in the perfect location to explore the Sassi. Mariangela was helpful in recommending people for a walking tour and airport transfers, also checked in during our stay to see if there was anything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
furslands
New York
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent (esp for the balcony/view). ”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Perfect location, fabulous setting/balcony view and well-equipped/comfortable facilities for a 4 night stay (limitations of the kitchen would have been an issue for us for a longer stay). And a very helpful host. We were very happy here, and especially enjoyed breakfast, reading, drinkies/dinner, etc on the balcony.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C
1 review
“Cavetastico”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We fell in love with this apartment through the pictures, yet it still exceeded our expectations. The view is truly breathtaking. We stayed out in the terrace for hours in end. The apartmento itself is insanely cool. The window in the floor of the cave was rad. The bathroom lights led to my first shower in orange tint, and the water pressure is deeply satisfying. The bed is comfy. It's clean and well stocked.

The location is a real treat. We were on a tiny ancient pedestrian street with immediate access to the labyrinth of Matera. The restaurant recommendations were spot on, along with the tip to visit the new underground museum.

I wish we could've spent more than two days in Matera. This apartment was so memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
javaprinc...
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Panoramic View of the Sassi”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The view alone from this apartment located in the Sassi area of Matera is reason enough to stay in this historical, recently renovated space. It is an open contemporary design with architectural details from the original structure. The ceilings are original and especially striking in brick. It had new functional built ins which make the space feel and appear larger. The bedroom has a balcony with glass sliding doors .The views from this room, and the balcony are as good as the overlook off the main square. The bathroom had a nice shower which included mood lighting and body jets.The kitchen was adequate to cook a full meal.

Our thoughtful host Filippo was extremely helpful and kind.He assisted us with our luggage issues as well as coming by to turn on the hot water heater we accidentally turned off. We totally loved our stay on the edge of this UNESCO World Heritage site .



Sent via the Samsung Galaxy Note® 4, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian A
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Apartment”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for 19 nights in November and it was a really great choice. Position is excellent, close to all things Sassi. A little noisy because of the foot traffic visiting the Church at the end of the street. Kitchen is quite basic but I managed to cook most nights which would not be a problem for people only staying a couple of nights. Needs an instruction manual for the microwave/combination oven. Some wine glasses would be good as well. Lounge/dinning room needs a blockout blind for evening as it is very light in there because of the outside street light. The balcony is off the main bedroom and the view was fantastic. The bathroom has room for a washing machine and that also would be a good addition. We enjoyed our stay here and the host, Mariangela was very helpful and quick to fix any problems. She also runs a cooking day/class which was great. We would stay here again and would recommend this property to all. It has a great mix of the old Sassi cave and modern dwelling. The bedroom vaulted ceiling is a work of art.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and position of the apartment.
Liked least: The noisy path outside to the Church.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great Choice!”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Facility and location are great. It is as convenient to the sassi as possible. We overlooked the sassi from our balcony as we ate our mid-day meal of local foods. We were only a few steps from the evening passagiata. The coffee shop we used daily was a short walk away. The Carlo Levi museum was 50 feet from our door. You would be hard pressed to do better...and the owner offers a great cooking class so you can take the region's food experience home with you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing