We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight in Amalfi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Costa d'Amalfi
Ranked #17 of 43 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in May 2013 in the Amalfi suite. It was fairly compact (the bathroom even more so), but delightful in local blue and yellow tiles and with a large deck overlooking the road and sea, we thought it was wonderful. Breakfasts on the patio outside in the morning were great, but fairly standard each morning. Our hosts were very attentive to our needs and more than willing to advise or assist when asked. We did have some difficulties with language, but their English was better than our Italian. We tried to alter our booked nights both through Booking.com and an email to the owners, but neither worked and we were charged for the full original booking. We thought the location was great, a little out of town, but Amalfi is a quick drive, or bus or 20 min. walk. Just be careful on the roads!

Room Tip: Can only comment on the Amalfi suite and it was fine for a short stay, but had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youthful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

We planned to stay in this hotel for 1 night but after about one hour in our room we were covered by bed bugs. The owner didn't come to look but gave us the key to the next room. We decided to leave at around eleven o'clock and went to the nearby hotel Bellevue for a real clean room. Now after several days we are still itching. Stay away from Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank ArjanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronda9, Proprietario at Locanda Costa d'Amalfi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

We have contacted Trip Advisor, and by law we are obliged to reply to the "untrue" comments made on this website regarding our establishment before any further action can be taken. To begin with, this booking made through Booking.Com was classified by Booking .Com as a "No Show" as there was no stay in our B&B., infact you entered the room and left after 2 minutes with this terrible statement, in addition, you refused to go back to the room with us to show us what you think you might have seen. Therefore, we are convinced that it was just an excuse to leave, as you wanted a room with balcony, which was not available at that point in time as we were fully booked. We would also add that no payment was made by Booking.Com. as there was no check in on our part. We would invite anyone reading this to read the many wonderful comments we have received over the years!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Arrived in Amalfi and picked up by Pino. Although a few kilometres out of Amalfi, whenever we needed to go into town Pino had the car running. Breakfast was great and the rooms faultless. A reasonable restuarant next door if you didnot want to go into town. The view from our room was amazing. The main road was in front of the B&B but did not interupt our sleep. Buses we not that reliable but Pino worked around us

Room Tip: Young couples may choose to stay a bit closer to town, but we were more than happy with our arrangem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had a Capri suite at locanda for 4 nights: it's quite a large apartment, big enough to accommodate up to 2 couples (bedroom+living room with 2 double beds), a small kitchenette and a beautiful terrace all covered with lemon trees, with a stunning view of the Amalfi bay. It's clean and comfortable, well situated, if you have a car: far enough from the crowded Amalfi streets, and at the same time, very close to all the points of interests on the Amalfi coast.
We enjoined our stay very much!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontrealIkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Great if you have independent transportation, otherwise you'll have a hard time moving around. Bus service is unpredictable and does not substitute efficiently for a car. The hotel is located on the one street that visits through all Amalfi coast villages and can get quite noisy at times. Breakfast is quite good and the owners are very flexible; see my review of the nearby restaurant to know why you shouldn't go there. The room was clean and spacious, with a view of the bay.

I heartily recommend it to anyone who does not need to stay in Amalfi proper, which is a walkable (but hefty) 4 kms. away. If you have no transportation of your own, though, the distance from Amalfi and Positano could be problematic.

Room Tip: Higher-up rooms are farther away from the street and should provide better sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesc_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Spent four nights at Locanda and while not in the center of Amalfi proper, it was never a problem for Filomena or her husband, Pino, to drive us into town. Actually, it was nice to be outside the city a bit due to the crowded city center. The rooms are small, but spotless, and the breakfast was great--just ask for what you want--i.e. I asked for fresh fruit and served fresh grapes, peaches and bananas. It will become clear when looking to book a hotel in the Amalfi area, that room rates are steep, so with the pricing coupled with the shuttle service and super clean rooms, Locana becomes an ideal choice for most people. Regards to Fiomena and Pino. Kenda Daniel, The Woodlands, Texas.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texasrealtor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Filomena & Pino are the most gracious of hosts I have encountered in many holiday destinations. Small and intimate hotel is centrally located, clean and a picturesque location. No hussle and bussle of too many patrons to delay coming and going. Filomena & Pino were always ready to coordinate driver's for day trips, such as Pompeii and transport us to the City Centre of Amalfi. Any questions and/or requests night or day was readily responded to by Filomena. Would help if you speak a little Italian, but online translations makes that situation resolved. I would totally recommend staying at the Locanda Costa d'Amalfi for a central and convenient location to the other grand cities of Amalfi. Thanks to you both, Pino and Filomena for making this trip a grand experience. Best to you both, Linda from Houston, Texas USA

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 926amanda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
608 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Costa d'Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 50, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range: £67 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Locanda Costa d'Amalfi 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Locanda Costa d'Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing