We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable , quiet and good value”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cosenza
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

V nice hotel. Clean. Quiet. Good value basic 4 star hotel.
Not flashy or pretentious and not so big as to be impersonal, with lovely staff.
Centrally located v close to main street.
Free underground car park but traffic in Cosenza is heavy at times.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank TommyTomGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We selected the hotel for a 1 night stop on the night we arrived in Italy.
Friendly and helpfull staff.
Simple but clean rooms.
Free wifi and parking.
Nice italian breakfast with fresh croissants and a good cappucino.
Much more than we expected for 50€ for a double room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is situated at the heart of Cosenza and offers parking solutions. The hotel rooms are clean, well furnished and spacious. The staff is friendly and the reception very welcoming.

The downside is the street noise:I had to resort to earplugs, perhaps because we stayed on a Saturday evening?

The breakfast room is cosy and they do a mean cappuccino.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing the bar opposite to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvanddekamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

beside the great location, and the hotel itself, the breakfast was nice, basic , the guy at the reception was very helpful, he recommended a very nice restaurant for dinner and booked it for us. i would defiantly come here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Royal (far from it) Hotel was the low point of our stay in Cosenza - an underrated gem of a town - which was otherwise filled with great experiences.

A gaggle of Herbalife salespeople were smoking outside the conference room and clogging the entrance as we arrived. They weren't in sale mode, so they didn't need to be polite/smoke outside/budge to let us and our luggage through - and the 4 members of staff in the reception area didn't intervene. As a matter of fact, we had to ask twice and it still took a good 5 minutes for them to pause their conversation about football (natch!) to come over to the desk to check us in.

The room we were given was very clean and tidy (the housekeeper was a lovely, smiley woman with a great attitude - by far the best member of staff). However, the decor was indifferent in style and furnishing was poorly thought out: an ridiculously oversized armchair blocked access to different areas of the room. An adequately-sized room spoiled by an unnecessary "statement piece". The view was council-housing ugly, sadly.

I really, really wanted to commend the hotel's policy to encourage artists to stay, but I had to eat my words when I realised that meant letting inept bands rehearse in the conference room until midnight on weekdays: the same three dull chords,uncoordinated drumming and tone-deaf singing over and over. Poor construction and non-existent soundproofing made the room vibrate and it was stupidly loud.

Breakfasts were desultory affairs. Two bored waiters leaned against the doorway to the kitchen, arms crossed, watching - again - terribly loud talk shows about politics. I asked for tea and an index finger lazily extricated itself from under an armpit to point at a water cooler.
The range of food on offer was standard for a hotel of this category. Although the croissants were fresh and fragrant, it was an Italian-style breakfast and it might leave some international travellers disappointed.

We had a great time in Cosenza because we were out of the hotel most of the time. The corso and its side streets and the historic centre had so much to offer. We talked to some of the friendliest, most genuine people - retired old gentlemen, librarians, young musicians,politicians and shop owners. We ate deceptively simple dishes, fresh and full of delicious flavours.We took in meaningful art and history. Try staying out of the modern edge of town and out of traffic(utter chaos!) and you'll discover a fine place.

Skip the hotel, enjoy this great town.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeebean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Grand Hotel locating close to evry where in the city. it has close parking to cars and buses. it has free very good WiFi. it has Sauna and swimingpool. the room is eide with all parameters: wide room, king size bad, wide toilrt room with wide shwer cabin and bath.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Although we had a little trouble finding the hotel (due to its recent construction and move from an older location), this is a great, modern and very reasonably priced hotel. The property is spotless and the room and bathroom very spacious for a european hotel. The hotel also has secured underground parking, which is a great feature and rare.

All staff extremely helpful, friendly and courteous.

The pedestrian only area of Cosenza is a short walk close by and lots to choose from in terms restaurants and activities. Also an easy walk to the historic (ancient) former city centre, which we found interesting.

Great place and friendly people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorTravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cosenza
0.9 mi away
Italiana Hotels Cosenza
Italiana Hotels Cosenza
#1 of 12 in Cosenza
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home Club Suite Hotel
Home Club Suite Hotel
#6 of 12 in Cosenza
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#4 of 12 in Cosenza
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 12 in Cosenza
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vescovo Rosso
Vescovo Rosso
#3 of 12 in Cosenza
174 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ariha Hotel
Ariha Hotel
#2 of 9 in Rende
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Via delle Medaglie d'Oro, 87100 Cosenza, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Cosenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cosenza
Price Range: £56 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing