We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”
Review of Villa Maria Luigia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maria Luigia
Ranked #10 of 43 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in one of the front rooms overlooking the sea and the view was every bit as good as the photos - spectacular.
It is a fair walk into Amalfi town centre but it is downhill and there is a bus back up the hill.
The staff was fantastic and very accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. On their advice we were picked up one night by the owner of the local restaurant in Pogerola - La Capannina. We had a great meal there.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra to have the rooms with balconies overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

The B and B is based 15/20 minutes walk from Amalfi town, just above the coast road with spectacular sea views. The villa is elegant, and our room, Aurora is a corner room with a walk round balcony. It is spacious, fresh and comfortable. Garage space (chargeable) is available and is worth considering.
Breakfast was good, self service, fruit, cereals, yogurts, bread, cakes and was served on the terrace overlooking the sea - wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billsurf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Villa Maria Luigia was booked on the strength of the good tripadviser reviews & once again my fellow travellers come through with the right advice. The entrance is a little hard to find but no more than a lot of the properties on the narrow road. Once located a secure parking included in the great value price, being out of season for the coast. Bright clean airy room, good breakfast with spectacular views. The walk down to the township although hairy because of lack of footpaths most of the way, was not too taxing even for my wife who has some mobility difficulties. On return catch the bus back for 1.50 Euros, just tell the driver where your'e getting off. All the staff were great & very helpful organising a tour to Pompeii at a good value price and an early breakfast on two occasions. If we had known it was this good we would have stayed longer then four days we did.

Room Tip: We got the "Aurora" room. Great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWDVERADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The staff are pleasant and friendly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the hotel is clean and the décor is appealing. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the Amalfi town square. The view is AMAZING. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The customer service in the Villa Maria Luigui was excellent. Front desk attendants were very nice, carried our luggage up the stairs, provided a map and helped us figure out bus options to Ravello and Salerno and boat transportation to Capri. One of the staff spoke English quite well and I was able to communicate with the others easily with Spanish. Between French and Spanish I could understand them and they were quite patient with me as I tried making my Spanish sound Italian. When they noticed we were using a blanket as an extra pillow, they left another pillow for us without asking.

Amalfi is a charming town in the middle of the beautiful Amalfi coast and this B&B is located high on the cliff overlooking the Mediterranean. There is an elevator from the garage that takes you to the reception area. From there, you take the stairs. The sweet smell of lavender was everywhere in the lobby/elevator area because of the plants lining the walkway. The views from our room and from the breakfast area were stunning.

The breakfast/lounge area itself is worth the visit – nice patio with a fantastic sea view. Breakfast included cappuccino and juice, yogurt, fruit, cereal, breakfast meats and cheeses and baked goods.

To get to the B&B from Amalfi is a bit of a walk (15 min or so) along a curvy road with a narrow shoulder, but we felt quite safe walking to and from the B&B. And the town is quite charming with excellent restaurants, the beautiful Duormo and lots of tourist shops.

The bed and pillows were comfortable, however the room was quite noisy. The traffic was constant on the street below and between the Mopeds and buses and the church bells regular ringing from the hill right above our room, it was a bit hard to get to sleep. We also heard the water running from the bathroom above us. We shut the window and shutters, which made the room a bit stuffy. A fan or air conditioning might have drowned out the noise and made sleeping a bit more comfortable. This was really the only negative, but if you are a light sleeper as we are, it could be an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hornetvbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

This b&b is located within walking distance from the center of Amalfi. The employees and owners are very nice. My fiancé and I visited Amalfi in the month of July, the view from the terrace is speechless! On our lat day the wander showed us the whole hotel and told us their future plans to expend!!! Amazing amazing amazing, if your visiting Amalfi you must stay here. Thank you sooooo much for such an unforgettable stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at this beautiful villa for a week in the middle of September. I loved the most the atmpsphere of this place - peaceful, calm with cosy italian decorations in design. We've booked the Aurora room which has 3 big arch windows overlooking the sea through which we could enjoy the sunrise every morning. For booking it's much better to contact the hotel directly - in our specific case the prices were much lower than any booking system offers. The room is very light with nice mediteranean furniture, always very clean.The staff - very helpful and breakfast - simple and fresh.
For the beach you will just need to cross the road. Though it costs 15 euro per person it's much better than any Amalfi public ones. In September there is not much people, the sun is very tender and the sea - refreshing. I honestly think - September is the best season for Amalfi and this villa is a perfect place to spend vacation on its coast.

Room Tip: Aurora room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Alfonsa A, Ammninistratore unico at Villa Maria Luigia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

We are really excited about the appreciation of Mrs. Tatiana. Rewards us for all our efforts to make the best possible holiday for our guests.
Discover the essence of the place and understand the correct approach to be adopted, allows the passing of the best holiday we can.
Actually, september is an incredible month for holidays in Amalfi, sun and sea are present in abundance, with no-frenetic rhythms of the high-season.
Renew the invitation to our guests to come back again in the near future.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
604 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,018 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Luigia

Address: Via Mauro Comite 48, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range: £60 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Maria Luigia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maria Luigia, belonging to the Amendola family, is the result of a careful and refined renovation of an elegant villa dating back to the 900's. The villa, with its wonderful views, is situated just over than 1km from the center of Amalfi, away from the chaotic Piazza Duomo. Its position allows you to reach the historic centre quickly but offers peace and quiet when you want to relax. And it is with the same elegance, cordiality and experience and a touch of sobriety and Mediterranean modernity that "Villa Maria Luigia" is launched as the ideal destination for those wanting to stay in Divine Amalfi and to be pampered surrounded by comfort and cordiality. Admire the unique views of the Amalfi Coast and Cilentana with the giddy sensation of being suspended between the sky and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing