We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the linguini with scampi!”

Ristorante Il Chiostro
Ranked #33 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Go for the linguini with scampi!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was one of our favourite restaurants in Amalfi. We went out to dinner very early (the perils of traveling with a four-year-old) and they could not have been more accommodating. They set up a special table for us up the lane-way from the actual restaurant as we did not want to eat inside and, as it happened, the local choir (hence the name) were rehearsing as we sat down so we got the pleasure of listening to their lovely singing.

The food here was very good - especially by Amalfi standards which we found a little bland (maybe that's coming from Sydney where we have amazing seafood available). I had the linguini with scampi which was one of my highlight dishes of our entire Italian trip. It was generous, flavorsome and chock full of scampi. I then had the fish with "crazy water" (a sauce of wine, garlic, parsley, oil) and that was another winner. No room for dessert but we finished with some lethal grappa which was a perfect end to a great meal.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to other travelers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VenturerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    93
    39
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant just to the side of the Cathedral steps”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This restaurant (The Cloister) is just to the side of the Cathedral steps. There's quite a reasonable sized interior but we sat in the narrow open alleyway just beneath the main interior. Though there's no view, I'd recommend the menu here over the restaurant just a few steps down which is very, very touristy but has the advantage of being able to see the square below. Your choice; view or food!

I had to call the waiter from inside the restaurant to serve us (they can't see you from the inside). We had grilled anchovies with melted cheese, deep fried which is a typical local dish followed by swordfish, sea bass with potatoes dauphinoises and a salad. Washed down with water and half a bottle of Taburno Falanghina 2010 white wine. The bill came to 57 Euros without tip.

It started to rain so we (and our friendly waiter) took our food inside and ate there. No problem and we met a charming Canadian family at the table next to us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iankaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Hidden from the street up beside the Duomo”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was a real ristorante tucked up a side street leading away from the side of the Duomo steps.
We were the only ones in there for awhile but the older gentleman who I assume was the owner made us feel very welcome. Our steak and vegetables were good but the standout dish was the primi which was "Paccheri pesca spada e gamberetti" which was big tube pasta with swordfish and prawns. The combination and sauce were delicious! Very clean and priced about the same as others in a town where it is very competitive and everyone is hawking for business.
The waiter seemed a little disappointed when I ordered the house wine instead of a bottle but hey, it's my budget and I spent it on food instead.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“We spent 11 days in Italy and”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We spent 11 days in Italy and had two big meals per day. This restaurant was one our favorite. The food and service were both great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent simple Italian food, great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Great simple Italian restaurant less than a min walk from steps of duomo. Had simple lunch of caprese salad and then pasta. Both dishes were delicious. Waiting staff very friendly and helpful, meal was not expensive.
Highly recommend as convenient lunch spot to rest weary feet, away from crowds of tourists less than fifty meters away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy2010holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Il Chiostro also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Il Chiostro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing