We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best pizza you'll ever eat - ever!”

Pizzeria Donna Stella
Ranked #17 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best pizza you'll ever eat - ever!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We've been eating here since it opened 8 or 9 years ago when it was just an earth-floored lemon garden known only to locals, and the pizzas are so good we've given up eating them in the UK and saving ourselves until we get here every June.
That earth floored lemon garden has grown over the years into a delightful and very peaceful lemon grove where you can dine sitting under hanging lemons and catch glimpses of the stars twinkling above (it has a proper floor as we'll, these days!). It's a pizzeria, though so doesn't have a huge menu or drinks list, and offers some simple alternatives to pizza.
Just the fact that so many local people and other Italians eat out here is a mark of the quality of their pizzas. If you try it, you'll know why as we'll.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 185Queens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    343
    119
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
227 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went as part of a large group prior to a wedding. Nice setting at the top end of town with plenty of vine leaves giving it a romantic feel. Nice pizzas, good wine and pleasant service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saillon, Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More American than real Italian.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The pizzas were good but drinks very expensive. Caters to Americans with their Obama burger!!
We were also surrounded by very loud and rather vulgar Americans, using the f word far too often, especially as we were with our 2 very young children.
Don't think we will visit again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pizza Perfect!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The best pizza in Amalfi. We loved this place and it was hard not to eat here more than once during our week stay.

Loved the pizza and the lemon trees!

It's a very basic restaurant and with a relaxed style of service. Lot's of locals eat there. It's easy to find, just follow the signs!

Great value for money.

One recommendation is to add fairy lights to all the timber uprights in the terrace area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CheshireHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch under the lemons!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

By far the cutest little restaurant....what a treasure! We had a lazy long lunch at this beauty...was a trifle difficult to find it. The beautiful ambience, attentive staff and of course the sumptuous meal was out of the world. The sunlight filtering through the canopy of the lemon grove on this outdoor terrace created magic...
All four in my group were vegetarians and every one enjoyed their dish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Donna Stella also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Pizzeria Donna Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing