We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for hiking the Vikos Gorge”
Review of Arhondiko Zarkada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arhondiko Zarkada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monodendri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A good, family-run hotel located in the small, quiet village of Monodendri. We stayed in April, which is considered "out of season" and we were offered lovely single rooms both with balconies and en suite bathrooms, for only 25 Euro a night, with a substantial buffet breakfast thrown in. The owners were friendly and helpful. Most people will be visiting to walk the Vikos Gorge, and the best option is to ask the hotel owners to arrange a taxi early in the morning to Vikos, costing 30 Euro, and then spending the day descending into another world (and laboriously clambering out back up to Monodendri at the end of the day). We also asked the hotel owners if they would cook us Kleftiko one night, and to their credit they produced a meal that was certainly authentic and using only very local ingredients. If you're there with a car, I'd recommend driving a few more kilometres up the road beyond the village to see the "Stone Forest" and also Vikos Gorge viewpoint. Both of these are easy to find, and are both stunning to see. I would gladly have stayed at this hotel for several more days, unfortunately we had a plane to catch.

Room Tip: Half of their rooms have balconies with beautiful views of the surrounding hills and gorge. Insist o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed here in may 2012 ...off peak. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children, then 10 and 14. We stayed for 2 nights and wanted to stay longer. The bedroom was one room with 2 double or queen beds. The bathroom was lovely but the best part was the enclosed balcony area with an amazing view of the valley. We ate in the restaurant, breakfast and dinner and the food was great. The open fire added to the ambience. The building is stone and feels very Greek. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. We walked vikos gorge and they handed us a taxi business card before we left to make sure we weren't left stranded once we had walked to vikos. - 9km or was it miles. The walk was incredible and quite hard but well marked and maintained. It took us 6 hours. At the end we were exhausted and as we climbed to the road a taxi drove by, we waved it down and took the 30km by road trip ...a welcome end to our day. Or so we thought, we then discovered that there was a monastery built on cliff like at meteora so we visited that too after stopping for milkshake and coffees. The town is small but beautiful. We wish we had stayed longer and could have explored the region further. Magnificent! Will visit one day again. A favourite on our ten week trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne2K2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I don't know where to start. Landscape is fantastic, hotel from outside seems as a big stone house and fits perfectly in ambient. Rooms are spectacular! In the room was paited wooden ceiling, camin (even we didn't need it in summer), wooden windows covered with handmade curtain.The only hotel in Greece between 15 I've been visited that really has authentic spirit and traditional look. Every detail on the right place and all in perfect order. Deserve to be visited as a kind of museum. Monodendri and this hotel remained favourit part of my holiday because or the nature and ambient. There is no air-condition in the room but sleeping with open window is very pleasant.
Perfection for active holiday with not many people around. Center of the village is 5 min walking with beautiful huge tree (platan) and 2 small but very good restaurants. from there you can continue tracking through Vikos gorge or to other villages - Microping, Macroping and it's springs.
Breakfast in hotel could be bit better, more rich. Terrace where we were eating was cozy and perfect as hotel itself. But, for the price we paid I really don't have any right to complaine about it. When I saw room at first I thought they have made mistake and that we will have to change it, lucky all was true! :) We stayed there 2 nights and I wish we did more. I hope it will be next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sindelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stopped early in Monodendri so it was not time to go to Hotel. We did go to see it and looked at the rooms. Nice. The city is very tourist, but.....lots of things to see and do. If I go back again we would stay in village of Monodendri due to its location, size, and beauty. After seeing many, it was the nicest village...well, maybe except for Papinko which is in a different location.

Room Tip: Great location. From here its about 1 hr. to most all other villages in the area. If not this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chaim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The hotel is beautifully situated in Monodendri Village. You get a very nice view in the morning. It is traditionally decorated. The rooms are big, with excellent facilities and even offer wood for the fireplace! Perfect for a relaxing evening! The staff is very friendly too. I definitely recommend it.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dimitris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful Monodendri village near the Vikos gorge. The hotel and the rooms look as wee renovated recently. they are in good shape. There is small and nice swimming pool outside the building where the kids had fun. Food in the restaurant is good service is good and friendly with nice atmosphere. The value for money is extremely high.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is the ideal place to relax and unwind. If you're looking for nightlife and beaches, you'll be disappointed, but if you want to spend some quality time far away from all the fuss of modern life, this is the place. The rooms are spacious (we were given the chance to choose between three different rooms so we got a good look at them) and cosy, with fireplace and DVD players (there is a DVD collection available), there is a pool table, a table tennis table outside, a little pool and vast areas where you can sit and relax.
And then there's the restaurant. You have to taste the "kokkinisto" (veal with sauce and chips). I don't know what they put in the sauce but it was by far the best one I've ever eaten. Not that the other dishes weren't great too.
Overall, the hotel and the surrounding area (including the amazing place about 5 km uphill, where you can admire the breathtaking view of the Vikos Gorge) has a calming effect on you and it's ideal for somebody who wants to spend some time at this beautiful corner of Greece.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James_Vlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monodendri
6.2 mi away
Papaevangelou Hotel
Papaevangelou Hotel
#1 of 3 in Papigko
665 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aristi Mountain Resort and Villas
2.3 mi away
Archontiko Dilofou
Archontiko Dilofou
#1 of 1 in Dilofo
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Aristi's Mansion
Aristi's Mansion
#4 of 4 in Aristi
56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pirrion Boutique Hotel Sweet Hospitality
0.7 mi away
Zagori Suites
Zagori Suites
#1 of 2 in Vitsa
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arhondiko Zarkada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arhondiko Zarkada

Address: Monodendri Zagoriou | Monodendri Zagoriou, Monodendri 250 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Monodendri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monodendri
Price Range: £36 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arhondiko Zarkada 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arhondiko Zarkada was built with a great artistry here in Monodendri, Zagori (Ioannina - Greece). Every now and again new rooms are being built so that the guests will get the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arhondiko Zarkada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing