We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the opposition” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Albergo Potenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grande Albergo Potenza
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Potenza
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than the opposition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

On a business trip some of our party stayed in a different hotel but we certainly had the best hotel. Food in the hotel restaurant was very good although bit pricey. The rooms were clean and of a reasonable size. The housekeeping was very good. The bar staff seemed a bit cool but mellowed as the week went on. The female receptionist was formidable but very efficent. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice but don't expect any morning smiles from the rather dour manager.

Room Tip: We were on second floor and slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sc0tswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    76
    53
    15
    5
See reviews for
16
25
15
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is a bit hard to find if you are driving, but once we found it we liked it just fine. We especially liked the location, and the service was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobConklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is one of the best hotels in town. It is surely not a luxury property, but is conveniently located downtown and has a decent service.

Room Tip: ask for room with panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerGioDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel location is perfect, the breakfast buffet is plentiful and provides excellent fresh food. The views over the Basento valley are stunning so be sure to ask a room on the South side. The rooms are small but the double bed is huge and the bathroom very clean. A solid lodging experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petitprince2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

I went in Potenza for business. The town is not touristic but the hotel is comfortable enough with a good ratio convenience/price.

Wi-fi available with extra-charge.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarpietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Potenza is a rather ugly town with no touristic value. We went for business at the local university (University of Bascilicata). This was the best hotel we could find in Potenza. It has small rooms with rather old beds and no (working) internet, but at least is centrally located - and it does have a good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richsedgewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Potenza hotels
1.5 mi away
Albergo La Primula
Albergo La Primula
#1 of 10 in Potenza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Centro Congressi
0.1 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#8 of 10 in Potenza
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Giubileo Hotel
Giubileo Hotel
#4 of 10 in Potenza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
11.0 mi away
La Foresteria di San Leo
La Foresteria di San Leo
#2 of 10 in Potenza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Borgo Antico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Potenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Potenza

Property: Grande Albergo Potenza
Address: Corso XVIII Agosto, 46, 85100 Potenza, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Potenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Potenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Potenza 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Grande Albergo Potenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing