We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two great dishes. Excellent service. Reasonable price”

Ristorante Il Chiostro
Ranked #36 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Israel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Two great dishes. Excellent service. Reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Popped in for lunch during my family's stopover in Amalfi.
Chose the place on the basis of the menu outside.
Was not disappointed.
All the food was between good to excellent.
Two dishes were absolutely magnificent:
1) the "amalfi anchovies" starter (fried double-anchovies with cheese and basil); and
2) the pasta with swordfish and prawns.

All of us loved both dishes (there was a fight about the pasta dish sauce. It was so good).

All in all - a wonderful lunch, with very friendly service, and for a reasonable price (which in Amalfi isn't something to take lightly). Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    88
    39
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our Amalfi Boat Tour captain from Positano. He said for authentic Italian food from the region he could recommend no better restaurant in the town. He wasn't wrong, the food was authentic, simple and flavorful. The service, quality, staff and unbeatable prices make this place a standout. As mentioned in previous posts it's located just off the main square near the duomo but up an alley which makes it less touristy than the restaurant next door. Had the spaghetti bolognaise and the spaghetti aglio olio con pepperoncino and they were both outstanding in the taste and simplicity. if you're looking for a great meal at a reasonable price this place has it all. Well worth the stop if you're unsure of where to eat in Amalfi,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CongoNatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
219 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Four of us went there one night, the setting is fine, near the cathedral but the food was average, we had worse and we had better in Amalfi.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A pleasant place for a good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived in Amalfi as a spot to do a little sightseeing before hiking to the mountain towns. Lunch time 'snuck up' on us and we thought we would try this restaurant next to the Cathedral. The gentleman there was very nice, escorted us to our table in the alleyway as we wanted to eat outside on a beautiful day. We did not want a heavy meal before hiking so we split a pizza, and a mezzo litro or red wine. Food was good and service was good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“VERY NICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Friendly with good food and friendly service , worth a visit. Try the spegetti with garlic and tomato.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TROOPER50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Il Chiostro also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Il Chiostro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing