We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the greatest place”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cosenza
A TripAdvisor Member
429
Reviewed 2 July 2005

My title could apply to Cosenza as well as Hotel Excelsior. The hotel is in a building that is pretty neat, but needs a lot of work. Our room was reasonably large, and the bathroom was by far the largest one we had in Italy. Though the room was clean, I always had a vague discomfort, perhaps because the bedding was rather shabby and threadbare (though clean). The hallway floors are wooden and very noisy, so we were awoken early every morning.

When we arrived at the hotel, the elevator was in use by the housekeeping staff. Our room was on the 3rd floor (counting American-style), but none of the front desk staff offered to help with our bags so I had to lug them up myself.

The breakfast is simply not to be mentioned.

I would like to go back to Calabria, but if I do I would probably not stay in Cosenza, and if I did stay in Cosenza, I would probably not stay at Excelsior unless they significantly improve physical and operational aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haendel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
601
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Italia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Salvo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Dominik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ilaria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cosenza hotels
1.4 mi away
Italiana Hotels Cosenza
Italiana Hotels Cosenza
#1 of 12 in Cosenza
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home Club Suite Hotel
Home Club Suite Hotel
#6 of 12 in Cosenza
328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#3 of 12 in Cosenza
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nettuno Palace Hotel
Nettuno Palace Hotel
#8 of 12 in Cosenza
17 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 12 in Cosenza
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 12 in Cosenza
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 14, 87100 Cosenza, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Cosenza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cosenza
Price Range: £38 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing