We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and lovely people”
Review of Da Baracca

Da Baracca
Ranked #83 of 104 Restaurants in Amalfi
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and lovely people”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I read some of the reviews and was very surprised by some of them. The owner recommended us some dishes and made some remarks about some of us ordering others but these were jokes - we had a great time.. yes, the bill was written on a napkin but was correct and the fact that he didnt charge coperta (service) we found actually nice so that we could tipp as much as we wanted. Food was great by the way :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    126
    96
    59
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a nice welcome to the Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Driving from Naples to Praiano (2nd visit), the GPS wound up bringing us across the top and through Ravello so by the time we got to Amalfi we were all ready for a bite and to stretch our legs! We were a group of 9 and 5 had never been to Europe & 2 first time to Italy. We were a little ahead of the season but thanks to the help of a local we were directed to Da Baracca. It is off the main square through the archway. What a warm welcome we received & what a great lunch we had! The owner / manager was so friendly & spoke a good amount of English (certainly not expected but made it easier for the 1st timers!). The carbonara was delicious and HUGE - we could've shared, the fresh seafood dishes yummy. Great bread, good beer & wine choices. Would definitely recommend and visit again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerriAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I come from Noosa in Australia to eat at Barraca in Amalfi no fewer than 26 visits in the past 20 years. It is wonderful to know that some things in the World never change. Restaurant Barraca is one of these. The ambiance in the old Piazza, the minstrels who play at the restaurant, and our gracious host Bartello every July are there just for my wife and I. We stay in Amalfi from 4 to 6 weeks and eat at Barraca's many times, however the first and last night of our vacation we are always there. The first night on arrival I sit and breath in the ambiance and get quite emotional. Bartello, Antonio and all our friends greet us with hiugs and kisses with te best welcome I can recall. Invariably we meet old friends who visit Amalfi every year from the UK, Vienna and all over the World. I describe the ambiance as romantic, and emotional overwhelming. Food is always amazing and like I said the ambiance is magical. promise you, it is everything and more of what I can describe. We will be there July 2014 once more. please say hello. Rich Singer

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice bruschettas with alicci”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The food is reasonable, special rating for the bruschettas. Family run restaurant with friendly reception. Do not take a table in the back part near the kitchen, it is tight and stressing with the kitchen movement. Bathrooms are very small for the restaurant size and if you are in this back part, be prepared to have people waiting to use it practically at your table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonioFrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amalfi Pirate Ripoff”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We got taken. The food was ok but when we had to leave to meet our group, the bill was presented by person who professed to be the owner with some fuzzy math on a napkin. If we were not in such a hurry we would have remembered the menu prices. As it was we were charged 43 E for 1 plate of seafood pasta, 1 plate of fried calamari, 1 can of coke and 1 water. Then he had the balls to ask for a tip "for the boy". The max as I recall from the menu was 24 E for the pasta and calamari, could have been 5 E each for the coke and water. So the "Amalfi pirate" got an extra 9 E for his performance. Order off the menu and ask for a written bill and the menu to check the prices before paying.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kingofhma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Baracca also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Baracca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing